Piano Works Vol. 1 (Floating in Tucker's Basement) Peter Broderick

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Erased Tapes

Genre: Instrumental

Subgenre: Piano

Interpret: Peter Broderick

Komponist: Peter Broderick

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 14,90
  • Peter Broderick (b. 1987): Sonata for the Sirius:
  • 1Broderick: Sonata for the Sirius04:18
  • A Snowflake:
  • 2Broderick: A Snowflake02:53
  • Diverge:
  • 3Broderick: Diverge03:12
  • Pulling the Rain:
  • 4Broderick: Pulling the Rain05:28
  • Low Light:
  • 5Broderick: Low Light03:28
  • Bernard & Elba's Waltz:
  • 6Broderick: Bernard & Elba's Waltz04:38
  • Under the Bridge:
  • 7Broderick: Under the Bridge04:10
  • Moment:
  • 8Broderick: Moment02:07
  • Query:
  • 9Broderick: Query02:28
  • It's a Storm When I Sleep:
  • 10Broderick: It's a Storm When I Sleep06:55
  • Eyes Closed and Traveling:
  • 11Broderick: Eyes Closed and Traveling03:32
  • Planes (Solo):
  • 12Broderick: Planes (Solo)04:44
  • Ceasefire:
  • 13Broderick: Ceasefire03:48
  • Carried:
  • 14Broderick: Carried05:30
  • Laden:
  • 15Broderick: Laden03:51
  • Three Floats:
  • 16Broderick: Three Floats03:55
  • Up Niek Mountain:
  • 17Broderick: Up Niek Mountain06:10
  • Conspiraling:
  • 18Broderick: Conspiraling04:48
  • When I'm Gone:
  • 19Broderick: When I'm Gone03:55
  • Dearest:
  • 20Broderick: Dearest03:03
  • Total Runtime01:22:53

Info zu Piano Works Vol. 1 (Floating in Tucker's Basement)

Ireland based American songsmith Peter Broderick releases Piano Works Vol. 1 (Floating in Tucker’s Basement) — a new comprehensive album, sharing first offering ‘Sonata for the Sirius’. Shining a light on the artist’s ongoing piano-based compositions, this release offers an opportunity to celebrate his more intimate work.

A comprehensive collection of Peter Broderick’s piano work to date, these recordings were originally captured in Berlin to accompany the 2017 sheet music book Piano Works Vol. 1. The book contains 20 pieces for solo piano and a download code to access new recordings of all 20 pieces. Up until now, the only way to hear these recordings was to purchase the sheet music book.

This release sees the original recordings receiving further treatment and processing by Tucker Martine in the customised echo chamber of his studio in Portland, Oregon—the region where Broderick grew up. The clean and unaffected original recordings were intended for educational purposes, so for this release Erased Tapes founder Robert Raths suggested to ‘throw the recordings into the well’, for a more dynamic and conscious listening experience.

“We gave these recordings a bit of a makeover. We sent all the tracks over to legendary engineer/producer Tucker Martine, who processed all 20 of them with unique tape and reverb treatments, utilising the echo chamber of his Portland studio, Flora Recording & Playback,” explains Broderick.

Now these recordings are set to be released on double vinyl, double CD and all digital platforms. The opening piece and lead single Sonata for the Sirius is the only composition in this entire collection which cannot be found on any other release.

“It was during a stint as Artist in Residence at the Sirius Arts Centre in Cobh, Ireland that I began to take stock of all my piano compositions to date. Late into the night I would sit at the piano, trying to recall all that I’ve written on the instrument over the years, transcribing and notating these compositions for the first time, getting them out of my head and onto paper. At some point during this process a new piece emerged. Sonata for the Sirius seemed an apt title, in its homage to the place where it was written, but also in the greater context of Sirius — a star ridden with myth. Not to mention the fact that ‘Sirius’ comes out the mouth like ‘serious’, and the idea of a Sonata for the Serious, in my mind, is rather hilarious.”

Peter Broderick, piano

Peter Broderick
born 1987 is an American born multi-instrumentalist and singer. In his later teenage years he became entwined in the Portland (Oregon) indie folk scene, recording for the likes of M. Ward, Laura Gibson and Dolorean. 2007 saw him moving across the ocean to Denmark, where he began a long collaboration with the band Efterklang, touring the world with them for the next five years. Meanwhile he recorded several albums of solo material, ranging from sparse classical compositions (Float) to homemade folk music (Home), constantly experimenting with different musical genres, and also being commissioned to write music for several films and contemporary dance works. He then lived in Berlin for several years where he met and collaborated with Nils Frahm, Dustin O'Halloran and several others. He now lives back in America, near where he grew up, and continues to travel the world performing solo concerts and collaborating with a vast array of different musicians and artists.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO