Quadrophenia (Super Deluxe Edition) The Who

Album info



Label: Geffen Records

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: The Who

Composer: Pete Townshend

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1I Am The Sea02:09
  • 2The Real Me03:20
  • 3Quadrophenia06:17
  • 4Cut My Hair03:46
  • 5The Punk And The Godfather05:18
  • 6I'm One02:39
  • 7The Dirty Jobs04:30
  • 8Helpless Dancer02:36
  • 9Is It In My Head?03:46
  • 10I've Had Enough06:18
  • 115:1505:03
  • 12Sea And Sand05:06
  • 13Drowned05:28
  • 14Bell Boy05:00
  • 15Doctor Jimmy08:39
  • 16The Rock06:40
  • 17Love Reign O'er Me05:55
  • 18The Real Me04:27
  • 19Quadrophenia - 4 Overtures06:21
  • 20Cut My Hair03:30
  • 21Fill No' 1 - Get Out And Stay Out01:24
  • 22Quadrophenic Four Faces04:04
  • 23We Close Tonight02:44
  • 24You Came Back03:19
  • 25Get Inside03:11
  • 26Joker James03:42
  • 27Punk04:56
  • 28I'm One02:37
  • 29Dirty Jobs03:48
  • 30Helpless Dancer02:16
  • 31Is It In My Head?04:13
  • 32Any More03:23
  • 33Fill No' 201:33
  • 34I've Had Enough06:24
  • 35Wizardry03:10
  • 36Sea And Sand04:18
  • 37Drowned04:15
  • 38Is It Me?04:47
  • 39Bell Boy05:04
  • 40Doctor Jimmy07:31
  • 41Finale - The Rock08:01
  • 42Love Reign O'er Me05:10
  • Total Runtime03:06:38

Info for Quadrophenia (Super Deluxe Edition)

In 1973 The Who released ‘Quadrophenia’, an album with superior songwriting and a stronger story. It was based on Pete Townshend’s own experience of growing up as an angry mod in the early Sixties. The album centres on the character Jimmy, an angry, discontented young man. It deals with adolescent coming of age issues as the protagonist fails to ‘fit in’ and is dependent on pills. Jimmy is a composite of four different personalities in The Who.

„Quadrophenia“ is very much Pete Townshend’s masterpiece, in fact he has described as being the best album that he has ever written. It features more of his vocals than any other album by The Who. This is not to say that the others don’t excel; on the contrary, Keith Moon as always, plays like there’s no tomorrow. John Entwhistle’s bass playing is fantastic and his brass arrangements fit in really well, and of course Daltrey’s voice is superb, especially on ‘The Dirty Jobs’. Convesely, when the album was being produced Roger Daltrey said that his vocals were too low in the mix. In this latest reissue, when he sings the “Out of my brain” chorus over Keith Moon’s fantastic rolls around the drum kit and John Entwhistle’s driving bass in ‘5.15’, Daltrey delivers with sheer power.

'...it abides as one of The Who's peaks because...its instant, push-button atmosphere is always lifted from the realms of ham by some heartfelt Daltrey shout'n'croon, a bit of comedy Moon...and the anthemic elegance of the last two tracks...' (Q-Magazine)

Roger Daltrey, lead vocals, percussion
Pete Townshend, guitars, backing vocals, synthesizers, piano, violin, banjo, percussion, sound effects
John Entwistle, bass, horns, backing vocals
Keith Moon, drums, percussion
Additional musicians:
Jon Curle, newsreader voice
Chris Stainton, piano (on 'The Dirty Jobs', '5:15', and 'Drowned“)

Recorded from May 1972 and June–August 1973, Olympic Studios, London, Ramport Studios in Battersea, London with Ronnie Lane's Mobile Studio
Produced by The Who, Kit Lambert
Co-produced by Glyn Johns (on 'Is It in My Head?' and 'Love Reign o'er Me')

Digitally remastered

There are four names always on or near the top of the list of all time great Rock ‘n’ Roll bands: The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin and The Who.

The Who was formed by sheet-metal worker Roger Daltrey in 1963. The the line up, after a couple of adjustments, established itself with Daltrey on lead vocals, Keith Moon on drums, John Entwistle on bass and Pete Townshend on lead guitar. Townshend, honouring his art student credentials, wrote (and still writes) music famous for having an ‘edge’, complemented by the wildly creative performance techniques of each member of the band.

It is generally acknowledged among rock aficionados that The Who in their heyday were the most exciting live band on the planet, with their Live at Leeds album (1970) hailed as the greatest live album of all time. The compositional skills of Townshend have always been way beyond the conventional, as is proven not only in classic songs like ‘My Generation’ and ‘Baba O’Riley’ but also in his two great rock operas (a form he more or less invented single-handed) Tommy and Quadrophenia.

Today, despite the deaths of Keith Moon and John Entwistle, The Who remain a potent force on the rock music scene. Their Concert for New York City appearance after the tragedy of 9/11 was a classic, as have been their annual performances at the Royal Albert Hall in aid of the Teenage Cancer Trust. In 2006, Pete Townshend wrote The Who’s first studio album for the new millennium, Endless Wire and the band toured Europe and the U.S. during 2006 and 2007.

The Who are still highly active, with Townshend continuing to write and seek new musical challenges and Daltrey still the charismatic frontman he’s always been. The Who have recently launched their very first official website, www.thewho.com.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO