Schoenberg: Kol Nidre - Shostakovich: Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Riccardo Muti

Cover Schoenberg: Kol Nidre - Shostakovich: Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: CSO Resound

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Riccardo Muti

Komponist: Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951), Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 14,70
  • Arnold Schönberg (1874-1951): Kol Nidre, Op. 39
  • 1Kol Nidre, Op. 3914:11
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti, Op. 145a
  • 2I. Truth04:44
  • 3II. Morning03:06
  • 4III. Love04:13
  • 5IV. Separation02:37
  • 6V. Wrath01:50
  • 7VI. Dante03:08
  • 8VII. To the Exile06:27
  • 9VIII. Creativity03:33
  • 10IX. Night04:24
  • 11X. Death04:53
  • 12XI. Immortality03:41
  • Total Runtime56:47

Info zu Schoenberg: Kol Nidre - Shostakovich: Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti

This new live recording pairs profound works by two of the 20th century’s greatest composers: Arnold Schoenberg and Dmitri Shostakovich. Writer Phillip Huscher describes Schoenberg’s 'Kol Nidre' as a “stark, strong modernist statement,” set to the prayer said on the eve of Yom Kippur—the Day of Atonement. Schoenberg, who had fled Europe in 1934, premiered the work in Los Angeles in 1938, one month before the devastating anti-Jewish pogroms of Kristallnacht took place throughout Nazi-Germany. Shostakovich’s suite explores similarly weighty concerns, including themes of love, morality, death, and the human spirit through the poetry of the Renaissance master Michelangelo. Although originally conceived to honour the fifth centenary of the artist’s birth, Shostakovich’s settings became a highly personal testament to concerns the two men shared across the centuries.

Ildar Abdrazakov, bass
Alberto Mizrahi, narrator
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti, conductor

Keine Alben gefunden.

CHIC are one of the superpowers of late-’70s disco, a mixed-gender band from New York City that provided some of the biggest and most enduring hits of the Studio 54 era.

Best know for: A pair of epochal #1 pop smashes in “Le Freak” and “Good Times,” as well as club classics like “I Want Your Love,” “Everybody Dance” and “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah).” “Good Times” in particular has provided one of the great through-threads of the last 30 years of pop music, with its legendary bass line appearing (in various incarnations) in pop songs ranging from Queen’s “Another One Bites the Dust” to Daft Punk’s “Around the World”—and, most notably, providing the hook for Sugarhill Gang’s “Rappers’ Delight,” the song that brought hip-hop to the masses.

In addition to the irrepressible “Good Times,” Chic have made their influence felt through the production and songwriting work that group masterminds Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards did for other artists of their era, including Sister Sledge (“We Are Family”) and Sheila B. and Devotion (“Spacer”), as well as established artists looking to get on the disco bandwagon like Diana Ross (“Upside Down”) and David Bowie (“Let’s Dance”) and some of the biggest artists from next generation of pop, like Madonna (“Like a Virgin”) and Duran Duran (“A View to a Kill”). Oh, and French dance artist Modjo sampled their “Soup For One” for their 2001 hit “Lady (Hear Me Tonight),” which is pretty cool.

Booklet für Schoenberg: Kol Nidre - Shostakovich: Suite on Verses of Michelangelo Buonarroti

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO