Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
21.04.2017

Label: Neuklang

Genre: Jazz

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.00
  • 1El Bola06:34
  • 2Capricho do Sul05:02
  • 3Metro06:06
  • 4You05:23
  • 5Gitanerias03:14
  • 6Burundanga08:42
  • 7La Comparsa08:39
  • 8La Bikina06:50
  • 9El Bola 'Warming Up' (Bonustrack)07:03
  • Total Runtime57:33

Info for Duets



Marialy Pacheco meets Hamilton de Holanda, Joo Kraus, Rhani Krija, Max Mutzke, Omar Sosa and Miguel Zenon; six established figures from across the globe, each master of his own craft.

With such a wealth of expertise and musicality on hand, a performance featuring all of these artists at the same time would inevitably mean that some aspects would be lost. So instead we have chosen to feature a series of separate ‘rendezvous’. And the Cuban pianist extracts the very best out of each individual encounter. The title of the CD, ‘Duets’, sums up this concept succinctly and although this may sound rather matter-of-fact, more lies behind it - much more.

No other line-up can illustrate concepts from every-day life with such persistence: there is much talk of ‘nakedness’, ‘intimacy’, ‘discussion’ or ‘dialogue’, even couples’ ‘musical relationships’. The duo promises communication pure: people converse and at the same time entertain others. Stories are told, questions are asked and answered, there is contradiction, ironizing and flirting. Ideas are expressed, expanded upon and steered in new directions. Intimate moments alternate with heated debate. Duets are associated with the art of dialogue: the ability to have a constructive discussion, not to talk at cross-purposes, to contribute and play a part without dominating the other person.

With so much anthropological significance it might come as a surprise that this form of vocal exchange is relatively new in human jazz history. An early milestone was set in 1972 by Gary Burton and Chick Corea in Munich: they had finished their individual solo performances at a festival when the organiser approached them with the request to perform together as a duo by way of an encore. Forty-two years later it was that same Chic Corea who, during a solo concert in Dortmund as part of the Ruhr Piano Festival, asked the young Cuban pianist, Marialy Pacheco, who had been sitting in the audience, to join him on the stage for a duet.

Chucho Valdes, the grand old man of Cuban jazz, once described the pianist as “the greatest of young piano talents”. At the time, she had just won a young musicians competition in Cuba, where Valdes headed up the jury. Pachecos’ mother conducts a choir which is famous both in Cuba and further afield. When the choir took part in the Bremen ‘Choir Olympics’ in 2004, Marialy was there and she decided to remain in the city, home of the ‘Stadtmusikanten’ (the town musicians which feature in the famous fairy tale written by the Brothers Grimm). After an extended stay in Australia, the pianist returned to Germany. Initially back to Bremen but she now lives in Dortmund. In 2012, Pacheco won the renowned Montreux Solo Piano Competition.

Cuban jazz pianists have always left a lasting impression - from Chucho Valdes, Gonzalo Rubalcaba and Hilario Duran to Omar Sosa, Ramón Valle and Roberto Fonseca, David Virelles, Alfredo Rodriguez and Rolando Luna. Time and again they combine Caribbean temperament and excellent technique gained through intensive study to produce a truly breath-taking performance culture. This has both a positive and a negative effect, for that ‘gimmicky’ style of playing along with the bland high-speed fusion (which failed because of our own egomania and which we thought had been laid to rest with the case long closed) - well, it still exists. It is perhaps not quite as pronounced as before, but is so virtuosic and flawless as to have lost none of its earlier impact. The admiration for Cuban jazz pianists grows and also for the number of exceptionally talented musicians that such a small country produces.

When Marialy Pacheco performs one can truly sense her virtuosity, flair and sheer joy of making music without constraints, set free after her strict classical training. But we’ll leave it up to the ‘gender specialists’ to decide whether the striking and pleasing absence of machismo in her playing is due to the fact that she is a woman. One never gets the impression that she is trying to prove anything. It’s all just about the music and musicianship. She is more a musician than a pianist - and not so much a Cuban, but rather a well-travelled artist who is not just interested in jazz, but in music in general.

The six fellow musicians who Marialy Pacheco invited to join her in duet at the renowned Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg could be similarly described. Musical citizens from around the world: a Puerto-Rican who lives in New York (Miguel Zenon), a Cuban whose home is in Barcelona (Omar Sosa), a Moroccan from Cologne (Rhani Krija), a Brazilian conqueror of the music world (Hamilton De Holanda), a trumpet player from Ulm, who recorded one of his albums in Havana (Joo Kraus) and a native of Waldshut-Tiengen, who is known throughout Europe not just for his participation in the Eurovision Song Contest (Max Mutzke). Musicians who are not stylistically blinkered, but who are passionate, individual and authentic and endowed with the virtues which are the basic prerequisites for performing as part of a duo: the ability to listen, to engage fully with their counterpart and to leave their ego at the studio door.

Marialy Pacheco, piano (Bösendorfer Imperial)
Omar Sosa, piano, vocals
Hamilton de Holanda, mandolin
Joo Kraus, trumpet
Max Mutzke, vocals
Rhani Krija, percussion
Miguel Zenon, saxophone


Marialy Pacheco
belongs to the most talented Cuban musicians of her generation. At age 29 she has achieved enormous success in the world of jazz including the first woman to be awarded 1st prize at the 2012 solo piano competition at the Montreux Jazz Festival, 1st place in the Cuban Jazz competition “Jo Jazz” plus numerous awards for her original compositions. She has released 5 albums under her own name with 2 new releases due by the end of 2012. Marialy has toured extensively solo and with her trio throughout Australia, Asia and Europe and shared the stage with world class musicians including Tommy Emmanuel, James Morrison and Karl Perazzo.

Booklet for Duets

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO

Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
21.04.2017

Label: Neuklang

Genre: Jazz

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.50
  • 1El Bola06:34
  • 2Capricho do Sul05:02
  • 3Metro06:06
  • 4You05:23
  • 5Gitanerias03:14
  • 6Burundanga08:42
  • 7La Comparsa08:39
  • 8La Bikina06:50
  • 9El Bola 'Warming Up' (Bonustrack)07:03
  • Total Runtime57:33

Info for Duets

"Marialy Pacheco trifft auf Hamilton de Holanda, Joo Kraus, Rhani Krija, Max Mutzke, Omar Sosa und Miguel Zenon, auf sechs gestandene Größen aus aller Welt, jeder Meister seines Faches. Bei so viel Kompetenz und Musikalität würde bei einem gemeinsamen Zusammenspiel Aller das Eine oder Andere verloren gehen. Stattdessen haben wir es hier mit einzelnen Rendezvous zu tun. Und die kubanische Jazz-Pianistin holt aus jeder einzelnen Begegnung das Beste heraus. Der Titel der CD bringt das Konzept in gebotener Kürze auf den Punkt: DUETS. So sachlich und nüchtern er auch klingen mag – dahinter verbirgt sich mehr, sehr viel mehr.

Bei keiner anderen Besetzungsgröße werden mit solcher Beharrlichkeit Begriffe aus dem menschlichen Leben angeführt: Von „Nacktheit“ ist da häufig die Rede, von „Intimität“, von „Dialog“ oder „Zwiegespräch“, gar von einer musikalischen „Zweierbeziehung“. Das Duo verspricht Kommunikation pur: Da unterhalten sich Menschen und unterhalten dabei andere. Da wird erzählt, gefragt, geantwortet, widersprochen, ironisiert, geflirtet, Gedanken aufgenommen, weitergeführt, in eine andere Richtung gelenkt, da wechseln intime Momente mit engagierten Auseinandersetzungen. Und es wird bei Duetten von der K u n s t des Dialogs gesprochen: von der Fähigkeit, ein konstruktives Gespräch zu führen, nicht aneinander vorbeizureden, sich selbst mit einbringen zu können, ohne dabei den anderen zu dominieren.

Bei so viel anthropologischer Bedeutung mag es verwundern, dass diese Art des klingenden Gedankenaustausches relativ jung ist in der Menschheitsgeschichte des Jazz. Für einen frühen Meilenstein sorgten Gary Burton und Chick Corea 1972 in München: Sie hatten auf einem Festival ihre Solo-Konzerte beendet, als der Veranstalter mit der Bitte an beide herantrat, als eine Art Zugabe ein Duo zu spielen. Zweiundvierzig Jahre später ist es eben jener Chick Corea, der im Rahmen eines Solo-Konzerts in Dortmund im Rahmen des Klavier-Festivals Ruhr eine junge, im Publikum sitzende Pianistin auf die Bühne und zum Duett bittet – Marialy Pacheco.

Chucho Valdes, Grandseigneur des kubanischen Jazz, bezeichnete die Pianistin einst als das „größte unter den jungen Piano-Talenten“. Damals hatte sie auf Kuba einen Nachwuchswettbewerb gewonnen, bei dem Valdes Chef der Jury war. Pachecos Mutter leitet einen auf Kuba renommierten und auch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannten Chor. Als dieser 2004 an der Chor-Olympiade in Bremen teilnimmt und Marialy dabei ist, entschließt sie sich, in der Stadt der Stadtmusikanten zu bleiben. Nach einem längeren Aufenthalt in Australien ist die Pianistin wieder nach Deutschland gezogen, zunächst zurück nach Bremen, inzwischen lebt sie in Dortmund. 2012 gewann Pacheco die renommierte Montreux Solo Piano Competition.

Kubanische Jazz-Pianisten haben schon immer nachhaltig Eindruck hinterlassen – von Chucho Valdes, Gonzalo Rubalcaba und Hilario Duran über Omar Sosa, Ramón Valle und Roberto Fonseca bis zu David Virelles, Alfredo Rodriguez und Rolando Luna. Und immer wieder vereinen sich karibisches Temperament und eine während eines harten Klassischen Studiums erarbeitete exzellente Technik zu einer Spielkultur, die atemberaubend ist – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes und sowohl im positiven als auch im negativen Sinne. Denn jene Viel-Spielerei, die wir mit der an der eigenen Egomanie gescheiterten, atem- und ausdruckslos gewordenen Hochgeschwindigkeits-Fusion längst hinter uns und freudig ad acta gelegt glaubten – es gibt sie immer noch. Vielleicht nicht mehr so laut, aber so virtuos und makellos, dass sie ihre Wirkung nach wie vor nicht verliert. Und die Bewunderung für kubanische Jazz-Pianisten steigt noch angesichts der Fülle an Ausnahmetalenten eines Landes, das so klein ist.

Virtuosität, Feuer und Spielfreude, förmlich befreit und losgelassen nach einer strengen klassischen Ausbildung – all das hört man auch bei Marialy Pacheco. Überlassen wir es aber den Gender-Spezialistinnen und -Spezialisten, ob der eklatante und erfreuliche Mangel an Machismo in ihrem Spiel nur damit zu tun hat, dass sie eine Frau ist. Nie drängt sich bei ihr der Eindruck auf, etwas beweisen zu müssen. Es geht um die Musik, ums Musikalische. Sie ist weniger Pianistin denn Musikerin. Und weniger Kubanerin denn weitgereiste Künstlerin, die nicht nur an Jazz interessiert ist, sondern – sorry für den Allgemeinplatz – an MUSIK. Und auch die sechs Kollegen, die Marialy Pacheco zu Duetten in die renommierten Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg lud, sind aus eben jenem Holz geschnitzt. Musizierende Weltbürger: Ein Puerto-Ricaner, der in New York lebt (Miguel Zenon), ein Kubaner mit Wohnsitz Barcelona (Omar Sosa), ein Marokkaner aus Köln (Rhani Krija), ein die Musik-Welt erobernder Brasilianer (Hamilton De Holanda), ein Trompeter aus Ulm, der eines seiner Alben in Havanna aufgenommen hat (Joo Kraus), und ein gebürtiger Waldshut-Tiengener, der nicht nur wegen seiner Teilnahme am ESC Europa-weit bekannt ist (Max Mutzke). Musiker ohne stilistische Scheuklappen, leidenschaftlich, jeder auf seine ureigene Weise authentisch und ausgestattet mit jenen Tugenden, die für ein Duo nun einmal Grundvoraussetzung sind: die Fähigkeit zuzuhören, sich voll und ganz auf das Gegenüber einzulassen, das Ego an der Studiotür abzugeben.

Das Verbindende, Gemeinsame zwischen diesen Paarungen ist genauso hörbar wie die Unterschiedlichkeit der Duos. Das Eine macht das Andere erst wertvoll. Denn ein breites Spektrum allein, eine Vielfalt von Einflüssen und Ausdrucksformen ist per se noch kein Wert. In diesem Sinne eklektische Alben, die von allem ein bisschen präsentieren und letztlich wie das Anpreisen eines großen Sortiments wirken, gibt es zuhauf. Hier aber geht es nicht um ein „Seht und hört her, wie breit ich aufgestellt bin!“. Es ist die Produktion einer Musikerin, die genauso traditionsverbunden wie offen für Neues ist. Joo Kraus, Rhani Krija und Max Mutzke kannte Marialy bereits – und sie spielen mit einer Frische, als ob es ihr erstes Aufeinandertreffen gewesen wäre. Die Duette mit Hamilton de Holanda, Miguel Zenon und Omar Sosa waren erste Begegnungen. Dass auch sie wie langjährige Freunde klingen, spricht Bände. Marialy Pacheco praktiziert mit Duets die intimste, direkteste und konzentrierteste Form musikalischen Austausches. Und stößt dabei die Tür weit auf, ganz weit auf."

Marialy Pacheco, Klavier (Bösendorfer Imperial)
Omar Sosa, Klavier, Gesang
Hamilton de Holanda, Mandoline
Joo Kraus, Trompete
Max Mutzke, Gesang
Rhani Krija, Percussion
Miguel Zenon, Saxophon




Marialy Pacheco
belongs to the most talented Cuban musicians of her generation. At age 29 she has achieved enormous success in the world of jazz including the first woman to be awarded 1st prize at the 2012 solo piano competition at the Montreux Jazz Festival, 1st place in the Cuban Jazz competition “Jo Jazz” plus numerous awards for her original compositions. She has released 5 albums under her own name with 2 new releases due by the end of 2012. Marialy has toured extensively solo and with her trio throughout Australia, Asia and Europe and shared the stage with world class musicians including Tommy Emmanuel, James Morrison and Karl Perazzo.

Booklet for Duets

Logo SSL Certificate
© 2010-2017 HIGHRESAUDIO