Giant Steps (60th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition) (2020 Remaster STEREO / MONO) John Coltrane

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Rhino Atlantic

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Hard Bop

Interpret: John Coltrane

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Giant Steps (2020 Remaster)04:47
  • 2Cousin Mary (2020 Remaster)05:50
  • 3Countdown (2020 Remaster)02:25
  • 4Spiral (2020 Remaster)05:59
  • 5Syeeda's Song Flute (2020 Remaster)07:06
  • 6Naima (2020 Remaster)04:25
  • 7Mr. P.C. (2020 Remaster)06:57
  • 8Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 1, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)04:39
  • 9Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 2, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:13
  • 10Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 3, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)02:42
  • 11Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 4, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)01:25
  • 12Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 5) (2020 Remaster)03:38
  • 13Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 6, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:34
  • 14Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 7, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)04:02
  • 15Giant Steps (Alternate, Take 8) (2020 Remaster)03:46
  • 16Naima (Alternate, Take 1, False Start) (2020 Remaster)03:31
  • 17Naima (Alternate, Take 2, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)03:18
  • 18Naima (Alternate, Take 3) (2020 Remaster)04:36
  • 19Naima (Alternate, Take 4, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:17
  • 20Naima (Alternate, Take 5) (2020 Remaster)03:39
  • 21Naima (Alternate, Take 6) (2020 Remaster)03:34
  • 22Like Sonny (Rehearsal 1, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:25
  • 23Like Sonny (Rehearsal 2, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)01:23
  • 24Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 1, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:24
  • 25Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 2, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)03:07
  • 26Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 3, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)01:09
  • 27Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 4, False Start) (2020 Remaster)00:12
  • 28Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 5) (2020 Remaster)08:23
  • 29Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 6, Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)01:16
  • 30Like Sonny (Alternate, Take 7) (2020 Remaster)06:25
  • 31Countdown (Alternate Take) (2020 Remaster)04:35
  • 32Syeeda's Song Flute (Alternate Take) (2020 Remaster)07:06
  • 33Cousin Mary (Alternate Take) (2020 Remaster)05:44
  • 34Giant Steps, Take 3 (Incomplete) (2020 Remaster)04:03
  • 35Giant Steps (Take 6, Alternate) (2020 Remaster)04:57
  • Total Runtime02:06:32

Info zu Giant Steps (60th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition) (2020 Remaster STEREO / MONO)

Newly Remastered Version Of The Jazz Saxophonist’s Influential Atlantic Records Debut, Plus Eight Alternate Takes, to be featured on the double anniversary album-sets.

John Coltrane’s Giant Steps – the influential jazz saxophonist’s first album with Atlantic Records – continues to astound and inspire listeners 60 years after its release. Consistently lauded in music histories, Giant Steps was inducted into the Grammy® Hall of Fame in 2001 and went gold in 2018. To celebrate this seminal album’s six-decade anniversary, Rhino has remastered Giant Steps and its surviving sessions outtakes for two new collections.

Newly remastered version of the original album plus eight alternate takes. The recordings come packaged in a replica of the original sleeve and labels used for the album’s first stereo pressing, and the packages feature rare photos, original liner notes, and new liner notes written by Grammy®-winning music historian, Ashley Kahn.

Giant Steps was recorded in 1959 at Atlantic Studios in New York City and features Coltrane on tenor saxophone, Paul Chambers on double bass, Tommy Flanagan on piano, and Art Taylor on drums. It’s extraordinary to note that Coltrane began principal recording sessions for Giant Steps less than two weeks after finishing his work with Miles Davis on Kind of Blue, which became the best-selling jazz album in history.

Considered a landmark in modern jazz improvisation, Giant Steps earned a rare honor in 2004 when the album was selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in the National Recording Registry. It is well known for Coltrane’s exploration into third-related chord movements, which are now known as ‘Coltrane changes.’ Several compositions on the album have become jazz standards, including the ballad “Naima” (named for his wife) and the title track.

In the new liner notes that accompany sets, Kahn details the album’s origins and eloquently writes about its lasting impact, while interweaving quotes and commentary from Coltrane’s peers, critics, and family. “And yet…Giant Steps is Exhibit A of how Coltrane’s obsession with the inner mechanics of music could not—and did not—impede his lyrical priority as a soloist, nor his compositional knack for inventing memorable, deeply entrancing melodies, says Kahn. “It never trips over its own intricacies, never loses sight that it is indeed music. The title track connects with an altogether hip, finger-snapping affect. “Cousin Mary” is a marvel of blues simplicity and smoky, late-night vibe; “Mr. P. C.” a burner fired by a toe-curling, R&B feel. “Naima” stands as one of Coltrane’s most wistful romantic statements, and “Syeeda’s Song Flute” one of his most playful. “Countdown” is a dizzying slalom down a mountainside, while “Spiral” thrills with a more relaxed energy, a gear-shifting exercise.”

“‘People like to talk about Giant Steps as a test for young horn players and how he’s breaking new ground with some of the pieces,’ says Ravi Coltrane, son of John, who was born in 1965 and grew up in Southern California and is one of many reed players who have spent countless hours with the music. “‘But it’s the accessibility that stands out for me. The accessibility, despite how challenging some of the material is. It’s still all very listenable and very joyful. John’s music is a joy to study and to play. It’s a joy to listen to.’”

Kahn concludes, “It remains one of the most talked-about albums of the modern era, a set of music all should have and absorb. It is music that has lived up to the grandiosity of its title: the first, yet not final, of John Coltrane’s fully realized statements, a point along a comet-like path of creative genius, an indelible marker on the timeline of popular music. It is a jazz classic recognized far beyond jazz circles. What more could a true artist hope to achieve?”

John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
Paul Chambers, double bass
Tommy Flanagan, piano
Art Taylor, drums
Jimmy Cobb, drums (on ‘Naima’)
Wynton Kelly, piano (on ‘Naima’)

Digitally remastered

Please note: mixed tracks in Stereo (192kHz) and Mono (96kHz)

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO