Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Navona

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Interpret: Ovidiu Marinescu, London Symphony Orchestra & Miran Vaupotić

Komponist: Marvin Lamb (1946), John Robertson (1943), Katherine Price (1992), Joanna Estelle (1950), Diane Jones, L Peter Deutsch, Keith Kramer, Arthur Gottschalk, Ovidiu Marinescu

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,20
  • Marvin Lamb (b. 1946): Sarabande for Cello and Orchestra:
  • 1Lamb: Sarabande for Cello and Orchestra05:50
  • John Robertson (b. 1943): Celebratory Music:
  • 2Robertson: Celebratory Music05:45
  • Katherine Price (b. 1992): The Two-headed Calf:
  • 3Price: The Two-headed Calf03:57
  • Joanna Estelle (b. 1950): I Am My Home:
  • 4Estelle: I Am My Home05:34
  • Diane Jones (b. 1965): Soul Dance:
  • 5Jones: Soul Dance05:31
  • L Peter Deutsch: The Forest Stream:
  • 6Deutsch: The Forest Stream05:47
  • Keith Kramer: Luce del Sole:
  • 7Kramer: Luce del Sole06:19
  • Arthur Gottschalk (b. 1952): Brunetti Meditations:
  • 8Gottschalk: Brunetti Meditations08:40
  • Total Runtime47:23

Info zu London Cello Connection

Eight exceptional composers, eight premiere recordings with a legendary orchestra, and one spectacular soloist: LONDON CELLO CONNECTION is a captivating compendium of contemporary compositions by celebrated cellist Ovidiu Marinescu and the London Symphony Orchestra with conductor Miran Vaupotić.

Marinescu’s emotive, lush sound and superb technical command provides the continuous thread throughout the program, from the elegant “Sarabande” by Marvin Lamb to Arthur Gottschalk’s regal “Brunetti Meditations” to the shimmering, pulsing “Soul Dance” of Diane Jones, connecting and contrasting each of these works and others by John Robertson, Katherine Price, Joanna Estelle, L Peter Deutsch, and Keith Kramer.

Recorded in June 2022 at the LSO’s St. Luke’s Church, the historic site on London’s Old Street which dates to 1733 and was restored to become home to the orchestra’s recording, community, and music education programs.

Ovidiu Marinescu, cello
London Symphony Orchestra
Miran Vaupotić, conductor

Miran Vaupotić
Acclaimed as “dynamic and knowledgeable” by the Buenos Aires Herald, Croatian conductor Miran Vaupotić has worked with eminent orchestras including the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the Berliner Symphoniker, the Russian National Orchestra, the Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra MÁV, Orchestre de Chambre de Genève, the Cairo Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional Argentina, and others, performing in major halls around the globe such as Carnegie Hall, Wiener Musikverein, Berliner Philharmonie, Rudolfinum, Smetana Hall, Victoria Hall, Forbidden City Concert Hall, Shanghai Oriental Art Center, Dubai Opera, Tchaikovsky Hall, International House of Music, CBC Glenn Gould Studio, and more.

A strong advocate for new music, Vaupotić has premiered many pieces including Carlos Franzetti’s Clarinet Concerto, Roberto Di Marino’s Guitar Concerto, Primous Fountain’s Symphony No. 2, commissioned by famous American producer Quincy Jones, and most recently, New York Times bestselling author Dan Brown’s Wild Symphony.

As a recording artist, Vaupotić has released albums with Naxos, Classic Concert Records, and Navona Records. In 2015 he was honored with the Gold Medal at the Global Music Awards in California. Vaupotić won First Prize at the 12th International Aram Khachaturian Conducting Competition in Yerevan, Armenia. Today, he is the Chief Conductor of the Croatian Chamber Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Piazzolla Music Competition, Project Director at PARMA Recordings, and Chief Conductor of the South Czech Philharmonic.

London Symphony Orchestra
Widely acclaimed by audiences and critics alike, The London Symphony Orchestra was named by Gramophone as one of the top five orchestras in the world.

A world-leader in recording music for film, television, and events, it was the official orchestra of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games ceremonies, memorably performing Chariots of Fire on stage in the opening ceremony, conducted by Simon Rattle and with Rowan Atkinson. The LSO has also recorded music for films including Philomena, The Monuments Men, four of the Harry Potter movies including The Deathly Hallows Parts I and II, The Queen, The Ides of March, Star Wars Episodes I–VI, Superman, Nanny McPhee, and hundreds more.

The LSO is set apart from other international orchestras by the depth of its commitment to music education, reaching over 65,000 people each year. Their Discovery program enables the orchestra to offer people of all ages opportunities to get involved in music-making and to enter the extraordinary sound world of the orchestra.

Recent projects include LSO On Track, a long-standing venture involving young musicians from across East London, which has given a platform to talented teenagers to appear in the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympic Games, at outdoor concerts in Trafalgar Square, on Abbey Road recordings side-by-side with LSO musicians, and LSO Sing, a program of singing activities designed to draw in singers of all ages and abilities.

With long-standing relationships with some of the leading musicians in the world — Bernard Haitink, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Mitsuko Uchida and Maria João Pires, amongst others — the orchestra is self-governing and made up of nearly a hundred talented players who also perform regularly as soloists and in chamber groups at LSO St Luke’s.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO