Sepia Ensemble: Contemporary Musicians Sepia Ensemble & Katarzyna Tomala-Jedynak

Cover Sepia Ensemble: Contemporary Musicians

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: DUX

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Sepia Ensemble & Katarzyna Tomala-Jedynak

Komponist: Atsuko Ezaki, Marcel Chyrzyński (b. 1971), Lars Carlsson, Artur Kroschel (b. 1973), Rafał Zapała (b. 1975), Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020), Ewa Fabiańska-Jelińska (b. 1989)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,50
  • Atsuko Ezaki: Donsu Dances:
  • 1Ezaki: Donsu Dances11:08
  • Marcel Chyrzyński (b. 1971): Betelgeuse:
  • 2Chyrzyński: Betelgeuse10:37
  • Lars Carlsson: Vindarna växlar:
  • 3Carlsson: Vindarna växlar09:58
  • Artur Kroschel (b. 1973): Gestures:
  • 4Kroschel: Gestures08:06
  • Rafał Zapała (b. 1975): Scherzo for Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Piano, Violin & Cello:
  • 5Zapała: Scherzo for Flute, Clarinet, Percussion, Piano, Violin & Cello07:27
  • Krzysztof Penderecki (1933 - 2020): String Quartet No. 1:
  • 6Penderecki: String Quartet No. 105:58
  • Ewa Fabiańska-Jelińska (b. 1989): Rocking Music:
  • 7Fabiańska-Jelińska: Rocking Music: I. —04:28
  • 8Fabiańska-Jelińska: Rocking Music: II. —04:05
  • Total Runtime01:01:47

Info zu Sepia Ensemble: Contemporary Musicians

Sepia Ensemble is one of the few contemporary music ensembles in Poland. It was established in 2012 in Poznan on the initiative of Artur Kroschel and Rafal Zapala. It consists of musicians who share a special passion for performing latest music. The artists often extend acoustic sounds to include electronic means. The core of the group consists of eleven musicians/soloists performing in various configurations, from solo to large ensembles. In December 2012, the ensemble implemented two projects to celebrate the Year of Cage, which consisted of the American artist's works. A year later, the musicians performed twice at the 'Musicacoustica' Electro-acoustic Music Festival in Beijing, devoting one concert to electroacoustic music and the other in tribute to Witold Lutoslawski. Since 2013, the Sepia Ensemble has been the ensemble-in-residence at the Festival of Contemporary Music 'Poznan Music Spring.' As part of the Festival, the musicians have premiered works by recognized Polish and foreign composers, including Rafal Zapala, Artur Kroschel, Jaromir Gajewski, Chang Seok Choi, Kaveh Djodat, Arshia Samsaminia, Idin Samimi Mofakham, and Rein-hard Karger.

Sepia EnsembleKatarzyna Tomala-Jedynak, conductor

Sepia Ensemble
was founded in 2012 in Ignacy Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań by Artur Kroschel and Rafał Zapała, both composers.

Core of the group consists of 11 musicians who has a great passion for performing contemporary music. They perform in various combinations - from solos to big ensembles. The Ensemble organizes its concerts in cultural institutions of Poznań City. They are also trying to fill some unconventional spaces with new music, extending their expression by using electronics. Its repertoire covers Polish composer's pieces, as well as the music of the interesting composers of the whole world.

In December 2012 the ensemble realized the John Cage's Year Project consisted of the pieces by the American artist. In 2013 they gave two concerts during the "Musicacoustica" Festival in Beijing.

Since 2013 they are acting as the ensemble-in-residence of the Poznan Music Spring Contemporary Music Festival.

Since 2014 they are carrying out their original project called Zooming - the cycle of concerts focused on the music from the particular country.

The group performed during Intenational Composers Forum in Poznań, Estonian Music Days in Tallinn, Festiwal Probaltica, Randfestspiele Zepernik in Zepernick, Composers Portraits Cycle, Musica Moderna, Festiwal Sonus ex Machina, Festiwal Nowa Muzyka, International Contemporary Music Festival in Teheran as well as in foreign cultural institutions which are intensively promoting the contemporary music, e.g. Hugh Lane Gallery in Dublin, Senghor Espace in Brussels or Foyer Européen in Luxembourg.

Since 2016 the ensemble is officially working under the patronage of the Academy of Music in Poznań.

In 2017 they were invited by composer Reinhard Karger to take part in Vienna Music Univeristy 200-anniversary concert.

In 2018 Sepia Ensemble has become officially an artist-in-residence of the Lower Silesia Philharmonic in Jelenia Góra.

In November 2019 they were invited to give a performance during International Festival LOOP 11 in Brussels.

In September 2020 they are going to record their first CD in cooperation with the DUX Recording Producers.

Booklet für Sepia Ensemble: Contemporary Musicians

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO