Suspensions Chelsea Lane

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 13,20
  • Nico Muhly (b. 1981): Falling Berceuse:
  • 1Muhly: Falling Berceuse02:24
  • Falling Pairs:
  • 2Muhly: Falling Pairs03:53
  • Kate Moore (b. 1979): Spin Bird:
  • 3Moore: Spin Bird03:26
  • Thomas Adès (b. 1971): Souvenir:
  • 4Adès: Souvenir05:36
  • John Cage (1912 - 1992): In a Landscape:
  • 5Cage: In a Landscape09:46
  • Ellis Ludwig-Leone (b. 1989): Processional:
  • 6Ludwig-Leone: Processional02:19
  • Suspension I:
  • 7Ludwig-Leone: Suspension I04:02
  • Suspension II:
  • 8Ludwig-Leone: Suspension II03:44
  • Molly Joyce (b. 1992):
  • 9Joyce: Embodiment06:17
  • Christopher Cerrone (b. 1984): Hoyt-Schermerhorn:
  • 10Cerrone: Hoyt-Schermerhorn07:08
  • Total Runtime48:35

Info zu Suspensions

Chelsea Lane’s debut album Suspensions, released through Better Company Records, draws on contemporary, minimalist-inspired works to explore the theme of “suspensions,” both literal and figurative. Pairing newly commissioned works (by Ellis Ludwig-Leone and Molly Joyce) with Lane’s new transcriptions of existing works by contemporary composers (Thomas Adès, Nico Muhly, and Chris Cerrone), and a few staples of the solo harp repertory (by John Cage and Kate Moore), Suspensions is a delicately balanced, thoughtful debut. The album is a result of Lane’s interest in broadening the harp’s contemporary image: “I sought out new works for this album in order to cast the harp in a new light as a modern, versatile instrument capable of myriad colors, which I hope will ultimately increase its representation in both mainstream and more experimental performance spaces,” says Lane. She emphasizes that this requires a change in emphasis and interpretation as a performer: “I aim through releasing this album to contribute to the redefinition of ‘virtuosic’ pieces by shifting listeners’ attention to the smaller subtleties of musical phrasing and timbre.” While primarily a solo harp album, Lane is joined on piano by Ludwig-Leone (of San Fermin) for his work “Processional,” as well as Nathan Schram (of the Grammy-winning Attacca Quartet) on viola for Ludwig-Leone’s eponymous “Suspensions.”

Chelsea Lane, harp

Chelsea Lane
Brooklyn-based harpist Dr. Chelsea Lane graduated magna cum laude from Yale University with a Bachelor of Arts in Music, completed her Master of Arts in Harp Performance with grote onderscheiding (“high honors”) at the Royal Conservatory in Brussels, and received her D.M.A. in Music Performance from The Graduate Center, CUNY in NYC.

A versatile musician, Dr. Lane is equally at home performing on Broadway in the new, Tony-nominated musical Paradise Square or in the annual Christmas Spectacular Starring the Radio City Rockettes, as she is in classical symphonic settings as a sub for ensembles such as the Czech Philharmonic, The Metropolitan Opera, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, and Wheeling Symphony Orchestra, among others.

As a prizewinner in several national and international competitions, including the American Harp Society’s Young Professional Competition, the Anne Adams Awards, the Minnesota Symphony Orchestra Young Artist Concerto Competition, the Lyon and Healy Awards, and the ASTA National Solo Competition, Dr. Lane is well-equipped to prepare harp students in her private studio and at the university level for musical success. Dr. Lane’s doctoral dissertation “The Feminine Harp as Feminist Tool: Early Professional Footing for Women in Mid-Twentieth-Century America” further informs her teaching as an Adjunct Harp and Music History Lecturer at Rowan University and the College of Staten Island, as well as her innovative solo and chamber concert programming.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO