Blue Hour – Weber, Brahms, Mendelssohn Andreas Ottensamer

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897): Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 118:
  • 1Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 118: 2. Intermezzo in A Major. Andante teneramente (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Popov)05:47
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786 - 1826): Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 73:
  • 2Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 73: 1. Allegro07:42
  • 3Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 73: 2. Adagio ma non troppo06:32
  • 4Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 73: 3. Rondo05:50
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 - 1847): Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 85:
  • 5Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 85: No. 6 Allegretto con moto (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)01:52
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 102:
  • 6Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 102: No. 1 Andante un poco agitato (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)02:49
  • Johannes Brahms: 5 Lieder, Op. 105:
  • 75 Lieder, Op. 105: 1. Wie Melodien zieht es mir (Transcr. for Clarinet and Piano)02:09
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 30:
  • 8Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 30: No. 4 Agitato e con fuoco (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)02:31
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 67:
  • 9Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 67: No. 3 Andante tranquillo (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)02:25
  • Carl Maria von Weber: Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 48, J. 204:
  • 10Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 48, J. 204: 1. Allegro con fuoco05:40
  • 11Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 48, J. 204: 2. Andante con moto04:48
  • 12Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 48, J. 204: 3. Rondo. Allegro05:42
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 30
  • 13Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 30: No. 6 Allegretto tranquillo (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)03:08
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 67:
  • 14Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 67: No. 2 Allegrio leggiero (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)02:15
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 85:
  • 15Lieder ohne Worte, Op. 85: No. 4 Andante sostenuto (Arr. for Clarinet and Piano by Ottensamer)02:35
  • Total Runtime01:01:45

Info zu Blue Hour – Weber, Brahms, Mendelssohn

Auf Blue Hour widmen sich Starklarinettist Andreas Ottensamer und die virtuose Pianistin Yuja Wang romantischer Musik von Brahms, Weber und Mendelssohn. Das Kernstück des Albums bildet Webers Klarinettenkonzert Nr. 1, bei dem Mariss Jansons am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker steht und Ottensamer als Soloklarinettist fungiert. Daneben stehen einige von Mendelssohns "Lieder ohne Worte", die, ursprünglich komponiert für Klavier solo, hier in der Bearbeitung für Klarinette und Klavier erscheinen. Ergänzt wird das Albumrepertoire durch Webers explosives Grand Duo Concertant sowie zwei samtig-melancholische Kompositionen von Johannes Brahms, sein Intermezzo in A Dur und "Wie Melodien zieht es mir".

Ein Album von stiller Schönheit für morgendliche wie abendliche Dämmerstunden.

Andreas Ottensamer, Klarinette
Yuja Wang, Klavier
Berliner Philharmoniker
Mariss Jansons, Dirigent

Andreas Ottensamer
has captured audiences and critics alike with the singular beauty of tone that he coaxes from the instrument. At one stage he studied the cello, which perhaps has helped to imbue his approach to the clarinet with a soulful depth. His Viennese instrument, with a wider bore than the closely related German-system clarinet, produces a particularly dark, expansive and warm tone, which he exploits to full advantage.

Born in 1989, Ottensamer comes from an Austro-Hungarian family of musicians and was drawn to music early, receiving his first piano lessons when he was four. At the age of ten he began studying cello in his home town at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna, then changed to the clarinet under Johann Hindler in 2003.

Andreas Ottensamer gained his first orchestral experience as a deputy in the orchestra of the Vienna State Opera and the Vienna Philharmonic and as a member of the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. In 2009 he interrupted his Harvard studies to become a scholar of the Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

As principal clarinettist he has played with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin from July 2010 to February 2011 and with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Ottensamer has won first prize in competitions for clarinet, cello and piano, and performs as a soloist and chamber musician throughout the world in venues such as Musikverein Wien, Konzerthaus Wien, Brucknerhaus Linz, Musikverein Graz, Philharmonie Berlin, Tempodrom Berlin, De Doelen Rotterdam, and Seoul Arts Center. His artistic partnerships include work with Murray Perahia, Leif Ove Andsnes, Leonidas Kavakos, Janine Jansen, Clemens Hagen and Yo-Yo Ma. In 2005 Andreas Ottensamer founded the clarinet trio The Clarinotts with his father Ernst and brother Daniel, both solo clarinettists in the orchestra of the Vienna State Opera and the Vienna Philharmonic. Several works have been dedicated to the ensemble.

In February 2013 Andreas Ottensamer entered an exclusive recording partnership with Deutsche Grammophon/Mercury Classics, making him the first ever solo clarinettist to sign an exclusive agreement with the Yellow Label. His first album, Portraits – The Clarinet Album, will be released in the summer and features concertos by Copland, Spohr and Cimarosa, plus arrangements of short pieces. His partners are the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra under Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

He said of the recording: “This album poses the challenge of jumping between different styles and ways of playing, but at the same time I set a high priority on maintaining my personal interpretation and sound.”

For a man who is so dedicated to music, Andreas Ottensamer is also passionate about sport. For many years he was a tennis tournament player, and together with his brother he founded his own football club, the Wiener Virtuosen, in 2007. The team plays successfully in the Wiener DSG league and Ottensamer still travels to Vienna for matches whenever his schedule permits.

In 2013 this schedule includes performances of the Busoni Clarinet Concertino and Copland Clarinet Concerto at the Seoul Arts Center in Korea (March), concerts with the Brahms Ensemble Berlin in Baden-Baden and Japan and appearances with his own Clarinotts at the Musikverein in Vienna (April). In May he undertakes a Japanese tour, playing repertoire from his debut album – including performances as a soloist with the Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra – and giving masterclasses in Tokyo and other cities.

Apart from his extensive activities within the world of classical music, Andreas Ottensamer has widened his horizon to other musical fields, resulting in a collaboration and recording with Tori Amos on her album Night of Hunters.

The beauty of tone and distinct musicality over a wide range of styles have won extensive critical plaudits for Andreas Ottensamer. Sybill Mahlke wrote in Der Tagesspiegel of his “limitless dynamic range . . . he plays with a vitality that pushes boundaries.” NRC Handelsblad said: “Andreas Ottensamer melts with his clarinet . . . he is an ‘übersolist’ and a phenomenon.” Rebecca Schmid wrote for “Solo clarinettist Andreas Ottensamer played with particular finesse . . . and a touch of melancholy.”

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO