Cover Beethoven: Works for Piano

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,50
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15:
  • 1Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: I. Allegro con brio14:08
  • 2Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: II. Largo10:29
  • 3Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: III. Rondo. Allegro08:41
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19:
  • 4Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: I. Allegro con brio14:23
  • 5Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: II. Adagio09:48
  • 6Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: III. Rondo. Molto allegro06:00
  • Rondo in B-Flat Major, WoO 6
  • 7Rondo in B-Flat Major, WoO 610:04
  • Total Runtime01:13:33

Info zu Beethoven: Works for Piano

Beethoven’s first two piano concertos share an abundance of lyric and virtuosic qualities. Concerto No. 1 in C major is expansive and richly orchestrated with a sublime slow movement that is tender and ardent, and a finale full of inventive humour. Concerto No. 2 in B flat major marries energy with elegance, reserving poetic breadth for its slow movement and quirky wit for the finale. Also included is the jovial Rondo, WoO 6, which Beethoven originally intended to be the finale of Concerto No. 2.

Boris Giltburg, piano
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

Boris Giltburg
Born in 1984 in Moscow, Boris Giltburg moved to Tel Aviv at an early age, studying with his mother and then with Arie Vardi. In 2013 he won first prize at the Queen Elisabeth Competition, catapulting his career to a new level. In 2015 he began a long-term recording plan with Naxos Records.

Having taken the second (and audience) prize at the Rubinstein in 2011, Giltburg has appeared with many leading orchestras such as Philharmonia Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic, DSO Berlin, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Swedish Radio Symphony, Danish Radio Symphony, St Petersburg Philharmonic and Baltimore Symphony. He made his BBC Proms debut in 2010 and has toured regularly to South America and China, and has also toured Germany with the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse. He has played recitals in leading venues such as Leipzig Gewandhaus, Tokyo Toppan Hall, Bozar Brussels, London Southbank Centre, Louvre, and Amsterdam Concertgebouw.

Last season’s highlights included several appearances at Rotterdam De Doelen (beginning with a return to the Rotterdam Philharmonic under Jukka-Pekka Saraste), debut with Monte-Carlo Philharmonic with Krivine, and chamber music with the Takács Quartet and Pavel Haas Quartet. He was re-invited to Seattle Symphony (Dausgaard), Brussels Philharmonic (Denève), Royal Liverpool Philharmonic (Petrenko), and Royal Scottish National Orchestra (Prieto) – with whom he played 7 concerts as part of their Rachmaninov series. He has also worked with conductors such as Alsop, Belohlávek, Brabbins, De Waart, Dohnanyi, Fedoseyev, Gimeno, Neeme Jaervi, Karabits, Lintu, Shelley, Sinaisky, Skrowaczewski, Sokhiev and Tortelier.

In 2016/17, Giltburg appears for the first time with Nashville Symphony (under Music Director Giancarlo Guerrero), Oslo Philharmonic and Helsinki Philharmonic, and makes his Australian debut in Spring 17 with Adelaide Symphony and Tasmanian Symphony. He returns to Orchestre National de Belgique this season, and plays the AIDS gala with Munich Chamber Orchestra. Recital highlights include Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam Muziekgebouw, Wigmore Hall, Hamburg Laeiszhalle and Beijing Forbidden City Concert Hall.

Having initially appeared on the EMI Debut label some years ago, in 2012 Giltburg released an acclaimed CD of Prokofiev War Sonatas on Orchid Classics, earning him a place on the shortlist for the critics’ award at the Classical Brits. His Romantic Sonatas disc (Rachmaninov, Liszt, Grieg) followed in 2013. His first solo releases on Naxos (Schumann and Beethoven) prompted enthusiastic reviews, and his latest Rachmaninov CD was named Gramophone’s Disc of the Month:

"this vision will place him among the truly memorable Rachmaninov interpreters, an elect including Moiseiwitsch, Horowitz, Kappel, Richter and Cliburn. His originality stems from a convergence of heart and mind, served by immaculate technique and motivated by a deep and abiding love for one of the 20th century’s greatest composerpianists." (Gramophone, May 2016)

Boris is an avid amateur photographer and blogger, writing about classical music for a non-specialist audience.

Booklet für Beethoven: Works for Piano

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO