Le Flem: Complete Piano Works Giorgio Koukl

Cover Le Flem: Complete Piano Works

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Grand Piano

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 12,80
  • Paul Le Flem (1881-1984):
  • 1Avril06:20
  • 2Vieux calvaire05:19
  • 3Par landes05:11
  • 4Par grèves09:11
  • Le chant des genêts:
  • 5No. 1. Entrée des binious01:55
  • 6No. 2. Vers le soir01:57
  • 7No. 3. Autour d'un conte03:55
  • 8No. 4. Pour bercer02:27
  • 9No. 5. Ronde00:56
  • 7 Pièces enfantines:
  • 10No. 1. Prière01:02
  • 11No. 2. Bastions de sable01:42
  • 12No. 3. Après gronderie01:39
  • 13No. 4. Chatteries01:47
  • 14No. 5. La veille mendiante01:19
  • 15No. 6. La chapelle01:14
  • 16No. 7. Les bigoudens01:03
  • 17Les Korrigans, "Valse Bretonne"04:01
  • 18Pour la main droite01:52
  • 19Mélancolie!03:08
  • 20Éponine et Sabinius (arr. G. Koukl)08:16
  • 21Pavane de Mademoiselle (Style Louis XIV) (version for piano)02:19
  • 22Sommes-nous défendus: Émotions (version for piano)01:43
  • Total Runtime01:08:16

Info zu Le Flem: Complete Piano Works

Paul Le Flem belonged to the Parisian circle of Martinů, Tcherepnin and Tansman, summing up his own music as a fusion of three influences: his native Brittany, Debussy and D’Indy. His career was sadly interrupted by World War I, but the intense poetry of his earlier works reflect the everchanging land and seascapes of Brittany, and the variety of its mysteries and legends from the lighthearted to the disquieting. Of special note among the première recordings on this album are the atonal Pour la main droite, the wartime Mélancolie with its opening and perhaps ironic quotation from La Marseillaise, and Les Korrigans, a waltz inspired by the Korrigan, a magical creature in Breton folklore.

It is a continuing source of amazement to me how many little known composers are ‘unearthed’ and whose music is introduced to a wider public; not just amazement but delight. The music of Paul Le Flem certainly ranks highly in this sphere.

„It is of no surprise that it is Giorgio Koukl who is pianist here since he is a dedicated musical ‘archaeologist’ who ferrets out undeservedly neglected works by equally undeservedly overlooked composers as his recent recordings of Tcherepnin’s complete solo piano music, which I had the privilege of reviewing all 8 discs of, amply demonstrate as well as piano music by Tansman and most recently Arthur Lourié, the second disc of which I eagerly await. He is also a champion of Martinů and he has recorded his complete piano music and concertos as well as his songs with mezzo-soprano Jana Wallingerová. His dogged research is fuelled by commitment to bring this music to the public and this often proves difficult and many others would not be as resolute in pursuing it so music lovers have a great deal to thank him for. Add to this a wondrous lightness of touch which so perfectly suits such elegant music and you have a disc which is valuable on several levels. Core repertoire is of course highly important and fresh approaches to interpretation of all the familiar compositions is always welcome but how refreshing it is to be introduced to someone as interesting yet almost totally unknown as Paul le Flem. I urge you to listen to this captivating music so brilliantly played.“ (MusicWeb International)

Giorgie Kaokl, piano

Giorgio Koukl
is a pianist/harpsichordist and composer who resides in the beautiful town of Lugano, located in the italian-speaking canton of Ticino in southern Switzerland. He was born in Prague, Czechoslovakia (now Czech Republic) in 1953, and studied there at the State Music School and Conservatoire. In 1968 he moved to Switzerland and continued his studies at both the Conservatories of Zürich and Milan (Italy). During this time, he took part in the masterclasses of N. Magalov, J. Fèvrier, R. Firkusny and S. Neuhaus.

Giorgio Koukl is the Prizewinner of many International Music Competitions including those of Ciudad Ibaguè (Colombia), Tolosa (Spain), Viotti (Italy), the H.Rahn competition (Switzerland) and the Aliènor Competition (Washington DC, USA). A truly international performer and composer, Mr. Koukl has given many recitals and concerto performances. His compositions have received first performances in many major European cities, in Asia, and in the United States.

Frequently broadcast both as soloist and a composer, Mr. Koukl has collaborated in all his capacities with such organizations as the BBC London, RTSI Lugano, SRG Zürich, SSR Genève, SFB Berlin, SWF Baden-Baden, WDR Köln, RTHK Hong-Kong, CR Prague, Radio Malta, Radio Vatican, ORF Vienna, NRC Oslo and SF Stuttgart.

Giorgio Koukl is a member of Mensa International. He has recorded for Naxos, ALI Prague, Da Camera Mannheim, Nuova Era Torino, Altri Suoni Lugano, Dynamic Genova, Gasparo USA, and Aulia/Mondo musica-Munich.

Booklet für Le Flem: Complete Piano Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO