Mozart: Keyboard Music Vols. 8 & 9 Kristian Bezuidenhout

Cover Mozart: Keyboard Music Vols. 8 & 9

Album info



Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.80
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): Sonata in C major, K. 545:
  • 1I. Allegro04:16
  • 2II. Andante06:37
  • 3III. Rondo01:52
  • 8 Variations in F major, K. 352:
  • 4on 'Dieu d'amour' by André Grétry, K. 35212:04
  • Suite in C major K. 399:
  • 5I. Ouverture03:50
  • 6II. Allemande04:12
  • 7III. Courante02:33
  • 8IV. Sarabande (completed by Robert Levin)04:37
  • Menuetto in D major, K. 355:
  • 9Menuetto in D major, K. 35502:27
  • Gigue in G major, K. 574:
  • 10Gigue in G major, K. 57401:34
  • Kleiner Trauermarsch in C minor, K. 453a:
  • 11Kleiner Trauermarsch in C minor, K. 453a02:05
  • Sonata in F major, K. 280:
  • 12I. Allegro assai04:39
  • 13II. Adagio08:06
  • 14III. Presto04:19
  • 9 Variations in D major, K. 573:
  • 15on a menuet by Jean-Pierre Duport, K. 57314:19
  • Modulating Prelude in F–C, K. deest (K. 624/626a):
  • 16Modulating Prelude in F-C, K. deest (K. 624/626a)04:24
  • Sonata in C major, K. 279:
  • 17I. Allegro08:14
  • 18II. Andante07:18
  • 19III. Allegro04:58
  • Allegro in B-flat major, K. 400:
  • 20Allegro in B-flat major, K. 400 (completed by Robert Levin)07:17
  • Allegro in G minor, K. 312:
  • 21Allegro in G minor, K. 312 (completed by Robert Levin)05:35
  • Four Preludes, K. 284a:
  • 22Four Preludes, K. 284a (formerly Capriccio in C major, K. 395/300g)04:30
  • 12 Variations in C major, K. 179:
  • 2312 Variations in C major on a menuet by Johann Christian Fischer, K. 17919:03
  • Sonata in D major, K. 576:
  • 24I. Allegro05:10
  • 25II. Adagio04:38
  • 26III. Allegretto04:36
  • Total Runtime02:33:13

Info for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vols. 8 & 9

With this release, fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout brings to a close his universally acclaimed Mozart Keyboard Music cycle. The selections on these final volumes range from the most famous Piano Sonata K545 to the lesser-known Fragments K312 and K400. This two disc set completes a collection that is now the benchmark standard for these works.

“Bezuidenhout plays a copy of an 1805 Viennese fortepiano from the Alexander Skeaping collection, recorded with a perfect combination of clarity, intimacy and justness of perspective. And in every bar Bezuidenhout establishes his complete mastery over the instrument by means of an extraordinary delicacy and refinement of touch and shading. He’s a remarkable virtuoso, and a dazzlingly imaginative, multi-skilled Mozartian” (Max Loppert, BBC Music Magazine)

“This survey looks likely to set a new benchmark.” (International Record Review)

Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano

Kristian Bezuidenhout
was born in South Africa in 1979. He began his studies in Australia, completed them at the Eastman School of Music and now lives in London. After initial studies as a modern pianist with Rebecca Penneys, he explored early keyboards, studying harpsichord with Arthur Haas, fortepiano with Malcolm Bilson and continuo playing and performance practice with Paul O’Dette.

Bezuidenhout first gained international recognition at the age of 21 after winning the prestigious first prize as well as the audience prize in the Bruges Fortepiano Competition.

Bezuidenhout is a frequent guest artist with the world’s leading ensembles including The Freiburger Barockorchester, Orchestre des Champs Elysées, Orchestra of the 18th Century, English Concert, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Concerto Köln, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, and Collegium Vocale Gent, in many instances assuming the role of guest director. He has performed with celebrated artists including John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Frans Brüggen, Trevor Pinnock, Ton Koopman, Christopher Hogwood, Pieter Wispelwey, Daniel Hope, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Isabelle Faust, Viktoria Mullova, Carolyn Sampson and Mark Padmore.

Bezuidenhout now divides his time between concerto, recital and chamber music engagements, appearing in the early music festivals of Barcelona, Boston, Bruges, Innsbruck, St. Petersburg, Venice and Utrecht; the festivals of Salzburg, Edinburgh, Schleswig Holstein, Tangelwood and Luzern and Mostly Mozart Lincoln Center, and at many of the world’s most important concert halls including the Berlin and Köln Philharmonie, Suntory Hall, Theatre des Champs Elysées, Symphony Hall, Konzerthaus Vienna, Wigmore Hall and Carnegie Hall.

Since 2009, Bezuidenhout has embarked on a long-term recording relationship with Harmonia Mundi. Recent recordings include Volumes 1, 2 & 3 of the complete keyboard music of Mozart (prizes include Diapason D'or, a Caecilia Prize, and Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik); Mendelssohn piano concertos with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra and Schumann Dichterliebe with Mark Padmore (both won Edison Awards). His recording of Beethoven violin sonatas with Viktoria Mullova (ONYX label) won an Echo Award for the best chamber music album of 2011. A disc of Mozart Piano Concertos (K. 453 & 482) with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra was released in November, 2012.

Booklet for Mozart: Keyboard Music Vols. 8 & 9

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO