Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol. 7 Kristian Bezuidenhout

Cover Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol. 7

Album info



Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Instrumental

Subgenre: Piano

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.80
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): 9 Variations on “Lison dormait” in C Major, K. 264 (1778)
  • 19 Variations on 'Lison dormait' in C Major, K.26416:29
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata in A Minor, K. 310 (1778)
  • 2I. Allegro maestoso05:31
  • 3II. Andante cantabile con expressione09:25
  • 4III. Presto03:07
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: 6 Variations on 'Mio caro Adone' in G Major, K. 180 (1773)
  • 56 Variations on 'Mio caro Adone' in G Major, K.18008:36
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sonata in D Major, K. 284 (1774)
  • 6I. Allegro07:26
  • 7II. Rondeau en polonaise: Andante04:45
  • 8III. Thema: Andante. Vars. I-XII17:29
  • Total Runtime01:12:48

Info for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol. 7

In Volume 7 of his internationally praised Mozart cycle, Kristian Bezuidenhout includes two works influenced by Wolfgang's 1778 stay in Paris: the grandly proportioned Sonata in A minor, K310 and the dazzling Variations in C on 'Lison dormait', K264.

Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano

Kristian Bezuidenhout
was born in South Africa in 1979. He began his studies in Australia, completed them at the Eastman School of Music and now lives in London. After initial studies as a modern pianist with Rebecca Penneys, he explored early keyboards, studying harpsichord with Arthur Haas, fortepiano with Malcolm Bilson and continuo playing and performance practice with Paul O’Dette.

Bezuidenhout first gained international recognition at the age of 21 after winning the prestigious first prize as well as the audience prize in the Bruges Fortepiano Competition.

Bezuidenhout is a frequent guest artist with the world’s leading ensembles including The Freiburger Barockorchester, Orchestre des Champs Elysées, Orchestra of the 18th Century, English Concert, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Concerto Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, and Collegium Vocale Gent, in many instances assuming the role of guest director. He has performed with celebrated artists including John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Frans Brüggen, Trevor Pinnock, Ton Koopman, Christopher Hogwood, Pieter Wispelwey, Daniel Hope, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Isabelle Faust, Viktoria Mullova, Carolyn Sampson and Mark Padmore.

Bezuidenhout now divides his time between concerto, recital and chamber music engagements, appearing in the early music festivals of Barcelona, Boston, Bruges, Innsbruck, St. Petersburg, Venice and Utrecht; the festivals of Salzburg, Edinburgh, Schleswig Holstein, Tangelwood and Luzern and Mostly Mozart Lincoln Center, and at many of the world’s most important concert halls including the Berlin and Köln Philharmonie, Suntory Hall, Theatre des Champs Elysées, Symphony Hall, Konzerthaus Vienna, Wigmore Hall and Carnegie Hall.

Since 2009, Bezuidenhout has embarked on a long-term recording relationship with Harmonia Mundi. Recent recordings include Volumes 1, 2 & 3 of the complete keyboard music of Mozart (prizes include Diapason D'or, a Caecilia Prize, and Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik); Mendelssohn piano concertos with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and Schumann Dichterliebe with Mark Padmore (both won Edison Awards). His recording of Beethoven violin sonatas with Viktoria Mullova (ONYX label) won an Echo Award for the best chamber music album of 2011. A disc of Mozart Piano Concertos (K. 453 & 482) with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra was released in November, 2012.

Booklet for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol. 7

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO