The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons Christian McBride

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • 1Overture / The Movement Revisited10:43
  • 2Sister Rosa – Prologue03:20
  • 3Sister Rosa06:25
  • 4Rosa Introduces Malcolm03:08
  • 5Brother Malcolm – Prologue02:49
  • 6Brother Malcolm07:35
  • 7Malcolm Introduces Ali01:03
  • 8Ali Speaks02:42
  • 9Rumble in the Jungle05:59
  • 10Rosa Introduces MLK00:40
  • 11Soldiers (I Have a Dream)05:38
  • 12A View from the Mountaintop04:14
  • 13Apotheosis: November 4th, 200810:26
  • Total Runtime01:04:42

Info zu The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons

The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons is culminating documentation of a richly inspired piece – lauding four key figures of the Civil Rights Movement: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X,Rosa Parks and Muhammad Ali.

Marshaling his ever-sharpening skills as a composer, arranger, conductor, musician and lyricist, Christian McBride has created a historically and culturally illuminating five-part suite for an 18-piece big band, chorus and narrators that places the motivating forces as well as the goals of the Civil Rights Movement within a powerfully relevant artistic context. It is a one-from-the-heart project McBride was, apparently, destined to undertake.

This recording of The Movement Revisited marks the addition of a fifth movement, “Apotheosis,” which acknowledges the election of Barack Obama as the first African American President of the United States.

“I think that what is going on with our society right now is that we’re picking up the struggle over civil rights – human rights, really – where we left off at an earlier time in our culture, while also fighting some new battles. So, if ‘The Movement Revisited’ can propel awareness of not just today’s issues, but our history, while pleasing people musically, then it has done its job.” (Christian McBride)

Christian McBride, bass
J.D. Steele, choral arranger, lead vocals on tracks 9, 12
Alicia Olatuja, lead vocals on track 6
Sonia Sanchez, narrates the words of Rosa Parks
Vondie Curtis-Hall, narrates the words of Malcolm X
Dion Graham, narrates the words of Muhammad Ali
Wendell Pierce, narrates the words of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Sonia Sanchez, narrate the words of President Barack Obama
Vondie Curtis-Hall, narrate the words of President Barack Obama
Dion Graham, narrate the words of President Barack Obama
Wendell Pierce, narrate the words of President Barack Obama
Steve Wilson, alto saxophone, flute
Todd Bashore, alto saxophone
Ron Blake, tenor, soprano saxophone
Loren Schoenberg, tenor saxophone
Carl Maraghi, baritone saxophone
Michael Dease, trombone
Steve Davis, trombone
James Burton, trombone
Doug Purviance, bass trombone
Lew Soloff, trumpet
Ron Tooley, trumpet
Frank Greene, trumpet
Freddie Hendrix, trumpet
Darryl Shaw, trumpet
Warren Wolf, vibraphone, tambourine, tympani
Geoffrey Keezer, piano
Terreon Gully, drums

Christian McBride
When Philadelphia-born bassist/bandleader Christian McBride arrived in New York in 1989 as a Juilliard student, he was the “Godchild of the Groove” with unlimited potential.

Christian McBride is a master musician who has appeared on over 300 records. He is easily one of the most accomplished bass players alive, and his resume as a bandleader is also quite impressive. Join us at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola to experience New Jawn, which, translated from Philadelphian, could be described as McBride’s “new joint.” The quartet includes Josh Evans, Nasheet Waits and Marcus Strickland, musicians that are regularly featured at Jazz at Lincoln Center and all over the city both as bandleaders and as sidemen with some of jazz’s biggest names. Fans of McBride’s other small groups will surely love this ensemble, and its unusual two-horns, no-piano lineup gives it a unique flavor. With just bass and drums holding down the rhythm section, McBride and Waits provide as rich and driving a foundation as any group could hope for.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO