Winner Of The 17th International Frédéric Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2015 Seong-Jin Cho

Cover Winner Of The 17th International Frédéric Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2015

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Interpret: Seong-Jin Cho

Komponist: Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849): 24 Préludes, Op.28
  • 11. In C Major00:37
  • 22. In A Minor02:10
  • 33. In G Major00:55
  • 44. In E Minor02:06
  • 55. In D Major00:32
  • 66. In B Minor01:57
  • 77. In A Major00:41
  • 88. In F Sharp Minor01:46
  • 99. In E Major01:28
  • 1010. In C Sharp Minor00:28
  • 1111. In B Major00:36
  • 1212. In G Sharp Minor01:11
  • 1313. In F Sharp Major03:11
  • 1414. In E Flat Minor00:33
  • 1515. In D Flat Major05:45
  • 1616. In B Flat Minor01:03
  • 1717. In A Flat Major03:06
  • 1818. In F Minor00:58
  • 1919. In E Flat Major01:19
  • 2020. In C Minor01:58
  • 2121. In B Flat Major01:47
  • 2222. In G Minor00:42
  • 2323. In F Major00:52
  • 2424. In D Minor02:32
  • Nocturne In C Minor, Op.48 No.1
  • 25Nocturne In C Minor, Op.48 No.106:07
  • Piano Sonata No.2 In B Flat Minor, Op.35
  • 261. Grave - Doppio movimento05:23
  • 272. Scherzo - Più lento - Tempo I05:50
  • 283. Marche funèbre (Lento)08:03
  • 294. Finale (Presto)01:30
  • Polonaise In A Flat Major, Op.53
  • 30Polonaise In A Flat Major, Op.5307:24
  • Total Runtime01:12:30

Info zu Winner Of The 17th International Frédéric Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2015

Deutsche Grammophon is proud to present the debut solo album from Seong-Jin Cho, winner of the 17th International Chopin Piano Competition. Cho took the coveted first prize, among the most prestigious titles in the world of classical music. He was named winner on Tuesday 20 October 2015, following three weeks and four stages of competition in Warsaw. The recording, set for international release on 18 of December, contains highlights from the 21-year-old South Korean pianist s recital rounds. This live album marks the start of a long-term collaboration between DG and the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, created to promote the work of outstanding interpreters of Chopin s music to the widest possible audience.

The International Chopin Piano Competition was founded in Warsaw in 1927 and has been held every five years since 1955. It stands today as the world s premiere competition for classical pianists, thanks not least to its commitment to artistic excellence and distinguished track record in discovering exceptional musical talent.

The rollcall of Chopin Competition winners is second to none in its concentration of piano legends, including DG artists Maurizio Pollini, Martha Argerich, Krystian Zimerman, Yundi Li and Rafa Blechacz. The equally remarkable list of runners-up includes Vladimir Ashkenazy and Mitsuko Uchida, both signed to DG s sister label Decca.

Seong-Jin Cho was born in Seoul, South Korea, on 28 May 1994. He won the International Fryderyk Chopin Competition for Young Pianists in 2008 and took third prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 2011. Cho, who lives in Paris, has already performed with leading orchestras and conductors, including the Mariinsky Orchestra and Valery Gergiev, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and Myung-Whun Chung, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic and Yuri Temirkanov, and the Russian National Orchestra with Mikhail Pletnev.

It has been a wonderful experience for me to be part of this great Competition and a dream come true to be named as winner of its first prize, observed Seong-Jin Cho. Chopin s music tells us so much about the human condition and speaks directly to the heart. I hope that this Deutsche Grammophon recording will move all those who hear it.

Over 450 performers born from 1985 to 1999, from 45 countries, applied to participate in this year s International Chopin Piano Competition. The Chopin Institute s Admission Committee invited 160 of these to perform in the Competition s Preliminary Round in Warsaw in April, 77 of whom were chosen by the jury to contest the three final stages from 3 to 16 October. Seong-Jin Cho emerged victorious from the 10 pianists selected for the Grand Finale. In addition to a cash prize of 30,000, he also received the Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise.

Deutsche Grammophon is delighted to launch its new strategic partnership with the Fryderyk Chopin Institute with an album that captures the passion and beauty of Seong-Jin Cho s Chopin, comments Costa Pilavachi, Universal Music Group International s Senior Vice President of Classical A&R. After three weeks of intense competition and extraordinary music-making, we were captivated by his wonderful winning performances and believe that he is destined to become one of the finest artists of his generation. The International Chopin Piano Competition sets the benchmark by which all other music competitions are judged. It is the king of such events and, as such, attracts worldwide attention to the very best in classical music. We are thrilled to be connecting the Chopin Competition with a large new audience, through our social media campaign and live streams from the finals, and now with the release of Seong-Jin Cho s DG debut album.

Seong-Jin Cho, piano

Seong-Jin Cho
Born on 28 May 1994, in Seoul (South Korea), Seong-Jin Cho is today based in Paris. He won the International Fry- deryk Chopin Competition for Young Pianists in 2008 and the Hamamatsu Piano Competition in Japan in 2009, as well as Third Prizes in both the Tchai- kovsky Competition in Russia in 2011 and the Arthur Rubinstein Competition in Tel Aviv in 2014. He has performed in con- cert with the Mariinsky Orchestra under Valery Gergiev, the French Radio, Czech and Seoul Philharmonic orchestras under Myung-Whun Chung, the Munich Phil- harmonic Orchestra under Lorin Maazel, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra under Yuri Temirkarnov, the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra under Marek Janowski, and both the Russian National Orchestra and Basel Symphony Orchestra under Mikhail Pletnev. He has toured Japan, Germany, France, Russia, Poland,

Israel, China and the US. He has appeared in both concerts and recitals at the Tokyo Opera City, in Osaka, at the Moscow Con- servatory and at the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg. He has participated in numerous European festivals, including St. Petersburg, Moscow, Duszniki-Zdrój and Cracow, as well as festivals in New York and Castleton. As a chamber musi- cian, he has been invited to work with the outstanding violinist Kyung-Wha Chung.

Booklet für Winner Of The 17th International Frédéric Chopin Piano Competition Warsaw 2015

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO