Eivind Buene: Violin Concerto & Miniatures - Rolf Wallin: Under City Skin & Appearances Peter Herresthal, Arctic Philharmonic & Øyvind Bjorå

Cover Eivind Buene: Violin Concerto & Miniatures - Rolf Wallin: Under City Skin & Appearances

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: BIS

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • Rolf Wallin (1957 - ):
  • 1Under City Skin: I. High-heeled Shoes05:58
  • 2Under City Skin: II. The Park at Night07:13
  • 3Under City Skin: III. Locomotive10:08
  • 4Under City Skin: IV. Pastorale05:24
  • 5Appearances (Version for 15 Instruments)23:37
  • Eivind Buene (1973 - ):
  • 6Miniatures: No. 1, —01:09
  • 7Miniatures: No. 2, —01:35
  • 8Miniatures: No. 3, —01:13
  • 9Miniatures: No. 4, —01:06
  • 10Miniatures: No. 5, —02:14
  • 11Miniatures: No. 6, —02:02
  • 12Violin Concerto: I. Falling Angels09:39
  • 13Violin Concerto: II. Sound Asleep04:48
  • 14Violin Concerto: III. Among Voices of the Dead07:16
  • Total Runtime01:23:22

Info zu Eivind Buene: Violin Concerto & Miniatures - Rolf Wallin: Under City Skin & Appearances

Following his 2001 disc of works by Arne Nordheim, Norwegian violinist Peter Herresthal and BIS have collaborated on the project ’A String of Releases’ – recordings of contemporary violin concertos, in several cases written especially for Herresthal. Featured composers so far have been Olav Anton Thommessen, Henrik Hellstenius and Ørjan Matre – all from Norway – as well as Thomas Adès and Per Nørgård. Utterly fearless in his approach to these complex works, Herresthal has received recognition for his recordings, earning a Spellemannprisen (the ‘Norwegian Grammy’) as well as being shortlisted for a Gramophone Award.

The present, amply-filled addition to Herresthal’s ‘string’ features the composers Rolf Wallin (b. 1957) and Eivind Buene (b. 1973). Wallin – one of Scandinavia’s leading composers – has for Herresthal made a version of Under City Skin, his 2009 concerto for viola and ensemble. The work is a poetic and sonic journey through an imaginary cityscape, with the solo violin and the string orchestra playing off and with a pre-recorded soundtrack. Buene’s Violin Concerto was also conceived with Herresthal in mind. With suggestive individual titles – Falling Angels, Sound Asleep and Among Voices – its three movements are each scored for a different combination of chamber orchestral forces. They can be played separately, but together they form a haunting triptych of melancholy and memory. Supporting Herresthal in the concertos are the conductor Øyvind Bjorå and musicians from the Arctic Philharmonic, in two different configurations: as a chamber orchestra and a sinfonietta. Bjorå and the Sinfonietta also perform Wallin’s Appearances and Buene’s Miniatures, for 15 and 16 musicians respectively.

Peter Herresthal, violin
Arctic Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra
Arctic Philharmonic Sinfonietta
Øyvind Bjorå, conductor

Peter Herresthal
is recognised as a brilliant and inspired interpreter of contemporary violin music, strongly associated both in concert and recordings with concertos by composers including Per Nørgård, Arne Nordheim, Henri Dutilleux, Thomas Adès, Olav Anton Thommessen, Henrik Hellstenius and Jon Øivind Ness. Peter has appeared with orchestras and ensembles including the Vienna Radio Symphony, Melbourne Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic, Stockholm Philharmonic, Bergen Philharmonic, Remix Ensemble, Tapiola Chamber Orchestra,Stavanger Symphony, Orquesta Sinfonica de Navarra, Helsingborg Symphony, Oslo Sinfonietta, Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Trondheim Symphony, and Bit20, with conductors including Andrew Manze, Thomas Adès, Anu Tali and Sakari Oramo.

Peter has given the Austrian, Norwegian, Spanish and Australian premieres of the Thomas Adès violin concerto 'Concentric Paths', the latter conducted by the composer at the 2010 Melbourne Festival. Festival appearances have included the Bergen Festival (where Peter currently curates an annual series), Risor Chamber Music Festival, MAGMA2002 Berlin; Schleswig-Holstein and Mechelburg-Vorpommern.

Peter has recorded a number of CDs for BIS and Simax/Aurora including prize-winning discs of Nordheim and Ness. His 2012 Nørgård CD was nominated for a Gramophone Award and Editors Choice in The Strad and International Record Review. In 2013/14 Peter will record the violin concerto by Thomas Adès and premiere Ades new cadenza for the Ligeti concerto with conductor Andrew Manze.

Peter is a Professor at the Oslo Academy and visiting Professor at Royal College of Music in London. He performs on a GB Guadagnini from Milan 1753.

Booklet für Eivind Buene: Violin Concerto & Miniatures - Rolf Wallin: Under City Skin & Appearances

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO