Cover Schulhoff Concerto doppio - Krenek Concertino - D'Indy Concert

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Maria Prinz, Karl-Heinz Schütz, Christoph Koncz, Robert Nagy, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields & Sir Neville Marriner

Komponist: Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942), Ernst Krenek (1900-1991), Vincent d'Indy (1851-1931)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,20
  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894 - 1942): Concerto doppio, WV 89:
  • 1Schulhoff: Concerto doppio, WV 89: I. Allegro moderato07:59
  • 2Schulhoff: Concerto doppio, WV 89: II. Andante04:50
  • 3Schulhoff: Concerto doppio, WV 89: III. Rondo. Allegro con spirito06:38
  • Ernst Krenek (1900 - 1991): Concertino, Op. 27:
  • 4Krenek: Concertino, Op. 27: I. Toccata. Im Tempo sehr frei08:25
  • 5Krenek: Concertino, Op. 27: II. Sarabande. Largo04:54
  • 6Krenek: Concertino, Op. 27: III. Scherzo. Allegro02:08
  • 7Krenek: Concertino, Op. 27: IV. Air. Molto moderato02:45
  • 8Krenek: Concertino, Op. 27: V. Finale. Allegro moderato03:56
  • Vincent d'Indy (1851 - 1931): Piano Concerto, Op. 89:
  • 9d'Indy: Piano Concerto, Op. 89: I. Modéré, mais bien décidé06:51
  • 10d'Indy: Piano Concerto, Op. 89: II. Lent et expressif09:19
  • 11d'Indy: Piano Concerto, Op. 89: III. Mouvement de Ronde française04:01
  • Total Runtime01:01:46

Info zu Schulhoff Concerto doppio - Krenek Concertino - D'Indy Concert

On this album, we feature the works of three composers - Vincent d'Indy, Ernst Krenek, and Erwin Schulhoff - who all in the mid- to late-1920s adopted neoclassicism and chose to write works in the neo-baroque concerto grosso style, using a combination of a small orchestra and a small group of soloists. D'Indy wrote the Concert, his last orchestral piece, at the age of seventy-five. It combines a lean scoring and strong, lucid instrumental lines with romantic harmonic colouring. The disc also features the world premiere recording of the Concertino that Krenek wrote before he was forced, as a 'degenerate' artist, to leave Austria in 1938. In the Concerto doppio, Schulhoff turns to the concerto grosso because of its affinity with jazz, a musical genre that greatly influenced him, allowing him to break free from more conventional musical forms. The works are performed by the Academy of St Martin in the Fields led by Sir Neville Marriner, who are joined by the flautist Karl-Heinz Schütz, violinist Christoph Koncz, cellist Robert Nagy, and the pianist Maria Prinz who in 2011 came up with the idea behind this album.

Karl-Heinz Schütz, flute
Christoph Koncz, violin
Robert Nagy, cello
Maria Prinz, piano
Academy of St Martin in the Fields
Neville Marriner, direction

The Academy of St Martin in the Fields
is one of the world’s finest chamber orchestras, renowned for fresh, brilliant interpretations of the world’s greatest orchestral music.

Formed by Sir Neville Marriner in 1958 from a group of leading London musicians, the Academy gave its first performance in its namesake church in November 1959. Through unrivalled live performances and a vast recording output – highlights of which include the 1969 best-seller Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and the soundtrack to the Oscar-winning film Amadeus – the Academy quickly gained an enviable international reputation for its distinctive, polished and refined sound. With over 500 releases in a much-vaunted discography and a comprehensive international touring programme, the name and sound of the Academy is known and loved by classical audiences throughout the world.

Today the Academy is led by Music Director and virtuoso violinist Joshua Bell, retaining the collegiate spirit and flexibility of the original small, conductor-less ensemble which has become an Academy hallmark. Under Bell’s direction, and with the support of Leader/Director Tomo Keller and Principal Guest Conductor Murray Perahia, the Academy continues to push the boundaries of play-directed performance to new heights, presenting symphonic repertoire and chamber music on a grand scale at prestigious venues around the globe.

When COVID-19 sparked lockdowns across the globe, the Academy responded by establishing a digital campaign to fund the production of new performance videos as well as launching a new concert series at its spiritual home of St Martin-in-the-Fields in London’s Trafalgar Square. The series – the first of its kind in the orchestra’s home city for many years – saw the Academy collaborate with international artists on concert programmes devised by members of the orchestra.

In June 2022 on Sky Arts UK, the Academy presented A London Dream, a celebration of Mendelssohn’s exquisite interpretation of Shakespeare’s well-loved comedy A Midsummer Night’s Dream, conducted by Ryan Wigglesworth. A London Dream celebrates and champions music and musicians, placing them at the centre of the production, driving the pulse of the narrative, observing, and punctuating key moments with intimate cameos. The film is available on Sky on demand for subscribers, and will be repeated throughout the year. Please visit for the most up to date screening information.

The 2022/23 season will see the Academy continue to frequently appear at London’s St Martin-in-the-Fields, including joining forces with St Martin’s Voices for Christmas and Easter and an Autumn performance of Mozart Requiem and apperences with Johannes Moser and Avi Avital. Internationally, the Autumn/Winter 2022 Season started with a tour of South America and Italy with Joshua Bell, then joining pianist Jan Lisiecki in Helsinki in September. The Academy Chamber String Ensemble returned to the USA for a 10 date Autumn Tour after a performance 4th October at St Martin-in-the-Fields. The Academy concludes a European Tour with Joshua Bell with a performance at Southbank’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, 26th January 2023.

Booklet für Schulhoff Concerto doppio - Krenek Concertino - D'Indy Concert

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO