Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Alpha

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Interpret: Anthony Romaniuk

Komponist: Bela Bartok (1881-1945), Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Claude Debussy (1862-1918), György Ligeti (1923-2006), William Byrd (1543-1623), Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), Federico Mompou (1893-1987), Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), Chick Corea (1941)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,20
  • Béla Bartók (1881 - 1945): Mikrokosmos, Sz. 107:
  • 1Mikrokosmos, Sz. 107: Bagpipe Music. Allegretto in G Major (No. 138 Vol. V, with Improvised Prelude)02:07
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750): English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807:
  • 2English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807: I. Prélude (Piano)03:53
  • 3English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807: I. Prélude (Fender Rhodes)04:15
  • Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918): Préludes, L. 117, Book 1:
  • 4Préludes, L. 117, Book 1: II. Voiles03:31
  • György Ligeti (1923 - 2006): Musica Ricercata:
  • 5Musica Ricercata: VII. Cantabile, molto legato04:17
  • William Byrd (1539 - 1623): The Bells, T 442:
  • 6The Bells, T 44205:45
  • George Crumb (b. 1929): Makrokosmos, Vol. II:
  • 7Makrokosmos, Vol. II: IV. Twin Suns03:10
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Six Bagatelles, Op. 126:
  • 8Six Bagatelles, Op. 126: IV. Presto in B Major03:30
  • Béla Bartók: Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 56:
  • 9Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 56: III. Pê-loc. Andante02:41
  • Frederico Mompou (1893 - 1987): Musica Callada, Book II:
  • 10Musica Callada, Book II: XIII. Tranquillo02:03
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Adagio in B Minor, K. 540:
  • 11Adagio in B Minor, K. 540 (With Improvised Prelude)08:12
  • Chick Corea (b. 1941): Children's Song:
  • 12Children's Song02:15
  • Federico Mompou: Musica Callada, Book I:
  • 13Musica Callada, Book I: V. Legato metallico02:25
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 15 in D Major, Op. 28:
  • 14Sonata No. 15 in D Major, Op. 28: IV. Rondo. Allegro ma non troppo04:37
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683 - 1764): Pièces de clavecin avec une méthode:
  • 15Pièces de clavecin avec une méthode: VII. Musette en rondeau (With Improvised Prelude)03:37
  • Anonymous: Het Gruuthuse-Handschrift II. 108:
  • 16Het Gruuthuse-Handschrift II. 108: Orlof, Vrauwe, Ende Ic Moet Gaen02:32
  • Henry Purcell (1659 - 1695): Fantasia Upon One Note in F Major, Z. 745:
  • 17Fantasia Upon One Note in F Major, Z. 74503:11
  • Johann Sebastian Bach: English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807:
  • 18English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807: VI. Bourrée04:41
  • Anthony Romaniuk: Kora (Improvisation)
  • 19Kora (Improvisation)03:40
  • Improvisation on Der Leiermann:
  • 20Improvisation on Der Leiermann02:41
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 - 1975): Prelude and Fugue No. 1 in C Major, Op. 87
  • 21Prelude and Fugue No. 1 in C Major, Op. 87 (With Improvised Prelude)04:44
  • Total Runtime01:17:47

Info zu Bells

An Australian who studied early music, harpsichord and fortepiano in New York, Anthony Romaniuk also has a passion for improvisation, independent rock and electronic music. This musical polyglot collaborates regularly with the violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja (Take Two, ALPHA211), the vocal ensemble Vox Luminis, the tenor Reinoud Van Mechelen and the cellist Pieter Wispelwey.

For his first solo album, he has spent ten years exploring almost ten centuries of music, which he has decided to play on four different keyboards: harpsichord, fortepiano, piano and Fender Rhodes. Fascinated by low sustained notes (known as ‘pedal points’, the descendants of drones) – hence the title Bells – Anthony Romaniuk exceeds the boundaries of classical orthodoxy, ranging from Mozart to Crumb. An incredible compendium of music and emotions that enables us to discover Rameau, Byrd, Beethoven, Debussy, Purcell in a new light. We go from Bartók’s Mikrokosmos to a fascinating medieval melody that he has harmonised like a jazzman. Thanks to the delicate timbre of the Fender Rhodes, we hear Bach quite differently, alongside Chick Corea’s magical Children’s Songs.

Anthony Romaniuk, piano, fortepiano, Fender Rhodes, harpsichord

Anthony Romaniuk
Keyboardist Anthony Romaniuk’s singular artistic voice stems from his relentless exploration of a vast range of musical styles.

A natural musical polyglot, his classical training is complemented by his improvising prowess, allowing him to traverse the borders between genres.

Jazz-obsessed in his youth in Australia, he studied classical piano in New York (Manhattan School of Music), spent several years specialising in early music (harpsichord and fortepiano in the Netherlands) and, post-studies, has continued his development across the realms of improvisation, Indy rock and ambient/electronic music.

As a classical recitalist, his repertoire includes music from Byrd to Bach, Beethoven, Chopin and Brahms (often on historical instruments), to Ligeti, Crumb and contemporary music. He works regularly with violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and tenor Reinoud Van Mechelen and is also a core member of Vox Luminis. Other noteworthy collaborations include working with cellists Peter Wispelwey and Nadège Rochat, the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Seattle Symphony Orchestra and Danish rock group Efterklang.

He has played at many important concert venues in Europe, including Wigmore Hall (London), Salle Gaveau (Paris), Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Berliner Konzerthaus, Bozar (Brussels) and at the Menuhin Festival (Gstaad), as well as frequent engagements in the US and Australia.

His debut solo recording “Bells”, released on Alpha Classics in 2020, showcases his approach to combining repertoire and improvisation, employing the timbres of four keyboard instruments, consciously pushing the boundaries of classical orthodoxy.

Booklet für Bells

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO