Copland: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 (Symphonies) BBC Philharmonic Orchestra & John Wilson

Cover Copland: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 (Symphonies)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Interpret: BBC Philharmonic Orchestra & John Wilson

Komponist: Aaron Copland (1900-1990)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 12,40
  • Aaron Copland (1900 - 1990): Symphony for Organ & Orchestra:
  • 1Symphony for Organ & Orchestra: I. Prelude05:25
  • 2Symphony for Organ & Orchestra: II. Scherzo07:09
  • 3Symphony for Organ & Orchestra: III. Finale10:51
  • Orchestral Variations:
  • 4Orchestral Variations: Theme. Grave01:06
  • 5Orchestral Variations: Vars. 1-301:49
  • 6Orchestral Variations: Vars. 4-601:05
  • 7Orchestral Variations: Vars. 7-900:56
  • 8Orchestral Variations: Var. 1000:37
  • 9Orchestral Variations: Var. 1100:53
  • 10Orchestral Variations: Vars. 12-1300:26
  • 11Orchestral Variations: Vars. 14-1701:40
  • 12Orchestral Variations: Vars. 18-2001:41
  • 13Orchestral Variations: Coda. Subito lento moderato02:19
  • Short Symphony "Symphony No. 2":
  • 14Short Symphony "Symphony No. 2": I. Quarter Note = 14404:18
  • 15Short Symphony "Symphony No. 2": II. Half Note = 4405:20
  • 16Short Symphony "Symphony No. 2": III. Quarter Note = 14405:44
  • Symphonic Ode:
  • 17Symphonic Ode: Largamente e maestoso -03:54
  • 18Symphonic Ode: Subito allegro -04:22
  • 19Symphonic Ode: Subito lento e drammatico -04:53
  • 20Symphonic Ode: Subito doppio movimento -01:38
  • 21Symphonic Ode: Più mosso molto ritmico03:28
  • Total Runtime01:09:34

Info zu Copland: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 (Symphonies)

Following a highly successful recording of Copland’s ballet music, John Wilson, a specialist in American music, and the BBC Philharmonic present the first volume of the composer’s complete symphonic output. This unique collection of vivid and energetic pieces highlights Copland’s personal, unorthodox compositional language. The mixture of works of austerity and tense excitement ranges widely, from the twenty Orchestral Variations on an original theme (originally written for piano) to the single-movement controversial Symphonic Ode, a rhythmically complex piece written in its original incarnation for a huge orchestra including eight horns and five trumpets.

The album features also the lesser-known Short Symphony (No. 2) and early Symphony for Organ and Orchestra, in which the solo instrument throughout is closely integrated with the music of the orchestra. The organ soloist is the young Jonathan Scott. Since a highly successful Gershwin concert at the Royal Albert Hall in 2014, he is increasingly acclaimed around the world for his performances of American music.

"This performance is technically superb, John Wilson’s BBC Philharmonic sounding…energised…Wilson’s brass are heroic in the closing stages, and the music’s lighter moments aren’t undersold. But the best work on this disc is the deceptively lightweight Short Symphony…transparently orchestrated, rhythmically fiendish and harmonically approachable, it gets a sharp, witty reading, Copland’s Stravinskian metre changes effortlessly handled." (The Arts Desk)

"This darkly ravishing second volume in John Wilson’s welcome Copland survey for Chandos delves into the nooks and crannies of his orchestral work to find riches aplenty…the high standard is maintained by the BBC Philharmonic throughout, evidenced in the richly textured and concentrated Orchestral Variations…the single-movement Symphonic Ode (1929, revised in 1955) is a thing of bold, bracing beauty played with spirited brio." (Classical Ear)

"Wilson obtains [a] superbly drilled and articulate response from the BBC Philharmonic…an outstanding release" (Gramophone Magazine)

Jonathan Scott, organ
BBC Philharmonic
John Wilson, conductor

John Wilson
is known for the vivid nature of his interpretations and is applauded repeatedly for the rich and colourful sounds that he draws from orchestras in repertoire ranging from the core classical through to the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. An outstanding communicator, Wilson has developed long-term affiliations with many of the UK’s major orchestras and festivals, and is working increasingly at the highest level across Europe and Australia. In 16/17 he became the Associate Guest Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, conducting them regularly across Scotland as well as at the BBC Proms and Aldeburgh Festival.

In 18/19 Wilson returns to the BBC Proms with the London Symphony Orchestra as well as with his own John Wilson Orchestra, and at London’s South Bank he returns to the Philharmonia Orchestra and makes his debut with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Elsewhere in the UK he conducts the BBC Philharmonic, BBC Scottish, City of Birmingham Symphony and Royal Northern Sinfonia and in Europe he returns to the Oslo Philharmonic, Bergen Philharmonic and Swedish Radio Symphony orchestras. Wilson also makes his debut at English National Opera in a new production of Porgy and Bess and in Summer 2019 he returns to Glyndebourne Summer Festival for a new production of Cendrillon.

In recent seasons Wilson has made his debut with many major orchestras including Oslo Philharmonic, Gothenburg Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and further afield he has twice been to Australia to conduct the Sydney Symphony. In 2016 he made his opera debut with Glyndebourne Festival Opera to great critical acclaim, described as a “sensational success” by Opera Magazine, conducting the theatre’s first ever Madama Butterfly in a new production for their autumn tour.

In 1994, Wilson formed his own orchestra, the John Wilson Orchestra, dedicated to performing music from the golden age of Hollywood and Broadway; for the past decade he has been performing with them annually at the BBC Proms and touring regularly across the UK. John Wilson and the John Wilson Orchestra record exclusively for Warner Classics (formerly EMI Classics) and their performances are broadcast regularly on television and radio.

Wilson has a large catalogue of recordings with a range of orchestras. His most recent recordings are three volumes of symphonic works by Copland with the BBC Philharmonic, described by Gramophone as “outstanding”, and two volumes of works by Richard Rodney Bennett with the BBC Scottish Symphony.

Born in Gateshead, England, John Wilson studied composition and conducting at the Royal College of Music where he was taught by Joseph Horovitz and Neil Thomson and where he won all the major conducting prizes and, in 2011, was made a Fellow.

Booklet für Copland: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 (Symphonies)

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO