New Gold Dream - Live From Paisley Abbey Simple Minds

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Someone Somewhere In Summertime (Live From Paisley Abbey)04:56
  • 2Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel (Live From Paisley Abbey)04:53
  • 3Promised You A Miracle (Live From Paisley Abbey)04:20
  • 4Big Sleep (Live From Paisley Abbey)05:05
  • 5Somebody Up There Likes You (Live From Paisley Abbey)05:42
  • 6New Gold Dream (81- 82- 83- 84) [Live From Paisley Abbey]05:35
  • 7Glittering Prize (Live From Paisley Abbey)04:15
  • 8Hunter and the Hunted (Live From Paisley Abbey)05:25
  • 9King Is White and In the Crowd (Live From Paisley Abbey)04:37
  • Total Runtime44:48

Info zu New Gold Dream - Live From Paisley Abbey

Mit "New Gold Dream - Live From Paisley Abbey" zeigen sich die SIMPLE MINDS laut Info "von ihrer besten Seite. Sie erinnern die Menschen daran, warum sie nach 45 Jahren immer noch eine so verehrte Band sind, und warum "New Gold Dream" ein von der Kritik so gelobtes, bahnbrechendes Album ist.

Das Album "New Gold Dream", das im vergangenen Jahr seinen 40. Geburtstag feierte, war der Startschuss für den Durchbruch der SIMPLE MINDS als eine der wichtigsten Kräfte in der Popmusik der 1980er-Jahre und erreichte Platz drei der britischen Albumcharts. In Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Walsh gelang es der Band, den anspruchsvollen, zugänglichen Pop-Sound zu verwirklichen, den sie anstrebte, während sie gleichzeitig ihre Suche nach Experimenten fortsetzte.

Dieser Erfolg spiegelte sich in drei erfolgreichen Singles wider: "Promised You A Miracle", "Glittering Prize" und "Someone, Somewhere (In Summertime)", die Bono von U2 als eine seiner Desert Island Discs auswählte, als er die Band und den Einfluss von "New Gold Dream" auf ihn und U2 würdigte".

"Als es darum ging, einen Veranstaltungsort für die Aufführung von "New Gold Dream" zu finden, wollten wir es an einem Ort in der Nähe tun. Und da die Band aus Glasgow kommt, musste es natürlich irgendwo in der Nähe sein. Aber es musste auch etwas Grandioses sein und etwas, das aus der Norm herausfällt, weil es ein besonderes Album für uns ist. Und da wir die Geschichte von Paisley Abbey kennen und wissen, wie der Ort aussieht, dachten wir, dass dies etwas Besonderes sein würde." (Jim Kerr)

Simple Minds

Simple Minds
Best known in the U.S. for their 1985 number one hit "Don't You (Forget About Me)" from the film The Breakfast Club, Scotland's Simple Minds evolved from a post-punk art rock band influenced by Roxy Music into a grand, epic-sounding pop band along the lines of U2. The band grew out of a Glasgow punk group called Johnny and the Self-Abusers, which featured guitarist Charlie Burchill and lead singer Jim Kerr. The inaugural 1978 lineup of Simple Minds featured a rhythm section of Tony Donald on bass and Brian McGee on drums, plus keyboardist Mick McNeil; Donald was soon replaced by Derek Forbes. Their early albums leaped from one style to another, with Life in a Day consisting mostly of dense, arty pop songs; critical acclaim followed the darker, more experimental art rock of Reel to Real Cacophony and the Euro-disco of Empires and Dance. The group began a transition to a more accessible pop style with the albums Sons and Fascination and Sister Feelings Call, originally issued together and subsequently split up. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) became their first chart album in the U.S., and the tour-shy McGee quit owing to burgeoning popularity, eventually being replaced by Mel Gaynor. Following the Steve Lillywhite-produced Sparkle in the Rain, Jim Kerr married Pretenders lead singer Chrissie Hynde (the two groups had toured together).

After Bryan Ferry rejected the opportunity to sing "Don't You (Forget About Me)," Simple Minds almost did so as well; Kerr was dissatisfied with the song's lyrics, which he regarded as formulaic. His change of heart gave Simple Minds their only American chart-topper, and the song later became an international hit as well; however, Kerr's feelings about the song remained ambivalent, and it did not appear on the follow-up album, Once Upon a Time. This album went gold and reached the U.S. Top Ten, in spite of criticism for its bombastic, over-the-top approach. A live album and the uncompromisingly political Street Fighting Years squandered Simple Minds' commercial momentum, however. By the time the group returned to more personal themes and its straightforward, anthemic rock on 1991's Real Life, personnel changes and audience loss left the group's future viability in doubt. But they weren't totally deterred, however. Kerr and Burchill trudged on, releasing Good News From the Next World in 1995 while the single "She's a River" received moderate airplay. A short tour of North America soon followed, but Simple Minds' direction also quickly faded. They needed a break to clarify their own personal stance in music. Derek Forbes returned for 1998's Néapolis, but that, too, wasn't strong enough to sustain Simple Minds' newfound creativity. Their famed pop songs had diluted a bit; however, the new millennium proved poignant. Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill signed to Eagle Records in early 2001 and constructed their first covers album, Neon Lights, later that fall, paying tribute to Patti Smith, Neil Young, David Bowie, and others. In summer 2002, Kerr and Burchill issued Cry, Simple Minds' first batch of new material since 1995's Good News From the Next World. Our Secrets Are the Same, an album that was intended for release in 2000, saw official release in 2003. An extensive reissue program and live recordings followed. Black and White, a new studio album, appeared in 2005, and the charting Grafitti Soul in 2009 (which saw the return of original drummer Mel Gaynor to the fold). Simple Minds accepted a spot at London's iTunes Festival that year and issued a digital EP of their performance. After a global tour, Simple Minds returned with Big Music in 2014, an album that included two songs co-written with Chvrches' Ian Cook.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO