Harpsichord Recital: Parthenia Alina Rotaru

Cover Harpsichord Recital: Parthenia

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Sono Luminus

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 192 $ 14,90
MQA $ 14,50
DSD 64 $ 14,90
  • William Byrd (1543-1623):
  • 1Praeludium in G Minor (Musica Britannica, Vol. 27, No. 1)00:42
  • Pavan & Galliard No. 2 in G Minor Sir William Petre:
  • 2Pavan04:56
  • 3Galliard01:51
  • 4Prelude in C Major01:02
  • Galliard in C Major:
  • 5No. 4. Mistress Mary Brownlow02:43
  • Pavan & 2 Galliards in A Minor Earl of Salisbury:
  • 6Pavan01:41
  • 7Galliard No. 101:07
  • 8Galliard No. 201:58
  • John Bull (1562-1628):
  • 9Prelude in G Major00:50
  • St. Thomas Wakes Pavan & Galliard:
  • 10Pavan02:53
  • 11Galliard03:17
  • 12Pavan No. 204:54
  • 13Galliard to the Pavan01:44
  • 14Galliard in D Major01:43
  • 15Galliard in D Major01:29
  • Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625):
  • 16Galliard (Musica Britannica, Vol. 20, No. 24)02:29
  • 17Fantasia a 405:58
  • Lord Salisburys Pavan & Galliard:
  • 18Pavan05:57
  • 19Galliard02:18
  • 20The Queens command01:33
  • 21Prelude No. 2 in G Major01:33
  • Total Runtime52:38

Info zu Harpsichord Recital: Parthenia

Unlike all my other projects, Parthenia captured my interest long before having the opportunity to discover the high quality of its music. The wedding between Elizabeth Stuart and Frederick V, which was only the beginning of a happy love story, could not have deserved a better documentation than this excellent collection of harpsichord works. While navigating through this intriguing and wonderful world of Parthenia s music, I carried the young princess in my head and in my heart, imagining her experiencing with great intensity and grace all sorts of feelings, from the exuberance of the galliards to the deepest melancholy of the pavans. She loved Frederick, but had to separate in her heart from her mother. She had to leave her homeland but was sure to find her home in her husband. So far, Parthenia is the most romantic repertoire I had the opportunity to work on, and it does not cease to amaze me. Alina Rotaru

Parthenia, or the Maydenhead of the first musicke that was ever printed for the Virginalls is perhaps the most important early publication of English keyboard music. It was first published either late 1612 or early 1613 and, as its title indicates, was the first printed collection of keyboard music to appear in England. The mastermind behind Parthenia was the engraver William Hole, who conceived it as a wedding gift to Princess Elizabeth Stuart (the second child and eldest daughter of James VI and I) and Frederick V, Elector Palatine of the Rhine. The extravagant wedding, whose costs almost bankrupted King James, took place on Valentine s Day, February 14, 1613; stage plays, musical performances, mock naval battles on the Thames, and fireworks were included in the festivities accompanying the ceremony.

The original dedication to Parthenia contains a somewhat cryptic passage that singles out the “neighbour letters E and F, the vowell that makes so sweet a Consonãt, Her notes so linkt and wedded together seeme liuely Hierogliphicks of the harmony of mariage…” The author has linked these two letters together because they represent the royal couple: “E” refers to Elizabeth Stuart, and “F” to Frederick. This symbolic association musically comes to life in Gibbons’ “The Queen’s Command,” where the two “liuely Hierogliphicks” take on the guise of the pitches E and F. These two pitches play a central role in the piece: they are the two opening notes, and each section begins alternately on either E or F. After this musical reenactment of the union of Elizabeth Stuart and Frederick, the final prelude bursts in joyous celebration through a stream of exuberant figurations and cascading scalar passages.

Alina Rotaru, harpsichord

Alina Rotaru - Cembalo
Alina Rotaru studierte an der Universität für Musik ihrer Heimatstadt Bukarest Klavier und Chordirigat. Dort kam sie auch in Kontakt mit Alter Musik und gründete ihr erstes Ensemble.

Nach ihrem Umzug nach Deutschland 1999 studierte sie Cembalo bei Siegbert Rampe und Wolfgang Kostujak in Duisburg, Carsten Lohff und Detlef Bratschke in Bremen sowie Bei Bob van Asperen in Amsterdam.

Alina Rotaru ist Preisträgerin des 6. Biagio Marini Alte Musik-Wettbewerbs. Die Debüt-CD des von ihr geleiteten Ensemble LUXURIANS mit Werken von G. Ph. Telemann erschien September 2009. Ihre Debüt-Solo-CD “Fortune my foe” mit Klavierwerken von J. P. Sweelinck erschien Oktober 2010. Die neueste CD, wo Alina Rotaru als Cembalistin und Organistin mitwirkt, ist „Sono amante. Kantaten & Kammermusik von G.B. und A.M. Bononcini“ von Ensemble La Ninfea und Sopranistin Ulrike Hofbauer, erschienen Oktober 2011 bei Thorofon.

Sie konzertiert und gibt Meisterkurse innerhalb und außerhalb Europas. Zur Zeit ist Alina Rotaru an der HfK Bremen als Lehrbeauftragte für Cembalo, Korrepetition und historische Stimmung tätig.

Booklet für Harpsichord Recital: Parthenia

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO