Cover The Berlin Album

Album info



Label: Audax Records

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Ensemble Diderot & Johannes Pramsohler

Composer: Franz Benda (1709-1786), Johann Gottlieb Graun (1703-1771), Johann Gottlieb Janitsch (1708-1763), Johann Philipp Kirnberger (1721-1783), Johann Abraham Peter Schulz (1747-1800)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Georg Anton Benda (1722 - 0795): Trio sonata in E Major:
  • 1Trio sonata in E Major: I. Mezzo allegro04:06
  • 2Trio sonata in E Major: II. Larghetto02:25
  • 3Trio sonata in E Major: III. Presto02:55
  • Johann Gottlieb Graun (1703 - 1771): Trio sonata in A Major, GWV Av:XV:41:
  • 4Trio sonata in A Major, GWV Av:XV:41: I. Adagio04:38
  • 5Trio sonata in A Major, GWV Av:XV:41: II. Allegro non troppo04:31
  • 6Trio sonata in A Major, GWV Av:XV:41: III. Vivace. Allegro. Scherzando07:02
  • Johann Philipp Kirnberger (1721 - 1783): Trio sonata in D Minor:
  • 7Trio sonata in D Minor: I. Andante02:12
  • 8Trio sonata in D Minor: II. Allegro03:07
  • 9Trio sonata in D Minor: III. Presto02:12
  • Princess Anna Amalia of Prussia (1723 - 1787):
  • 10Fugue in D Major02:17
  • Johann Abraham Peter Schulz (1747 - 1800): Trio sonata in A Minor:
  • 11Trio sonata in A Minor: I. Allegretto04:28
  • 12Trio sonata in A Minor: II. Adagio maestoso02:29
  • 13Trio sonata in A Minor: III. Poco allegro02:39
  • Johann Gottlieb Graun: Trio sonata in G Major "Melancholicus & Sanguineus", GWV A:XV:11:
  • 14Trio sonata in G Major "Melancholicus & Sanguineus", GWV A:XV:11: I. Affettuoso03:34
  • 15Trio sonata in G Major "Melancholicus & Sanguineus", GWV A:XV:11: II. Allegro non troppo04:31
  • 16Trio sonata in G Major "Melancholicus & Sanguineus", GWV A:XV:11: III. Allegro di molto04:24
  • Johann Gottlieb Janitsch (1708 - 1763): Trio sonata in G Major:
  • 17Trio sonata in G Major: I. Andante03:14
  • 18Trio sonata in G Major: II. Allegro ma non tanto04:54
  • 19Trio sonata in G Major: III. Vivace alla lira03:30
  • Total Runtime01:09:08

Info for The Berlin Album

Following on from their critically acclaimed series, Ensemble Diderot continues its 'city series' - after Dresden, Paris and London now Berlin. All the works (except one) in this new recording are world premiere recordings - really exciting music. Uniquely, and some might say something rather radical for a "Berlin Album" no CPE Bach, no Quantz and no Flute! Instead on this rare selection of Trio Sonatas from Berlin, the Ensemble Diderot uses a wonderful copy of a Silbermann Fortepiano - the same as Frederick II had at the court - which gives an incredible variety of colours. When one contemplates mid eighteenth-century music from Berlin, the first thing that comes to mind is undoubtedly the flute-playing King Frederick II ("the Great"), and one asks oneself if a "Berlin" album should actually be a "Potsdam" album. The idea behind the present recording is to focus on Berlin, but without taking into account the three usually perceived musical protagonists: Frederick, his flute, and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. However, it is indeed primarily thanks to the cultural policy of the Prussian monarch that Berlin became a noteworthy musical centre. In contrast to Dresden, in Berlin music was not only made at court, but throughout the city and beyond. There were countless private venues in the capital city in which concerts were given with the participation of members of the royal chapel. Double bass player Janitsch continued the weekly concert series that he had already organised in Rheinsberg as "Friday Academies." Chamber music in Berlin was firmly in the hands of professional musicians - the compositions they played were not mass-produced pieces, but rather substantial works that were likewise demanding in terms of technique – both violins play here on an entirely equal footing passages in seventh position that are more reminiscent of solo passages in a virtuoso violin concerto than chamber music for domestic use. All in all, Berlin, in contrast to Dresden, was a true chamber music El Dorado. Previous recordings have gained universal praise from the critics: "A dream team for this repertoire." – Early Music Review "The Ensemble Diderot plays these works with nimble expertise and good spirit" GRAMOPHONE

Ensemble Diderot
Johannes Pramsohler, violin, direction

No biography found.

Booklet for The Berlin Album

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO