Beethoven: Cello Sonatas Stanisław Firlej & Wojciech Kubica

Cover Beethoven: Cello Sonatas

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: DUX

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Interpret: Stanisław Firlej & Wojciech Kubica

Komponist: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,50
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1:
  • 1Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1: I. Adagio sostenuto - II. Allegro13:11
  • 2Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1: III. Rondo. Allegro vivace06:37
  • Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102 No. 1 "Freje":
  • 3Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102 No. 1 "Freje": I. Andante - Allegro vivace07:33
  • 4Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102 No. 1 "Freje": II. Adagio - Tempo d'andante - Allegro vivace07:07
  • Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2:
  • 5Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2: I. Allegro con brio06:16
  • 6Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2: II. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto07:34
  • 7Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2: III. Allegro - Allegro fugato04:12
  • Total Runtime52:30

Info zu Beethoven: Cello Sonatas

This album is both a continuation and the capstone of the idea of recording all five sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven for piano and cello. The presented album contains the Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1, which opens the cycle of these works, as well as the Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102 No. 1 and the Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 2, which were created less than two decades later, thus reflecting the transformations of the composer's ever-developing style. Complete cello sonatas, interpreted by one of the most famous Polish virtuosos of this instrument, Stanislaw Firlej, as well as by pianist Wojciech Kubica, who is extremely active as a performer and teacher, will satisfy the most demanding aesthetic tastes of the audience.

Stanislaw Firlej is one of the leading Polish cellists. He received a thorough musical training which enabled him to develop an intensive con-cert activity not only in Poland, but also abroad. He studied at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow under Galina Kozolupova and Natalia Gutman, and subsequently graduated from André-Nicolas Navarra’s class at the “Accademia Chigiana” Summer Academy of Music in Siena. A professor of music, he runs a cello class at the Grazyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Lódz. In 2015, he received an honorary doctor’s degree from the Academy. He also regularly teaches at masterclasses in Lancut and Luslawice.

Wojciech Kubica’s wide-ranging repertoire spans music from the Baroque to the present. In 2003, he premiered Kyrie by Jan Wincenty Hawel at a recital during the Karol Szymanowski Festival in Zakopane, He has also pursued a teaching career as a faculty member at the Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music in Katowice (2005-2007), the Academy of Music in Wroclaw (since 2005) and at the Grazyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Lódz. In 2014, he received the title of Doctor of Musical Arts from the Lódz Academy.

Stanisław Firlej, cello
Wojciech Kubica, piano

Stanisław Firlej
the Polish cello virtuoso is one of the most notable artists in his country. Thanks to his talent , supported by profound music studies he has been developing a well-animated concerto activity for many years.He completed his study at the Moscow Conservatory under the tutelage of Natalia Gutman and the Accademia Chigiana in Siena under the direction of Andre Navarra.

Firlej made his concerto debut at Sankt Petersburg Conservatory /1964/ after he had won the I award in the Intercollegiate cello Competition playing Boccherini's B flat major concerto with the orchestra. Later he won the V prize at the International Music Competition "Gaudeamus" in Rotterdam.

In 1976 Firlej joined the National Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra as principal cellist and soloist. The group toured throughout the world including Japan, New Zealand, Australia, North and South Americas. Cello concertos from the classic era were often performed during those tours.

Firlej made also many recordings such as Schubert's Sonata "Arpeggione" with the Austrian pianist Paul Badura-Skoda and all Schubert's piano trios with the Rubinstein-Trio for Le Chant du Monde in Paris.

The Rubinstein-Trio was formed in 1984 to pay a tribute to Artur Rubinstein's memory. Since that time the group has given a lot of concerts throughout Europe and in the famous festivals such as Lugano and La Chaise Dieu /France/.

Firlej is also a founder of the "Polish Camerata" Chamber Orchestra. The group deals with the classical period music playing works of Mozart, Boccherini, Haydn and others. Their performances are well-received not only in Poland but in Spain Germany and France as well.

Stanisław Firlej is now a professor of cello class at Music Academies in Lodz and Wroclaw.

Wojciech Kubica
was born in 1980 in Cracow. He had begun piano studies at age of eight at Goleniów Primary School of Music under Magdalena Kochan’s tutation and had continued his studies at the Secondary School of Music in Szczecin. He obtained diploma in distinction in Mikołaj Szczęsny’s class in 1999. He graduated from the Academy of Music in Katowice with master of art degree in piano playing as a student of prof.Joanna Domańska’s, in 2004. He sucsesfully finished post-graduated studies with prof. Grzegorz Kurzyński at the Academy of Music in Wroclaw in 2005.

Since 2004 he has been working at the Academies of Music in Wroclaw and Katowice. He has been employed as an assistant in piano class of prof. Cezary Sanecki at the Academy of Music in Lodz since October 2008. In 2014 he received the degree of Doctor of Arts from Academy of Music in Lodz.

Wojciech Kubica’s achievements include:
- the Ist prize at the International Piano Competition in Kiev (2003)
- the IVth prize and the Special Prize for the best performance of Cello Sonata by C.Franck at the International Chamber Music Competition “Val Tidone” in Italy (2004)
- performance at the Polish Piano Festival in Słupsk (September 2004)
- in 2005 he took part in eliminations for the XVth Chopin International Piano Competition in Warsaw
- on the D.Danczowski Cello Competition in Poznan in 2007 he received an award for the pianist “for the special contribution in artistic value of competition’s performances”.

Wojciech Kubica performed with orchestra for the first time at the age of 12.He has appeared on the stages as soloist and chamber music player in Poland (Wroclaw, Szczecin, Walbrzych, Lodz, Poznan, Cracow, Warsaw ) and abroad ( Germany, Spain, Italy, Russian and Ukraine ).

During piano masterclasses he worked with Karl-Heinz Kammerling, Kevin Kenner, Vladimir Krainev and Vladimir Viardo.

Wojciech Kubica’s wide repertoire includes works from baroque time to modern music. He made the first performance of “Kyrie” by Jan Wincenty Hawel at recital in “Atma” during Karol Szymanowski’s Festival in Zakopane in 2003

Booklet für Beethoven: Cello Sonatas

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO