Bavouzet Plays Schumann Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Cover Bavouzet Plays Schumann

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Interpret: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Komponist: Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 12,40
  • Vladimir Horowitz (1903 - 1989), Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14 "Concerto Without Orchestra" (Arr. V. Horowitz for Piano):
  • 1Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14 "Concerto Without Orchestra" (Arr. V. Horowitz for Piano): I. Allegro07:58
  • 2Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14 "Concerto Without Orchestra" (Arr. V. Horowitz for Piano): II. Scherzo. Molto commodo06:09
  • 3Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14 "Concerto Without Orchestra" (Arr. V. Horowitz for Piano): III. Quasi variazioni. Andantino de Clara Wieck07:39
  • 4Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14 "Concerto Without Orchestra" (Arr. V. Horowitz for Piano): IV. Prestissimo possibile07:20
  • Robert Schumann: Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26:
  • 5Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: I. Allegro. Sehr lebhaft09:16
  • 6Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: II. Romanze. Ziemlich langsam02:23
  • 7Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: III. Scherzino02:05
  • 8Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: IV. Intermezzo. Mit größter Energie01:56
  • 9Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26: V. Finale. Höchst lebhaft05:40
  • 3 Fantasiestücke, Op. 111:
  • 103 Fantasiestücke, Op. 111: No. 1, Sehr rasch, mit leidenschaftlichem Vortrag02:16
  • 113 Fantasiestücke, Op. 111: No. 2, Ziemlich langsam05:22
  • 123 Fantasiestücke, Op. 111: No. 3, Kräftig und sehr markiert03:33
  • Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133:
  • 13Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133: No. 1, Im ruhigen Tempo02:46
  • 14Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133: No. 2, Belebt, nicht zu rasch01:49
  • 15Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133: No. 3, Lebhaft02:18
  • 16Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133: No. 4, Bewegt02:07
  • 17Gesänge der Frühe, Op. 133: No. 5, Im Anfange ruhiges, im Verlauf bewegtes Tempo03:16
  • Total Runtime01:13:53

Info zu Bavouzet Plays Schumann

Following his recent acclaimed recordings of Haydn and Beethoven Sonatas, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet turns from the Classical to the Romantic era, and the works of Schumann. The programme is built around the Grand Sonata (no.3). This impressive, large-scale work was originally composed in 1834, later revised in 1853 and eventually premiered (6 years after the composer’s death) by Schumann’s young protégé Johannes Brahms. Jean-Efflam first discovered the work though a recording by Vladimir Horovitz in the 1980s, and got to play it to and discuss the work with Horowitz in Paris in 1985. Like Horovitz before him, Jean-Efflam combines elements from both the original and revised versions of the work on this recording. Bavouzet has chosen to couple this with another early work – the “Faschinsschwank aus Wein” – and then the much later work the “Drei Fantasiestücke”. He closes with the 'Gesange der Frühe' which were among the last compositions that Schumann wrote before his attempted suicide and incarceration in February 1854. As always with Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s albums, the booklet features an insightful personal note by the performer.

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, piano

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet combines a rare elegance and clarity in his playing with deep and thoughtful musicality, for which he continues to win the highest acclaim from both critics and audiences.

Recent engagements for Bavouzet have included appearances with the London Symphony Orchestra, The Cleveland and Philharmonia orchestras, and the New Japan Philharmonic. He also premiered Bruno Mantovani’s Piano Concerto with Orchestre National de Lille.

Highlights of his 2010/11 season include performances with Philharmonia and BBC Symphony orchestras and make debut appearances with the London Philharmonic and City of Birmingham Symphony orchestras, and the Sydney Symphony with Vladimir Ashkenazy. In spring 2011 he will tour the US with the Orchestre National de France and Daniele Gatti.

An exclusive Chandos recording artist, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet’s discography includes a cycle of Debussy’s complete works for piano, which has been recognised by many international awards, not least of which a Gramophone and a BBC Music Magazine awards in 2009. His most recently released recording of Bartók’s Piano Concertos with the BBC Philharmonic has already received great acclaim.

Booklet für Bavouzet Plays Schumann

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO