Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Interpret: Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra & Clark Rundell

Komponist: Adam Gorb (1958), Kenneth Hesketh (1968), Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006), John McCabe (1939), Buxton Orr (1924-1997)

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 13,20
  • Adam Gorb (b. 1958): Awayday:
  • 1Gorb: Awayday06:55
  • Kenneth Hesketh (b. 1968): Diaghilev Dances:
  • 2Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Introduction, for O.K. on his birthday03:31
  • 3Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Entr'acte I00:46
  • 4Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Dance I01:57
  • 5Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Entr'acte II01:41
  • 6Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Dance II03:23
  • 7Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Entr'acte III01:02
  • 8Hesketh: Diaghilev Dances: Dance III02:54
  • Sir Malcolm Arnold (1921 - 2006): Water Music, Op. 82b:
  • 9Arnold: Water Music, Op. 82b: I. Allegro maestoso03:14
  • Water Music, Op. 82:
  • 10Arnold: Water Music, Op. 82: II. Andantino03:04
  • 11Arnold: Water Music, Op. 82: III. Vivace02:00
  • John McCabe (1939 - 2015): Canyons:
  • 12McCabe: Canyons: I. Lento moderato03:47
  • 13McCabe: Canyons: II. Vivo02:26
  • 14McCabe: Canyons: III. Lento02:00
  • 15McCabe: Canyons: IV. Allegro vivace - Adagio05:19
  • Buxton Orr (1924 - 1997): A John Gay Suite:
  • 16Orr: A John Gay Suite: I. Intrada. Crotchet = 10803:29
  • 17Orr: A John Gay Suite: II. Romanza. Andante con moto04:03
  • 18Orr: A John Gay Suite: III. Intermezzo. Con moto03:13
  • 19Orr: A John Gay Suite: IV. Finale. Allegro alla marcia03:47
  • Total Runtime58:31

Info zu Homages for Wind

All but one of the British works for wind orchestra on this recording, composed during the final decades of the twentieth century, pay homage to composers of an earlier generation. Arnold's Water Music, for example, was written for the re-opening of the Stratford canal in 1964 and was first performed on a barge moored at the junction of the canal and the river Avon- a fitting tribute to G.F. Handel. The other composers featured on this disc are Adam Gorb, Kenneth Hesketh, John McCabe and Buxton Orr. The recording is the latest in the popular Chandos series of Wind Band Classics performed by the Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra, here conducted by Clark Rundell.

"Brilliant playing: no wonder they are the finest wind orchestra in Britain. Energy of a different sort is present in A John Gay Suite by the much underrated Buxton Orr. Decked out in expert orchestration, played to perfection and recorded in typically sumptuous sound, it provides an ideal conclusion to a splendid disc." (Gramophone Magazine)

"The Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra is an outstanding ensemble of young musicians, and this entertaining new programme, entitled ‘Homages for Wind’ shows these players at the top of their form. Anyone who enjoys symphonic wind music will want to hear this recording – it’s very well played and conducted, and the repertoire is all very engaging… With good notes and spacious Chandos sound, this is a most enjoyable album." (International Record Review)

Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra
Clark Rundell, conductor

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO