Cover J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 13

Album info



Label: J.S. Bach-Stiftung

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 16.50
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): BWV 20 O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort
  • 1Part I: Chorale: O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort (Chorus)04:25
  • 2Part I: Recitative: Kein Unglück ist in aller Welt zu finden (Tenor)00:52
  • 3Part I: Aria: Ewigkeit, du machst mir bange (Tenor)02:50
  • 4Part I: Recitative: Gesetzt, es dau'rte der Verdammten Qual (Bass)01:17
  • 5Part I: Aria: Gott ist gerecht in seinen Werken (Bass)03:59
  • 6Part I: Aria: O Mensch, errette deine Seele (Alto)01:45
  • 7Part I: Chorale: Solang ein Gott im Himmel lebt (Chorus)01:32
  • 8Part II: Aria: Wacht auf, wacht auf, verlornen Schafe (Bass)02:35
  • 9Part II: Recitative: Verlaß, o Mensch, die Wollust dieser Welt (Alto)01:21
  • 10Part II: Duet: O Menschenkind, hör auf geschwind (Alto, Tenor)02:24
  • 11Part II: Chorale: O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort (Chorus)01:27
  • BWV 13 Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen
  • 12Aria: Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen (Tenor)07:48
  • 13Recitative: Mein liebster Gott läßt mich annoch (Alto)01:01
  • 14Chorale: Der Gott, der mir hat versprochen (Alto)02:38
  • 15Recitative: Mein Kummer nimmet zu (Soprano)01:11
  • 16Aria: Ächzen und erbärmlich Weinen (Bass)06:31
  • 17Chorale: So sei nun, Seele00:41
  • BWV 103 Ihr werdet weinen und heulen
  • 18Chorale and Arioso: Ihr werdet weinen und heulen (Chorus, Bass)05:06
  • 19Recitative: Wer sollte nicht in Klagen untergehn (Tenor)00:47
  • 20Aria: Kein Arzt ist außer dir zu finden (Alto)04:03
  • 21Recitative: Du wirst mich nach der Angst (Alto)00:39
  • 22Aria: Erholet euch, betrübte Sinnen (Tenor)02:55
  • 23Chorale: Ich hab dich einen Augenblick (Chorus)01:26
  • Total Runtime59:13

Info for J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 13

With the season of Passiontide approaching, we are releasing CD no. 13 featuring three cantatas fitting to the period: 'O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort' BWV 20, 'Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen' BWV 13 and 'Ihr werdet weinen und heulen' BWV 103. Regular attenders of our concerts will no doubt remember these extraordinary cantatas; all belong with question the 'the great works' of the oeuvre, if it is indeed possible to make such distinctions among Bach’s compositions.

Choir and Orchestra of the J. S. Bach Foundation
Rudolf Lutz, conductor

Rudolf Lutz
(1951) is lecturer in improvisation at the “Schola Cantorum Basiliensis”, the University of Early Music, Basle. At this specialist school for historical performance practice, he and three colleagues instruct around 30 students in the keyboard instrument department.

In St. Gallen, Rudolf Lutz is organist of the church “St. Laurenzen Kirche”, a post he has held since 1973. He is also conductor of the “St. Galler Kammerensemble”, which he has led since 1986. From 1986 to 2008, he conducted the “Bach-Chor St. Gallen”.

Rudolf Lutz was appointed artistic director of the J. S. Bach Foundation of St. Gallen in 2006. In view of the foundation’s mission to perform Bach’s complete vocal works, Rudolf Lutz established the Orchestra and Choir of the J. S. Bach Foundation, as well as a permanent group of soloists.

The Choir and Orchestra of the J. S. Bach Foundation was founded by Rudolf Lutz in 2006. The ensemble consists of professional musicians from the whole of Switzerland, southern Germany and Austria. All its members are experienced in historical performance practices and relish the challenge of exploring a contemporary and vital interpretation of Bach's cantatas. The Choir and Orchestra consists of regular members, with extra musicians being engaged according to the demands of the work performed. The choir's size varies in the range of up to 40 voices, and is made up of young professional singers. Individual members receive the opportunity to take on solo roles from time to time.

Conducted by Rudolf Lutz, the Choir and Orchestra has been performing Bach’s cantatas in a monthly concert cycle since October 2006. Throughout the ongoing work of this project, it has continually developed and matured. Today, the ensemble is distinguished by its homogenous, yet flexible sound and its wealth of experience in the interpretation of Bach’s works. The quality and of vitality of its performances have garnered the group notable critical acclaim. In recent years, the Choir and Orchestra has ventured beyond its home concert hall in Trogen, Switzerland, and now gives regular concerts both nationally and internationally.

Booklet for J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 13

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO