British Works for Cello & Piano, Vol. 3 Paul Watkins & Huw Watkins

Cover British Works for Cello & Piano, Vol. 3

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,50
  • Edmund Rubbra (1901 - 1986): Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 60:
  • 1Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 60: I. Andante moderato08:11
  • 2Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 60: II. Vivace flessibile03:19
  • 3Cello Sonata in G Minor, Op. 60: III. Adagio11:08
  • Alan Rawsthorne (1905 - 1971): Cello Sonata in C Major:
  • 4Cello Sonata in C Major: I. Adagio - Allegro appassionato04:27
  • 5Cello Sonata in C Major: II. Adagio05:07
  • 6Cello Sonata in C Major: III. Allegro molto05:02
  • Ernest John Moeran (1884 - 1950): Cello Sonata in A Minor:
  • 7Cello Sonata in A Minor: I. Tempo moderato08:18
  • 8Cello Sonata in A Minor: II. Adagio05:40
  • 9Cello Sonata in A Minor: III. Allegro07:49
  • Total Runtime59:01

Info zu British Works for Cello & Piano, Vol. 3

The Watkins brothers have reached volume three in their survey of British works for cello and piano. They have already shown a true affinity for this repertoire,

Gramophone remarking that ‘[they] have all this music in their very being.’ Vol. 3 concentrates on three works written in a short period immediately after the Second World War, by three composers of very different orientation and personality. Rubbra’s Sonata in G minor, Op. 60 is profoundly influenced by polyphonic music of the sixteenth century. In the first movement the cello’s arching melodic lines develop in a contrapuntal web with the piano, reaching an optimistic climax that subsides into serene tranquillity.

E.J. Moeran considered the Sonata in A minor to be one of his finest pieces. A dark intensity pervades the work, especially in the brooding opening movement. Emerging through this dark tone, however, we hear energetic dances, moments of beautiful lyricism, and the folk music of Norfolk and Ireland that was so important to Moeran.

In contrast to the wit and polish for which Alan Rawsthorne is often known, his Cello Sonata brings to the fore a more serious musical personality. As a composer who spent much of his time composing film and incidental music, Rawsthorne relished the chance to write this work of personal, intimate expression.

"The most stylistically striking piece is Rubbra's Sonata of 1946...The Watkins brothers, true to form, pay close attention to its rhythmic life, though they also know how to soar into beauty...[they] interact in a manner perhaps only possible with artists who shared a childhood together, cornflakes and all." (BBC Music Magazine)

"Another superb chamber partnership (this time from two brothers), instinctively collaborative in passages of both poignancy and urgency." (Gramophone Magazine)

Paul Watkins, cello
Huw Watkins, piano

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für British Works for Cello & Piano, Vol. 3

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO