Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux, Op. 39 (& Works by Scriabin & Prokofiev) Jean-Paul Gasparian

Cover Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux, Op. 39 (& Works by Scriabin & Prokofiev)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Evidence (LTR)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Interpret: Jean-Paul Gasparian

Komponist: Sergei Sergeievitch Prokofiev (1891-1953), Sergey Vassilievich Rachmaninov (1873–1943), Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin (1872-1915)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 11,90
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 - 1943): Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39:
  • 1Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: I. Allegro agitato in C Minor03:01
  • 2Rachmaninoff: Etudes-Tableaux, Op. 39: II. Lento assai in A Minor07:04
  • 3Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: III. Allegro molto in F-Sharp Minor02:39
  • 4Rachmaninoff: Etudes-Tableaux, Op. 39: IV. Allegro assai in B Minor02:27
  • 5Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: V. Appassionato in E-Flat Minor04:49
  • 6Rachmaninoff: Etudes-Tableaux, Op. 39: VI. Allegro in A Minor02:28
  • 7Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: VII. Lento lugubre in C Minor07:07
  • 8Rachmaninoff: Etudes-Tableaux, Op. 39: VIII. Allegro moderato in D Minor03:23
  • 9Rachmaninoff: Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: IX. Allegro moderato. Tempo di marcia in D Major03:38
  • Alexandre Scriabin (1872 - 1915): Piano Sonata No. 2 in G-Sharp Minor, Op. 19 "Sonata Fantasy":
  • 10Scriabin: Piano Sonata No. 2 in G-Sharp Minor, Op. 19 "Sonata Fantasy": I. Andante08:34
  • 11Scriabin: Piano Sonata No. 2 in G-Sharp Minor, Op. 19 "Sonata Fantasy": II. Finale presto03:53
  • Trois Études, Op. 65:
  • 12Scriabin: Trois Études, Op. 65: Allegro fantastico02:57
  • 13Scriabin: Trois Études, Op. 65: Allegretto fantastico01:58
  • 14Scriabin: Trois Études, Op. 65: Molto vivace01:45
  • Sergei Prokofiev (1891 - 1953): Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14:
  • 15Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: I. Allegro ma non troppo06:11
  • 16Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: II. Scherzo. Allegro marcato01:56
  • 17Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: III. Andante05:56
  • 18Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 14: IV. Vivace04:28
  • Total Runtime01:14:14

Info zu Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux, Op. 39 (& Works by Scriabin & Prokofiev)

Jean-Paul Gasparian, a brilliant pianist who graduated from the Paris Conservatoire and already internationally rewarded, devotes his first album to three giants of Russian music from the beginning of the 20th century: Rachmaninoff, Scriabin and Prokofiev. In this repertoire that suits him perfectly, a strong and bright sound blossoms thanks to his impeccable technique. He also knows how to highlight the typical and colourful harmonies of the Russian composers.

If Jean-Paul Gasparian’s interpretation strikes by its rigor, he doesn’t lack of inspiration. The recorded programme, which includes Rachmaninoff's Études-Tableaux and Scriabin's Études, may seem "studious". But it's an accomplished musician that we are dealing with. The culture of the young pianist, his knowledge of avant-garde music and philosophy nourish his approach to the scores.

This elegant and bold record is the first step of a brilliant discographic career to come.

Jean-Paul Gasparian, piano

Jean-Paul Gasparian
The 25-year-old pianist […] enchantes with the power of his playing combined with a noble tenderness. He specialised in Chopin, Rachmaninoff and Scriabin, which he serves admirably in recital and on recordings.”

Jean-Paul Gasparian, born in Paris in 1995, studied at the National Conservatoire in Paris with Olivier Gardon, Jacques Rouvier, Michel Beroff, Laurent Cabasso, Claire Désert and Michel Dalberto. Gasparian has taken part in international piano masterclasses with Pavel Gililov, Elisso Virsaladze and Tatiana Zelikman, was selected for the Verbier Academy 2014, and is Prize Winner of the International Summer Academy of the Mozarteum in Salzburg 2010. In June 2018, he completed his Artist Diploma at the Royal College of Music in London, with Prof. Vanessa Latarche.

In 2019, he won the Prix Therry Scherz at the Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad, allowing him the opportunity to record a CD with the Berner Symphonieorchester, to be released on the claves label.

He is also the Second Prize winner (First Prize was not awarded) of the Bremen European Competition 2014 and appeared as well in the José Iturbi Competition 2015, the Lyon International Competition 2013, the Hastings International Concerto Competition 2013, the Tel-Hai Concerto Competition 2012, and as semi-finalist of the Geza Anda Competition in 2015. He is also the piano laureate of the Cziffra Foundation Prize 2015, the l’Or du Rhin Foundation Prize 2016, and won the 1st Philosophy Prize at the Concours Général des Lycéens de France (French national competition) in 2013. In 2020 he was in the final round of Victoires de la Musique France.

Jean-Paul Gasparian has appeared with orchestras such as the Orchester National d’Ile-de-France, the Bremen Philharmonic, the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Orchester de l’Opéra de Rouen, the Orchestre de Normandie, the Orchestre de la Garde Républicaine, the Serbian Radio-Television Orchestra, the Montenegro Symphonic Orchestra, the Valencia Symphonic Orchestra, and at a young age already brings a very diverse repertoire to the stage, including works by Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov and Gershwin.

Gasparian has appeared as guest at major festivals, including the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, La Roque d’Anthéron, Nohant Festival Chopin, Montpellier-Festival, Festival Chopin de Bagatelle, Lisztomanias, and Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo. In summer 2020, he performed selected Beethoven sonatas as part of the Festival Intégrales des Sonates de Beethoven by Radio France, which due to COVID-19, was presented as a streaming concert. Gasparian has given performances in venues such as the Salzburg Mozarteum, Tonhalle Zürich, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Die Glocke Bremen, Belgrade Kolarac, the Museum of Modern Art in Tel-Aviv, the Louis Vuitton Foundation, the Maison de la Radio, the Salle Cortot and the Salle Gaveau in Paris. In 2022 he will debut at the Philharmonie de Paris with Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and the Orchestra National d’Ile-de-France under the baton of Ilyich Rivas, further concerts in the area are to follow.

The Classica magazine has ranked Jean-Paul Gasparian among the ten most promising young pianists of his generation. Both the Pianiste and Piano News magazines have dedicated detailed portraits of him. His debut CD with a Russian program around Rachmaninoff, Scriabin and Prokofiev was released in February 2018 on Évidence Classics and has received rave reviews for the young Frenchman. For his second solo album, released in 2019 and dedicated to the works of Chopin, he yet again proves that he is a musical talent that you absolutely must keep an eye on.

Since September 2016, Gasparian is artist-in-residence at the Singer-Polignac Foundation, together with Shuichi Okada and Gauthier Broutin, with whom he founded the Cantor Trio. He is supported by the Safran Foundation for Music and is a Steinway Artist.

Booklet für Rachmaninoff: Études-tableaux, Op. 39 (& Works by Scriabin & Prokofiev)

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO