Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol.4 Kristian Bezuidenhout

Cover Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol.4

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 1Fantasia in D Minor, K.39705:24
  • Piano Sonata in D Major, K. 311:
  • 2I. Allegro con spirito04:35
  • 3II. Andante con expressione05:35
  • 4III. Rondeau: Allegro06:21
  • Prelude & Fugue in C Major, K.394:
  • 5I. Adagio04:58
  • 6II. Fugue04:59
  • 12 Variations on 'Je suis Lindor' in E-flat Major, K.354:
  • 7Theme: Allegretto01:14
  • 8I. Variation I01:02
  • 9II. Variation II01:03
  • 10III. Variation III01:19
  • 11IV. Variation IV01:24
  • 12V. Variation V00:57
  • 13VI. Variation VI01:01
  • 14VII. Variation VII01:14
  • 15VIII. Variation VIII01:29
  • 16IX. Variation IX01:42
  • 17X. Variation X00:33
  • 18XI. Variation XI00:35
  • 19XII. Variation XII02:00
  • 20Allegretto01:32
  • Piano Sonata in G Major, K.283:
  • 21I. Allegro05:48
  • 22II. Andante06:27
  • 23III. Presto04:19
  • Fantasia in D Minor, K.397 (Completed by A.E.Müller):
  • 24Fantasia in D Minor, K.397 (Completed by A.E.Müller)05:39
  • Total Runtime01:11:10

Info for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol.4

On volume four of his widely acclaimed traversal of Mozart's music for solo keyboard, fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout performs on an instrument by Paul McNulty, modeled on a Viennese original by Anton Walter & Sohn (c.1805). The program includes Piano Sonatas in D major K.311 and G major K.283 and the lovely Variations on 'Je suis Lindor' in E flat Major, K.354. As with the other volumes in this exceptional series, Bezuidenhout brings out colors and shadings in these works that are only possible when performed on a fortepiano.

"this is undoubtedly another impressive instalment in Bezuidenhuit's Mozart cycle, with a particularly fine account of the C major Prelude and Fugue K394, and an individual approach to the unconventional set of variations on Je suis Lindor, K354...All in all, a rewarding disc." (BBC Music Magazine)

"Few players coax as much depth and detail from the fortepiano as this … [Bezuidenhout's] enviably high standard’s maintained" (CD Review)

"the sound he produces is a constant pleasure. There is nothing remotely prissy or limited about these brilliant, forceful performances, in which even the most apparently routine passagework is alive with expression and meaning...everything is fresh and vivid. Minor Mozart, but not when played like this." (Sunday Times)

Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano

Kristian Bezuidenhout
was born in South Africa in 1979. He began his studies in Australia, completed them at the Eastman School of Music and now lives in London. After initial studies as a modern pianist with Rebecca Penneys, he explored early keyboards, studying harpsichord with Arthur Haas, fortepiano with Malcolm Bilson and continuo playing and performance practice with Paul O’Dette.

Bezuidenhout first gained international recognition at the age of 21 after winning the prestigious first prize as well as the audience prize in the Bruges Fortepiano Competition.

Bezuidenhout is a frequent guest artist with the world’s leading ensembles including The Freiburger Barockorchester, Orchestre des Champs Elysées, Orchestra of the 18th Century, English Concert, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Concerto Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, and Collegium Vocale Gent, in many instances assuming the role of guest director. He has performed with celebrated artists including John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Frans Brüggen, Trevor Pinnock, Ton Koopman, Christopher Hogwood, Pieter Wispelwey, Daniel Hope, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Isabelle Faust, Viktoria Mullova, Carolyn Sampson and Mark Padmore.

Bezuidenhout now divides his time between concerto, recital and chamber music engagements, appearing in the early music festivals of Barcelona, Boston, Bruges, Innsbruck, St. Petersburg, Venice and Utrecht; the festivals of Salzburg, Edinburgh, Schleswig Holstein, Tangelwood and Luzern and Mostly Mozart Lincoln Center, and at many of the world’s most important concert halls including the Berlin and Köln Philharmonie, Suntory Hall, Theatre des Champs Elysées, Symphony Hall, Konzerthaus Vienna, Wigmore Hall and Carnegie Hall.

Since 2009, Bezuidenhout has embarked on a long-term recording relationship with Harmonia Mundi. Recent recordings include Volumes 1, 2 & 3 of the complete keyboard music of Mozart (prizes include Diapason D'or, a Caecilia Prize, and Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik); Mendelssohn piano concertos with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and Schumann Dichterliebe with Mark Padmore (both won Edison Awards). His recording of Beethoven violin sonatas with Viktoria Mullova (ONYX label) won an Echo Award for the best chamber music album of 2011. A disc of Mozart Piano Concertos (K. 453 & 482) with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra was released in November, 2012.

Booklet for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vol.4

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO