The Magic Whip Blur

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Lonesome Street04:23
  • 2New World Towers04:04
  • 3Go Out04:40
  • 4Ice Cream Man03:25
  • 5Thought I Was A Spaceman06:16
  • 6I Broadcast02:52
  • 7My Terracotta Heart04:05
  • 8There Are Too Many Of Us04:25
  • 9Ghost Ship04:59
  • 10Pyongyang05:47
  • 11Ong Ong03:09
  • 12Mirrorball03:38
  • Total Runtime51:43

Info for The Magic Whip

6 years after their last record as a four-piece, 27th April 2015 sees the release of the band’s eighth studio album, titled The Magic Whip. The recordings, which began during a five-day break in touring in Spring 2013 - at Avon Studios in Kowloon, Hong Kong - were put aside when the group finished touring and returned to their respective lives. Last November Graham revisited the tracks and, drafting in the band’s old friend and early producer Stephen Street, he worked with the band on the material. Damon then added lyrics and the 12 tracks of The Magic Whip are the result.

Damon Albarn, vocals, keyboards, synthesizers, acoustic guitar, drum machine
Graham Coxon, guitar, keyboards, vocals, backing vocals
Alex James, bass
Dave Rowntree, drums
Additional musicians:
James Dring, programming
Demon Strings, orchestration
Mike Smith, Horns
Stephen Street, programming, additional percussion

Recorded in May 2013, November 2014 and January 2015

as we know it was born in 1989 when the band signed to Food/EMI. Debut album Leisure (1991) announced the arrival of a band with pop suss warped by an art-punk eccentricity. Yet Blur had more in them: namely, a revolution in the sound of English popular music. Second album Modern Life Is Rubbish reintroduced the idea that English rock music could be cool, and by the time their third album Parklife emerged in 1994, the rest of the UK had caught up.

The Great Escape (1995) refined the sound palette of Britpop, but Blur were already moving on. 1997's Blur was an about-face - scuffed and noisy and un-English. Follow-up 13 was an even a more radical adventure in sound as William Orbit refereed a truce between organic punkpop and new-fangled technology.

Seventh album Think Tank (2003) was Blur’s first as a three piece after the temporary departure of founding guitarist Graham Coxon, featuring an eclectic variety of rhythms and textures and glorious melodies.

In 2009 Blur reconvened as a four-piece to play a series of UK shows including two sold out dates at Hyde Park and a historic Sunday night appearance at Glastonbury. A film about Blur, No Distance Left To Run, was released in 2010.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO