Treasures Trio Lirico

Cover Treasures

Album info



Label: audite Musikproduktion

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Trio Lirico

Composer: Eugene Ysaye (1858-1931), Peter Eötvös (1944), Zoltan Kodaly (1882-1967), Ernst von Dohnanyi (1877-1960)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Eugène Ysaÿe (1858 - 1931): String Trio "Le Chimay":
  • 1Ysaÿe: String Trio "Le Chimay"18:14
  • Péter Eötvös (b. 1944): String Trio (In memoriam Christophe Desjardins):
  • 2Eötvös: String Trio (In memoriam Christophe Desjardins)06:41
  • Zoltán Kodály (1882 - 1967): Intermezzo for String Trio:
  • 3Kódaly: Intermezzo for String Trio04:29
  • Ernst von Dohnányi (1877 - 1960): Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10:
  • 4Dohnányi: Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10: I. Allegro02:03
  • 5Dohnányi: Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10: II. Adagio non troppo, quasi Andante03:47
  • 6Dohnányi: Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10: III. Vivace04:19
  • 7Dohnányi: Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10: IV. Thema con variazioni. Andante con Moto07:12
  • 8Dohnányi: Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10: V. Allegro Vivace04:05
  • Total Runtime50:50

Info for Treasures

Rarely heard works for string trio from the early twentieth and twenty-first centuries, assembled by the Trio Lirico for their latest recording. Different musical styles and cultures are on offer: as well as late romantic to modernist music by Eugène Ysaÿe, Ernst von Dohnányi and Zoltán Kodály, this album also presents a string trio by Péter Eötvös composed in 2020 – an impressive commemorative work.

The repertoire for string trio is comparatively narrow; however, in addition to the renowned works of Mozart, Beethoven or Reger, it also holds surprises, new discoveries and new compositions. When selecting the music for this recording, the Trio Lirico ventured off the beaten track, opening up a broad stylistic and expressive spectrum with early twentieth century works from Belgium and Hungary by Eugène Ysaÿe, Ernst von Dohnányi and Zoltán Kodály, showcasing impressionistic elements as well as folkloristic moments. A string trio by Péter Eötvös completes the programme: a haunting commemorative composition featuring a multitude of different playing techniques, modes of expression and soundscapes. The composer himself regards Trio Lirico's interpretation as authentic and exemplary.

Trio Lirico

Trio Lirico
The three musicians of the Trio Lirico are connected by their passion for chamber music. They also pursue their careers as soloists. This soloistic influence on their chamber music is a hallmark of the ensemble, since the chamber musical dialogue is upheld with soloistic passion, three strong personalities “converse” on equal footing while maintaining their individuality, without neglecting the homogeneity of the ensemble. This results in a unique combination of temperament, musical enthusiasm and delightful anticipation. A soulful, nuanced string-sound and the successful combination of faithfulness to style and personal touch in the interpretations add to this. All of the above lead to the successful establishment of the Trio Lirico already shortly after its formation in 2014. The broad repertoire of the ensemble ranges from classic to contemporary works. Additionally, the inclusion of string duos in the concerts adds allure to the concerts.

To commemorate the hundredth death anniversary of Max Reger, the Trio Lirico recorded their debut-album with the label Audite, which was released in September 2017

Booklet for Treasures

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO