Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 8,90
  • 1If It Can It Will02:54
  • 2Cococloud05:41
  • 3Cellophant02:10
  • 4Sunwise03:13
  • 5Not With Standing03:12
  • 6Recorded For Training And Quality Purposes04:37
  • 7Bristopia03:55
  • 8Rule Of Thumb05:41
  • 9The Second Third06:14
  • 10Tuathal05:00
  • 11The Grand Scheme Of Things04:00
  • Total Runtime46:37

Info zu Bristopia

Following the success of their 2015 album Astronautilus, jazz-rock mavericks Get The Blessing return with their spellbinding new Album 'Bristopia'.

Blending their mutant jazz sensibilities with spacey electronics and post rock atmospheres, 'Bristopia' ventures into new, unexplored territories. From the jagged, interweaving brass patterns of opening track 'If It Can It Will', through the brooding atmosphere of 'Bristopia' and absorbing, haunting melodies of 'Not With Standing', the Bristolian quintet channel subterranean depths and soar from dizzying heights, leading the listener through a complex labyrinth of tangled melodies and sliding soundscapes of dark, immersive production.

Having been conceived, born and raised in Bristol, the band now pay tribute to their hometown with an album that careers around the city's one-way system (not always in the correct direction of travel), darting into some of its hidden alleyways and lesser-known night-time hot-spots, and occasionally just stopping to take in the dizzying vistas of sprawling buildings and distant hilltops.

Enlisting the help of regular / irregular collaborator Adrian Utley, whose guitar-sprayed some strikingly unexpected colours across some of the objects, they then persuaded pedal-steel guitarist Margerethe Bjorklund to add some skilfully applied brushstrokes to the piece.

With this powerful return, Get The Blessing send their sonic transmission deep into the furthest corners of the universe, setting the pace for the current UK Jazz revival, demonstrating that the early pioneers of the scene still have something important to say.

"this outfit will surely recharge the jazz world” (BBC Music Magazine)

“the heavyweights of the contemporary jazz scene” (The Independent)

“cool…stylish…irresistible” (The Telegraph)

Get The Blessing

Get The Blessing
One of the most original and exciting bands to emerge in years, Get The Blessing released their debut album All Is Yes in February 2008 to universal acclaim. Formed by drummer Clive Deamer and bassist Jim Barr of ‘90s trip-hop superstars Portishead, Get The Blessing have stormed onto the scene, taking riffs and rhythms from rock and dance music and artfully welding them onto fearsomely inventive improvisation, winning rave reviews and legions of fans of all ages and tastes along the way. With trumpeter Pete Judge and saxophonist Jake McMurchie completing the line up, Get The Blessing’s rocking tunes and snappy arrangements create a genre-bending blend of sounds that is all their own, flirting slyly with jazz while pounding the dancefloor with their “gloriously powerful sound” (BBC Music Magazine, 5/5).

Get The Blessing formed in 2000 to share a fascination with improvised music, a pathological distrust of chords and a passion for cake and North African cuisine. Although they started out playing Ornette Coleman they steadily began slowly to make music of their own. Their new approach has much in common with the current crop of ‘postjazz’ trailblazers - bands such as EST, Polar Bear and Acoustic Ladyland – but also draws from influences as diverse as the Kings of Leon, Tortoise, Morphine, Elvis Costello, The Ramones, Red Snapper and Albert Ayler, with jazz, rock, punk and avant-garde all colliding in a joyous celebration of sound.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO