Confluence Sean Gibbs

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Ubuntu Music

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Big Band

Interpret: Sean Gibbs

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 44.1 $ 11,00
  • 1Lewis06:26
  • 2New Beginnings05:17
  • 3Gibb It Some More05:57
  • 4Tomorrow Will Come03:37
  • 5Juggling Act07:07
  • 6Hungover Moments Of Clarity05:16
  • Total Runtime33:40

Info zu Confluence

Confluence, the new album from London-based Scottish trumpeter Sean Gibbs, is released on 25 November on Ubuntu Music and is set to be his biggest project to date. The title refers to different aspects of his musical and personal life that came together at the right time to make the album possible, as well as the joyous gathering of seventeen exceptional musicians.

The talented big band is comprised of many leading UK players including Tom Walsh, James Davison and Freddie Gavita (trumpets); James Copus (trumpet/flugelhorn); Tom Dunnett, Kieran McLeod and Richard Foote (trombones); Richard Henry (bass trombone); George Millard (alto/soprano saxophone); James Gardiner-Bateman (alto saxophone); Helena Kay and Riley Stone-Lonergan (tenor saxophones); Chris Maddock (baritone saxophone); Rob Brockway (piano); Calum Gourlay (bass) and Jay Davis (drums).

Commenting on the music, Gibbs said: “I wrote with the specific players in mind, and it was incredibly rewarding to hear what they brought to my compositions. I wanted to stay true to the fundamentals that resonate with me - lyrical melodies, hearty grooves and a deep connection to the blues. Having a world class 17-piece band to work with brought these concepts to new heights and opened up so many more possibilities.”

Sean Gibbs, solo trumpet
Tom Walsh, trumpet
James Davison, trumpet
James Copus, trumpet, flugelhorn
Freddie Gavita, trumpet
Tom Dunnett, trombone
Kieran McLeod, trombone
Richard Foote, trombone
Richard Henry, bass trombone
George Millard, alto- and soprano saxophone
James Gardiner-Bateman, alto saxophone
Helena Kay, tenor saxophone
Riley Stone-Lonergan, tenor saxophone
Chris Maddock, baritone saxophone
Rob Brockway, piano
Calum Gourlay, bass
Jay Davis, drums

Sean Gibbs
is a prominent Scottish jazz trumpet player/composer, now based in London. His new big band album, Confluence, is due for release with Ubuntu Music in November 2022. It features some of the UK’s leading jazz and session musicians, including the likes of Tom Walsh, James Copus, Helena Kay and James Gardiner-Bateman. Sean also leads a quintet, whose critically acclaimed debut album was released with Ubuntu in 2021 and awarded five stars in BBC Music Magazine.

Sean is a member of the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, with which he has performed with guest soloists such as Kurt Elling, Joe Locke, Kenny Washington and Jazzmeia Horn. This has included appearances at some of the world’s most prestigious venues – New York’s Lincoln Center, Tokyo’s Bunka Kaikan and London’s Ronnie Scott’s.

Other groups Sean is a member of include the Calum Gourlay Big Band, Young Pilgrims, Martin Kershaw Octet, Paul Towndrow’s Keywork Orchestra and Mike Fletcher Jazz Orchestra. He has freelanced with a wide range of artists, including the likes of Georgia Cecile, Eliza Carthy, Hannah Williams and Chris Dean’s Syd Lawrence Orchestra. Sean also recently appeared on Daniel Casimir’s celebrated album Boxed In.

Sean is a prolific composer of big band music, including commissions for the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra and Greater Manchester Jazz Orchestra. His compositions have been performed as far afield as the USA, by the University of Miami’s Frost Studio Jazz Band.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO