Cover J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 14

Album info



Label: J.S. Bach-Stiftung

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.00
  • 1Preise, Jerusalem, den Herrn04:41
  • 2Recitative. Gesegnet Land! Glückselge Stadt!01:24
  • 3Aria. Wohl dir, du Volk der Linden03:50
  • 4Recitative. So herrlich stehst du, liebe Stadt!01:55
  • 5Aria. Die Obrigkeit ist Gottes Gabe02:43
  • 6Recitative. Nun! Wir erkennen es und bringen dir00:53
  • 7Chorus. Der Herr hat Guts an uns getan05:44
  • 8Recitative. Zuletzt! Da du uns, Herr00:43
  • 9Chorale. Hilf deinem Volk, Herr Jesu Christ00:54
  • 10Recitative. Zuletzt! Da du uns, Herr (Reprise)00:43
  • 11Chorale. Hilf deinem Volk, Herr Jesu Christ (Arr. T. Leininger)01:10
  • 12Aria. Nur jedem das Seine!04:14
  • 13Recitative. Du bist, mein Gott01:38
  • 14Aria. Laß mein Herz die Münze sein03:01
  • 15Recitative. Ich wollte dir02:33
  • 16Aria. Nimm mich mir und gib mich dir!02:29
  • 17Chorale. Führ auch mein Herz und Sinn00:39
  • 18Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten06:00
  • 19Recitative. Was helfen uns die schweren Sorgen?02:05
  • 20Aria. Man halte nur ein wenig stille02:40
  • 21Duet. Er kennt die rechten Freudestunden02:40
  • 22Recitative. Denk nicht in deiner Drangsalshitze02:33
  • 23Aria. Ich will auf den Herren schaun02:18
  • 24Chorale. Sing, bet und geh aug Gottes Wegen01:04
  • Total Runtime58:34

Info for J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 14

Three further live recordings highlight the release of Vol. 14 in the Bach Kantaten series from the J.S. Bach Stiftung: from the Evangelische Kirche Trogen (BWV 163 [Nur jedem das Seine!] and 93 [Wer nur den lieben Gott Lässt walten]) and from the Kirche St. Peter Zürich (BWV 119 [Preise, Jerusalem, den Herrn]). The Choir & Orchestra of the J.S. Bach Foundation perform on historical instruments under Rudolf Lutz. The enclosed booklet includes the German cantata texts as well as introductory essays and musicological insights by Dr. Anselm Hartinger and Rudolf Lutz in English and German.

Maria Weber, soprano
Miriam Feuersinger, soprano
Bernhard Berchtold, tenor
Julius Pfeifer, tenor
Johannes Kaleschke, tenor
Jan Börner, alto
Margot Oitzinger, alto
Markus Volpert, bass
Matthias Helm, bass
J.S. Bach Foundation Choir
J.S. Bach Foundation Orchestra
Rudolf Lutz, musical director

Rudolf Lutz
(1951) is lecturer in improvisation at the “Schola Cantorum Basiliensis”, the University of Early Music, Basle. At this specialist school for historical performance practice, he and three colleagues instruct around 30 students in the keyboard instrument department.

In St. Gallen, Rudolf Lutz is organist of the church “St. Laurenzen Kirche”, a post he has held since 1973. He is also conductor of the “St. Galler Kammerensemble”, which he has led since 1986. From 1986 to 2008, he conducted the “Bach-Chor St. Gallen”.

Rudolf Lutz was appointed artistic director of the J. S. Bach Foundation of St. Gallen in 2006. In view of the foundation’s mission to perform Bach’s complete vocal works, Rudolf Lutz established the Orchestra and Choir of the J. S. Bach Foundation, as well as a permanent group of soloists.

The Choir and Orchestra of the J. S. Bach Foundation was founded by Rudolf Lutz in 2006. The ensemble consists of professional musicians from the whole of Switzerland, southern Germany and Austria. All its members are experienced in historical performance practices and relish the challenge of exploring a contemporary and vital interpretation of Bach's cantatas. The Choir and Orchestra consists of regular members, with extra musicians being engaged according to the demands of the work performed. The choir's size varies in the range of up to 40 voices, and is made up of young professional singers. Individual members receive the opportunity to take on solo roles from time to time.

Conducted by Rudolf Lutz, the Choir and Orchestra has been performing Bach’s cantatas in a monthly concert cycle since October 2006. Throughout the ongoing work of this project, it has continually developed and matured. Today, the ensemble is distinguished by its homogenous, yet flexible sound and its wealth of experience in the interpretation of Bach’s works. The quality and of vitality of its performances have garnered the group notable critical acclaim. In recent years, the Choir and Orchestra has ventured beyond its home concert hall in Trogen, Switzerland, and now gives regular concerts both nationally and internationally.

Booklet for J.S. Bach: Cantatas, Vol. 14

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO