Around Britten Matthew Barley

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976): Third Suite for Cello Op 87:
  • 1Third Suite for Cello Op 87: I. Introduzione. Lento02:11
  • 2Third Suite for Cello Op 87: II. Marcia. Allegro01:49
  • 3Third Suite for Cello Op 87: III. Canto. Con moto01:19
  • 4Third Suite for Cello Op 87: IV. Barcarola: Lento01:33
  • 5Third Suite for Cello Op 87: V. Dialogo: Allegretto01:43
  • 6Third Suite for Cello Op 87: VI. Fuga. Andante espressivo02:55
  • 7Third Suite for Cello Op 87: VII. Recitativo. Fantastico01:08
  • 8Third Suite for Cello Op 87: VIII. Moto perpetuo: Presto00:57
  • 9Third Suite for Cello Op 87: IX. Passacaglia. Lento solenne04:25
  • 10Third Suite for Cello Op 87: X. Mournful Song00:33
  • 11Third Suite for Cello Op 87: XI. Autumn00:19
  • 12Third Suite for Cello Op 87: XII. Street Song00:26
  • 13Third Suite for Cello Op 87: XIII. Depart in peace, with the Saints (Kontakion)02:42
  • Greensleeves:
  • 14Greensleeves02:06
  • The Salley Gardens:
  • 15The Salley Gardens02:33
  • Gavin Bryars (b. 1943): Tre Laude Dolce:
  • 16Tre Laude Dolce: I06:26
  • 17Tre Laude Dolce: II05:19
  • 18Tre Laude Dolce: III05:47
  • Benjamin Britten:
  • 19Since she whom I loved03:28
  • John Tavener (1944 - 2013):
  • 20Threnos07:12
  • 21Chant04:26
  • Benjamin Britten:
  • 22Concord02:26
  • Matthew Barley:
  • 23Improvisation09:52
  • Oliver Cromwell:
  • 24Oliver Cromwell00:49
  • Total Runtime01:12:24

Info zu Around Britten

Matthew Barley further proves his reputation as one of the UK's most innovative and creative performers with the new programme and album Around Britten celebrating the centenary of Britten's birth with a selection of his works, including the Third Cello Suite and pieces by Sir John Tavener and Gavin Bryars.

The release coincides with the start of a tour of 100 events taking Britten's music to a kaleidoscopic variety of venues around the UK, reaching a huge cross section of British society. As well as concerts in conventional concert halls, Matthew will play in galleries, a cafe, a woodland in Devon, a number of cathedrals (including Canterbury), around 12 different National Trust properties and Britten's library at the Red House in Aldeburgh. The events will be featured across the year in BBC Music Magazine, and one concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

"Barley plays with the micro-instincts of a violinist, shading every phrase with the subtlest of nuances." (Julian Haylock, Sinfini Music)

"His performance of the Britten lets the light in on what can seem a rather obscure, labyrinthine work: Barley's clear, calm approach lays out the score before us...The rest of the disc is like entering the chill-out room: Barley's well crafted, multi-tracked cello arrangements of Britten's folk songs and 'Concord' from Gloriana will appeal to many." (BBC Music Magazine)

"This will surely go down as one of the more offbeat centenary tributes to Britten. Barley, an unclassifiable cellist, builds his anthology around a thoughtful performance of Britten’s Third Suit for cello and the “quietly radiating peace” he finds in it." (Financial Times)

"As always, Barley's playing is fearless. The disc is a voyage around the cello as well as around Britten, and one that never becomes relentless. In his Improvisation, there is skilfully woven reference to the profusion of styles in which he plays...The high point, though, is Barley's arrangement of 'Since she whom I loved'. Even without the words, Barley has managed to capture - and further amplify - its great sadness and isolation." (Gramophone Magazine)

Matthew Barley, cello

Matthew Barley
is internationally known as cellist, improviser, arranger, music animateur, and Artistic Director of Between The Notes. His musical world is focused on projects that connect people in different ways, blurring the boundaries that never really existed between genres and people.

As a soloist and chamber musician he has performed in over 50 countries, including appearances with the BBC Scottish (Volkov) and Philharmonic (Hazlewood), the Melbourne Symphony (Tortelier), New Zealand Symphony (Tan Dun), Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Czech Philharmonic, Vienna Radio Symphony, Kremerata Baltica, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic,Royal Scottish National (Alsop), and London Chamber Orchestra. He has performed at festivals in Lucerne, Schleswig-Holstein, Bonn-Beethovenfest, Hong Kong, Lanaudiere, Abu Dhabi, Krakow, City of London and in recent seasons has performed at some of the world’s great concert halls: London’s Wigmore Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Kumho Hall in Korea, Pablo Casals Hall in Tokyo, The Rudolfinium In Prague, and the Teatro Colon in Buenos Aires. A key aspect of his recitals is mixing repertoire in unusual ways, pairing Bach suites with jazz and improvisation. He is particularly interested in music with electronics, having commissioned works from many composers including Dai Fujikura, DJ Bee, John Metcalfe and Jan Bang.

In 2005 he toured Brett Dean’s ballet score One of the Kind (for solo-on-stage-cello and electronics) with the Netherlands Dans Theatre; in 2010 with the Basel Ballet and in 2012 with Lyon Ballet. Collaboration – whether chamber music or with different styles of music – is an enduring passion, and, amongst others, Matthew has worked with Matthias Goerne, The Labeque Sisters, Martin Frost, Viviane Hagner, Thomas Larcher, Kit Armstrong, Amjad Ali Khan, Julian Joseph, Django Bates, Ross Daly, Talvin Singh, Jon Lord, Sultan Khan, Kathryn Tickell and Nitin Sawhney.

In 1997 Matthew Barley founded Between The Notes, a performance and education group that has appeared at the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Opera House (with the Royal Ballet) and the International Symposium of Contemporary Music in Hong Kong. In 2005 the group took the lead role in a devised work, Invisible Lines, which culminated in a live-television performance at the Royal Albert Hall for the BBC Proms, alongside players from the BBC Symphony Orchestra. More recently BTN took centre stage for the 20th anniversary celebrations of the Köln Philharmonie as soloists with the Gürzenich Orchestra under Markus Stenz.

A major project called The Peasant Girl with his wife, Russian violinist Viktoria Mullova has seen over 40 performances worldwide. The programme features Matthew’s arrangements of gypsy and jazz as well as Bartok and Kodaly and has been recorded for CD and DVD on Onyx Classics. 2007 saw Matthew’s debut on television as the Music Director of BBC 2’s widely acclaimed ‘Classical Star’.

His first CD on Black Box, The Silver Swan was a critical success, followed by Reminding, a disc of Soviet music. Constant Filter (music for cello and electronics by John Metcalfe) is Matthew’s second release for Signum Records, following the five-star success of The Dance of the Three Legged Elephants with jazz pianist Julian Joseph.

Future plans include performances at London’s Wigmore Hall, the BeethovenHaus in Bonn and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, projects with the Kremerata Baltica, Nederlands Radio Symphony, and Sinfonia Viva and a 100-event tour of the UK to celebrate Britten’s centenary. He will be guest artist at the 2013 Rio International Cello Encounter.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO