Ataraxia (5uintet) Francisco Lelo de Larrea

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 11,00
  • 1Quasi Stellar Radio Source10:02
  • 2Necronomicon09:29
  • 3Don't Mess With The Tlacuache08:37
  • 4Ataraxia10:56
  • 5Now You Drink It or Spill It!11:48
  • Total Runtime50:52

Info zu Ataraxia (5uintet)

All tracks composed, produced and arranged by Francisco Lelo de Larrea. Featuring: Antonio Sanchez, Scott Colley, Elliot Mason & David Binney.

With the support of the Dirección del Sistema de Teatros de la Secretaría de Cultura de la Ciudad de México, the guitar virtuoso, leader of the quintet that bears his name, will fill the venue of Donceles 36 with his characteristic sounds of contemporary jazz, swing, soul funk that surround his new recording material and that for reasons of pandemic it had not been possible to fully share with the public.

Francisco Lelo de Larrea is originally from Monterrey, Nuevo León, and has performed on stages and at festivals in Mexico, Central and South America, Europe, Malaysia, Singapore, India and the United States, where he currently lives.

The guitarist and composer, who studied at the National Conservatory of Music, holds a degree in jazz with a speciality in guitar from the Escuela Superior de Música del Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes y Literatura, as well as a Master's degree in jazz performance from the Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College, New York.

And the ensemble as a whole seeks to chart a new path and a new trend in the art of syncopated music, through original compositions and arrangements inspired by traditional jazz, swing, hard bop and contemporary jazz, to experimenting with rock and soul.

The members of the quintet have each individually achieved a prominent place in the syncopated music scene in Mexico and internationally, and in addition to projecting a fine mastery of their instrument, they contribute with their musicality, sound and good taste, an enhancement and strength to Lelo de Larrea's compositions.

The quintet has participated in the most important jazz festivals in the country and has a record production entitled Francisco Lelo de Larrea 5uinteto, distributed on physical and digital platforms by FONARTE latino.

The quintet's second album, Ataraxia, was recorded in New York with the participation of internationally renowned musicians such as David Binney on alto saxophone, Elliot Mason on trombone, Scott Colley on double bass and four-time Grammy winner and composer of the Birdman soundtrack, Mexican Antonio Sánchez on drums.

Francisco Lelo de Larrea, guitar
David Binney, alto saxophone
Elliot Mason, trombone
Scott Colley, bass
Antonio Sanchez, drums

Recorded on 15 June 2022 at Atomic Sound Studios
Recording and mixing: Fernando Lodeiro
Mastering: Oscar Zambrano
Executive co-producer: Alfredo Gómez Pérez

Francisco Lelo de Larrea
Born in the city of Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico, in 1976.

He began his musical studies at the Escuela Superior de Música de Monterrey, and later continued them at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música in Mexico City. He has a degree in Jazz with a specialization in guitar, graduated from the Escuela Superior de Música del INBA.

Since 2011 he lives in New York City, where he has obtained a Master of Arts degree in Jazz Performance at the Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College, with a scholarship from the National Fund for Culture and the Arts in Mexico.

He is part of the new generation of Mexican jazz musicians, and has performed and recorded with various projects of renowned Mexican musicians such as Eugenio Toussaint, Enrique Nery, Agustin Bernal, Luri Molina, Rey David Alejandre, Diego Maroto, Marco Rentería, Magos Herrera, Iraida Noriega, Marco Rentería, Big Band Jazz de México, La Casa de Agua, Popo Sánchez, Chucho López, just to name a few... as well as foreign musicians such as John Benitez, Antonio Hart, Michael Mossman, Thana Alexa, Chris Cheek, Stan Killian, Benito Gonzalez, Ugonna Okewo, Steve Cardernas, Jorge Roeder, Shai Maestro, Jarry Singla, Oscar Stagnaro, Americo Bellotto, Gabriel Hernández, Alex Kautz, Tyler Mitchell, Ricky Rodriguez, Gabriel Puentes, Cristian Mendoza, E. J Strickland, Jorge Brauet, Hernán Hecht, Ricardo Benitez, among others.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO