Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 44.1 $ 13,50
  • 1Sleeping Dogs03:51
  • 2Can't Wait Any Longer03:36
  • 3Let's Roll04:17
  • 4Tell Her You Love Her04:58
  • 5Here Comes the Rain Again04:14
  • 6Love Revolution03:37
  • 7River of Time05:41
  • 8Turn of the Wheel03:10
  • 9Down the Road02:44
  • 10Keep on Holding04:07
  • 11Down in Gypsy03:13
  • 12Without You03:41
  • 13Waiting on a Train04:47
  • 14Headed South05:07
  • Total Runtime57:03

Info zu First Set

When red dirt pioneer Tom Skinner passed away his dying wish was that his Science Project band be continued. Skinner’s longtime performing partner multi-instrumentalist Don Morris took up the mantle to become the band leader. Filling out the group is guitarist Brad James, drummer Rick Gomez, & bassist Dylan Layton.

Each band member has a lengthy resume, with Morris having played with many of the region’s best including Jana Jae, Brandon Jenkins, & the Red Dirt Rangers. James has played with Medicine Show, the Organic Boogie Band, Steve Pryor & also with Jenkins. Layton has played with Whirligig, & also with both Pryor, & Jenkins. Gomez has drummed for Jana Jae, the Red Dirt Rangers, Roy Clark, Reba McEntire & with the bands Okie Soul, & Tweed.

Under Skinner’s leadership the Wednesday Night Science Project existed for some 15 years. Don Morris subsequently kept Science going for another 5 before Covid interrupted their run. Currently the Science Project has resumed playing every other Wednesday at the Colony bar in midtown. Morris says every Science Project performance takes place "in the spirit of Tom." Think of Tom Skinner’s Science Project as carrying on the founder’s name in the same way jazz legends Duke Elligton & Count Basie each had their orchestras continue long after their passing.

It’s with great pride that the Tom Skinner’s Science Project band recently completed their new album, “First Set”. Along with several great songs written by Morris, there are a tune each from James & Gomez, & a few covers including one from Brandon Jenkins. Filling out the band’s sound on the record are many special guests like John Fullbright, Roger Ray, & Gene Williams. Tom Skinner’s already considerable legacy is further enhanced by this new album bearing his name & some of his songwriting.

Don Morris, acoustic guitar, vocals
Dylan Layton, bass
Brad James, guitar
Rick Gomez, drums
Special guests:
John Fullbright, piano, guitar
Roger Ray, keyboards, guitar
Gene Williams, guitars
Andrea Kyle, backing vocals, guitar
Kristin Ruyle, backing vocals

Tom Skinner (1954-2015)
London based drummer, composer and producer Tom Skinner has been a vital and central figure in the burgeoning underground music scene in London throughout the last 20 years. From his early days in Tomorrows Warriors, forming the band Jade Fox with school friends Tom Herbert and Dave Okumu, through to touring and recording with Zero 7, Matthew Herbert, Floating Points, Eska and Mulatu Astatke, Tom is constantly evolving across a broad spectrum of music, ever pushing his musical limits in different directions, always on the hunt for new sounds inspired by the music, people and places he’s found along the way.

In 2012, Tom released his debut self-titled solo record under the alias Hello Skinny to critical acclaim, MOJO Magazine describing it as “…existing in that fertile zone where jazz, dub, techno and avant-pop deliquesce into an exhilarating free-for-all.” The second Hello Skinny album Watermelon Sun, released on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood label in 2017, featured a collaboration with acclaimed veteran New York composer and trombonist Peter Zummo.

Tom is an original member of award winning band Sons Of Kemet alongside band-leader and frequent collaborator Shabaka Hutchings. Their third album Your Queen Is A Reptile [Impulse! 2018] garnered worldwide critical acclaim including a Mercury Prize 2018 nomination. Their latest album Black To The Future [Impulse! 2021] has been met with rave reviews, NME giving it 5 stars, claiming the album to be the band at their “most dynamic and urgent”.

Tom works regularly with legendary grime MC Kano, featuring on his 2016 Mercury Prize nominated album Made In The Manor and forming an integral part of Kano’s live band. He is also a third of London jazz trio Wildflower, alongside bassist Leon Brichard and saxophonist Idris Rahman as well as a founding member of the Owiny Sigoma Band, an inter-continental collaboration between musicians from London and Kenya’s Luo tribe.

In addition to his illustrious career in creating and performing music, Tom has curated his own bi-monthly live music night at The Pickle Factory in East London and hosts a monthly radio show on Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM.

Tom has performed and recorded with many notable musicians such as Jonny Greenwood, Graham Coxon, Grace Jones, Jarvis Cocker, Joy Crookes, Melt Yourself Down, Matthew Herbert, Zero 7, Floating Points, Beth Orton, Eska, Mulatu Astatke, The Invisible, John Surman, Batida, Alexander Hawkins, Byron Wallen, Steve Beresford, Toshio Matsuura and many more.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO