Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 44.1 $ 13,20
  • 1Sanctus Ericus / Sanctum Ericum04:01
  • 2Veri03:49
  • 3Gaude, cetus fidelium / In vernali tempore06:17
  • 4Paimenen säveliä: Suru01:38
  • 5Psallat scholarum concio / Neity Maria Emonen - Mariatar / Beatus vir06:36
  • 6Luojan virsi05:25
  • 7Trina caeli hierarchia08:30
  • 8Impenitens malicie02:50
  • 9Piispa Henrikin surmavirsi05:36
  • 10Birretum patris01:28
  • 11O scholares voce pares03:37
  • 12Puu06:01
  • 13Cum lucri magnitudine / Perfecte desiderium sui / Pre clari patris sanctitas doctrinam05:14
  • 14Lapsed caicki laolacatt (Personent Hodie)01:58
  • Total Runtime01:03:00

Info zu RE

Ensemble Gamut! will release their second album, RE, on 25 November 2022. Having won over the critics with their debut release, the ensemble now explores age-old themes in a way that makes them seem surprisingly contemporary. The album is preceded by a series of singles, the first of which 'Veri' (Blood) is a collaboration with rapper Paleface. The single is out on Friday Oct.7th on streaming platforms.

The opening single is a somewhat surprising fusion of old traditional music and rap. “We invited Karri “Paleface” Miettinen to join us to include the perspective of a contemporary social commentator in the album. Spoken word and rap both have their roots in the need of oppressed people to express themselves. Thematically, the album represents an encounter between religious/political propaganda in Finland and a “man of the people”, a folk singer/musician. It remains up to the listener to decide how these disparate traditions merge.“ comments Peltomaa.

The title RE, being second note of the musical scale (Gamut), also refers to remaking, rearranging, reposting, recreating, renewing, re-entering, returning and retuning ourselves to the past and the future, ever so present in every moment. History repeats itself in all sorts of ways, and the topical themes addressed on RE include colonisation, the conquest of new territories by a superpower, Finland’s geopolitical position between East and West, and wars between religions.

“We are today inundated with information, which also includes alternative truths, distorted facts. The appreciation of expertise and knowledge is at an all time low. It fills me with exasperation to see an Instagram live of someone who has had the benefit of the Finnish education system, yet who claims that the earth is flat. Are we living in the Middle Ages?” asks the leader of the ensemble Aino Peltomaa.

The songs recall a time when no such country as Finland existed as yet. The Eastern Orthodox and the Western Catholic Church competed for influence in Finland for centuries, until they separated on the eve of the First Crusade. The songs on the album explore the earliest music preserved in Finland, literary sources from St. Henry's rhymed office, the Piae Cantiones collection, the Brigittine Cantus Sororum chantbook, as well as ancient runosong melodies.

Ensemble Gamut!

Ensemble Gamut!
is a fresh, experimental collective of early music and folk music specialists, who are constantly searching for new ways to perform early music. They combine historical instruments and electronics in an innovative way, and have created their own unique world of sounds using medieval and renaissance music, Finnish folk tunes, improvisation and modern soundscapes.

The name of the ensemble is derived from medieval music theory (Guido of Arezzo), but also means a colour reproduction, a subset of colours. Kamut means “friends” in Finnish, and the word Kamu is also a shorthand way to refer to Finnish folk music (kansanmusiikki).

Their debut album, UT was released on 4 December 2020 on Eclipse Music. The title refers to the Swedish word for being outside, going out, or being without someone (utanför), as well as being the first note of the scale. Gamut – Gamma ut! On 25 November 2022, Eclipse Music will release RE, the second album of Ensemble Gamut!.

Ensemble Gamut! has performed extensively from club gigs to museums, medieval churches and concert halls.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO