Wirén: Sinfonietta in C Major, Serenade, Symphony No. 3 & Divertimento Rumon Gamba & Iceland Symphony Orchestra

Cover Wirén: Sinfonietta in C Major, Serenade, Symphony No. 3 & Divertimento

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Interpret: Rumon Gamba & Iceland Symphony Orchestra

Komponist: Dag Wirén

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 13,20
  • Dag Wirén (1905 - 1986): Symphony No. 3, Op. 20:
  • 1Symphony No. 3, Op. 20: I. Allegro06:39
  • 2Symphony No. 3, Op. 20: II. Adagio07:35
  • 3Symphony No. 3, Op. 20: III. Allegro molto10:29
  • Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11:
  • 4Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11: I. Preludium03:14
  • 5Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11: II. Andante espressivo04:22
  • 6Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11: III. Scherzo03:00
  • 7Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11: IV. Marcia04:40
  • Divertimento, Op. 29:
  • 8Divertimento, Op. 29: I. Moderato02:56
  • 9Divertimento, Op. 29: II. Allegro moderato02:15
  • 10Divertimento, Op. 29: III. Andantino03:55
  • 11Divertimento, Op. 29: IV. Allegro moderato02:40
  • infonietta in C Major, Op. 7a:
  • 12Sinfonietta in C Major, Op. 7a: I. Molto allegro ad energico07:13
  • 13Sinfonietta in C Major, Op. 7a: II. Andante espressivo04:21
  • 14Sinfonietta in C Major, Op. 7a: III. Molto allegro06:07
  • Total Runtime01:09:26

Info zu Wirén: Sinfonietta in C Major, Serenade, Symphony No. 3 & Divertimento

Bright and lively music from the Swedish composer Dag Wirén is unveiled here in surround-sound by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and Rumon Gamba, only a few years after the completion of their Grammy-nominated and highly acclaimed series devoted to the neglected orchestral treasures of Vincent d’Indy.

In this unique recording Gamba uses the large body of a full symphonic string section, rather than the somewhat smaller-scale chamber orchestra setup that has tended to be used for this music in the past. The effect is a more complete expression of the wit and strength of these works. Designed to ‘entertain and amuse’, as the composer put it in a note, the widely popular Serenade for Strings is here given an even more brilliant and powerful touch.

Other, lesser-known works on the album similarly showcase a composer of fascinating range, who could write light and humorous pieces such as the Sinfonietta and the lively Symphony No. 3, as well as powerful, rhythmical, and serious works, of which the later Divertimento is an example.

"The composer Dag Wirén assembled a personal style, dipping into various Scandinavian streams and bringing them together in new ways. This collection of pieces nicely turned out by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra under Rumon Gamba touches on several phases of his career (although not on his occasional popular songs) and can be recommended as an introduction to this Swedish figure, experiencing a revival in recent years. He has been classed as a Sibelius follower in his five symphonies, of which the third, heard here, also incorporates a Nielsen-like but quite compact development of a motivic cell throughout the work. The Sibelius influence is also apparent in the Divertimento, Op. 29, whose conventional four-movement structure also reflects Wirén's Parisian neoclassic training. He followed that style early in his career, producing sparkling works that deserve wider exposure; these are exemplified here by the Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 11, and above all by the Sinfonietta in C major, Op. 7a, which closes the program. Sample this one, long enough to get a sense of how full of surprises it is, and you may find yourself hooked." (James Manheim, AMG)

Iceland Symphony Orchestra
Rumon Gamba, conductor

British conductor Rumon Gamba is Principal Conductor and Musical Director of the Symfoniorkestern Norrlandsoperan. Between 2002-2010 he was Chief Conductor and Music Director of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. He regularly conducts the BBC Orchestras and has appeared at the BBC Proms on a number of occasions. He records exclusively for Chandos.

Rumon Gamba has given several high profile premieres. In 2010/11 he will conduct the Swedish premiere of Poul Ruders' Dancer in the Dark with the Norrlands Opera. Following his successful opera debut conducting Candide with the English National Opera he will return there in spring 2011 for the world premiere of Nico Muhly’s opera Two Boys. He has also conducted the Icelandic premiere of Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Scherzoid (a co-commission with New York and London Philharmonic orchestras) and the world premiere of Brett Dean’s Viola Concerto with the BBC Symphony Orchestra. In celebration of Hans Christian Andersen’s 200th birthday he gave the world premiere of Per Norgard’s oratorio The Will O The Wisps Go To Town with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Rumon Gamba has recently worked with Orquesta Nacionales de Espana, London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Upcoming engagements include Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias, Ulster Orchestra, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Aalborg Symfonieorkester and the Berner Symphonie-Orchester.

Following on from his tremendously successful first season with the Symfoniorkestern Norrlandsoperan, this season will open with a Schumann symphony cycle (performing all on two consecutive nights). May 2011 will see the Swedish premiere of Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Blood on the Floor as part of their contemporary festival. Rumon Gamba will also be implementing his late night concerts, highly successful in Iceland and specifically aimed at young adults.

With the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, recordings for Chandos Records include two volumes of the orchestral works of Malcolm Williamson and, most recently, an ongoing series of D’Indy’s Orchestral Works – the first of which was nominated for a Grammy Award. Other recordings for Chandos include several award-winning and Grammy-nominated CDs as part of their acclaimed Film Music series.

Within North America Rumon Gamba has worked with the New York Philharmonic, Toronto and Indianapolis Symphony orchestras, National Arts Center Orchestra Ottawa and the Florida Philharmonic Orchestra. He has worked with all the major Australian orchestras and guest conducted with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and the Hong Kong, Osaka and Nagoya Philharmonic orchestras.

Having studied with Colin Metters at the Royal Academy of Music, Rumon Gamba became the first ever conducting student to receive the DipRAM. He then went on to win the Lloyds Bank BBC Young Musicians Conductors Workshop in February 1998 and subsequently became Assistant and then Associate Conductor to the BBC Philharmonic until 2002. Rumon Gamba was made an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music in 2002.

Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1950, The Iceland Symphony Orchestra has distinguished itself as one of the leading Nordic orchestras through its acclaimed performances and recordings. The artistic achievement of the ISO is even more remarkable given that in Iceland, the classical music tradition only began in the 20th century. The first concert by a full symphony orchestra was given in 1926, when the Hamburg Philharmonic toured Iceland and Norway under the direction of Icelandic composer Jón Leifs. Around that time, a small ensemble called the Reykjavík Orchestra (Hljómsveit Reykjavíkur) had begun to give concerts in the nation's capital, but it was only in 1950 that the state and municipal authorities, along with the Icelandic Radio, reached an agreement to found a symphony orchestra.

Booklet für Wirén: Sinfonietta in C Major, Serenade, Symphony No. 3 & Divertimento

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO