Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
25.08.2017

Label: ACT Music

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Contemporary Jazz

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 16.50
  • 1Prelude01:22
  • 2Elegy07:34
  • 3Faith04:52
  • 4Love06:20
  • 5One06:49
  • 6Brothers06:06
  • 7Hallelujah06:08
  • 8Shadows06:31
  • 9Coda04:21
  • Total Runtime50:03

Info for Brothers



Adam Bałdych’s new album is called “Brothers,” and is dedicated to the memory of his brother who passed away. The violinist is able truly to portray the entire gamut of emotions through music. In the pianissimo moments it is replete with feeling and also clarity, and on the other hand Bałdych can take it to a point where it is so strong and loud it feels almost ready to burst. “I would like my music,” says Bałdych, “to ingrain itself into the present time, and also to reflect it. It should take on board the cares and the yearnings of now.

The title of Adam Bałdych’s previous album from 2015 was “Bridges”. And indeed, the Polish violinist is one of the leading builders of bridges between genres in current European jazz. Only 31 years old, he already has a whole sheaf of distinguished awards to his name, notably an ECHO Jazz Prize. His music combines Polish folk, classical music and many different kinds of jazz. He plays with an astonishing technical range, in which classical finesse is combined with swirling improvisation - and the defiant energy and power of rock music. Since 2015, Bałdych has been building these kinds of bridges in the company of the Norwegian Helge Lien Trio. “With Helge, Frode and Per Oddvar we have clocked up thousands of kilometres together; these musicians are way more than just a backing band,” says the violinist.

Adam Bałdych’s new album is called “Brothers,” and is dedicated to the memory of his brother who passed away. So, for Bałdych and his band colleagues, it is about far more than either mere virtuosity or entertainment. “I would like my music,” says Bałdych, “to ingrain itself into the present time, and also to reflect it. It should take on board the cares and the yearnings of now. What I really wish for my music is that it should convey a message about love and beauty; more than ever we ought to feel that we are brothers and sisters, in order to understand each other better.” This lofty goal is reflected in track titles such as “Faith”, “Love”, “One” and “Shadows”. And through all that shared experience of playing with Helge Lien on piano, Frode Berg on bass and Per Oddvar Johansen on drums, Bałdych has the ideal means to express many different aspects of brotherliness through music. The group is also joined on some tracks by Norwegian saxophonist Tore Brunborg, known for his work with artists such as Tord Gustavsen and Manu Katchè.

That deep sense of brotherliness between musicians is the starting-point for this band: “Only with complete trust and understanding can we achieve the objective of musical unity,” says Bałdych. “What we want is to embark on musical journeys without compromises, and to have the courage to discover the unknown.” This unity in their way of making music shines through in all nine tracks on this CD, of which eight are original compositions by Bałdych. The album also hangs together convincingly as a whole – to some extent it has become a concept album. Bałdych draws an extended arc which runs from the heavy and rocky anthem “Elegy”, through the ballad “Faith” which carefully draws the listener into its confidence and modulates from major to minor. It then takes in a lyrical pledge of unity (”One”) and the title track “Brothers” which agitatedly circles around its theme, and arrives at a point where “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen seems to emerge from nothingness, and quietly to disappear back into it.

“Compared to our last album “Bridges”, says Bałdych, “the music in "Brothers" is ‘dirtier’ and more uninhibited. It is as if we can exist on that knife-edge between what Lacan called “the cry” and silence. And that is how the world is now: joy and tragedy can co-exist right next to each other.”

The violinist is able truly to portray the entire gamut of emotions through music. In the pianissimo moments it is replete with feeling and also clarity, and on the other hand Bałdych can take it to a point where it is so strong and loud it feels almost ready to burst. The interaction of Polish and Scandinavian sounds, of the American and European traditions of improvising, and the ways in which styles and genres unite and complement each other...everything happens a way which carries that spirit of brotherliness. And so listeners are also inevitably drawn in - as spiritual brothers or sisters.

Adam Bałdych, violin, renaissance violin
Helge Lien, piano
Frode Berg, bass
Per Oddvar Johansen, drums
Tore Brunborg, saxophone

Produced by Siggi Loch with the artist

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Brothers

Logo SSL Certificate
© 2010-2017 HIGHRESAUDIO

Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
25.08.2017

Label: ACT Music

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Contemporary Jazz

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 16.50
  • 1Prelude01:22
  • 2Elegy07:34
  • 3Faith04:52
  • 4Love06:20
  • 5One06:49
  • 6Brothers06:06
  • 7Hallelujah06:08
  • 8Shadows06:31
  • 9Coda04:21
  • Total Runtime50:03

Info for Brothers

„Brothers“ also heißt Adam Bałdychs neues – obendrein dem Andenken seines verstorbenen Bruders gewidmete – Album, und es geht ihm und seinen Begleitern dementsprechend um mehr als um Virtuosität oder Unterhaltung: „Ich möchte, dass meine Musik in die Zeit, in der wir leben, eindringt und sie reflektiert; dass sie ihre Sorgen und Sehnsüchte aufnimmt." Gefühlvoll und klar im Pianissimo, auf der anderen Seite bis zum Bersten kraftvoll und laut, eindringlich ruft der Geiger in seinem Spiel die gesamte Emotionspalette hervor.

„Bridges“ hieß das letzte Album des polnischen Geigers Adam Bałdych. In der Tat gehört der trotz seiner zahlreichen Auszeichnungen bis hin zum ECHO Jazz erst 31-Jährige zu den führenden Brückenbauern des europäischen Jazz: Polnische Volksmusik, Klassik und Jazz jeder Couleur finden bei ihm zusammen, gespielt mit einer technischen Bandbreite, bei der sich klassischer Strich mit wirbelnder Improvisation und wuchtiger Rock-Dynamik verbinden. Diese Brücken baut Bałdych seit 2015 mit dem norwegischen Helge-Lien-Trio: „Zusammen mit Helge, Frode und Per Oddvar haben wir tausende von Kilometern hinter uns gebracht und wurden dabei mehr als nur musikalische Begleiter…“

„Brothers“ also heißt Adam Bałdychs neues – obendrein dem Andenken seines verstorbenen Bruders gewidmete – Album, und es geht ihm und seinen Begleitern dementsprechend um mehr als um Virtuosität oder Unterhaltung: „Ich möchte, dass meine Musik in die Zeit, in der wir leben, eindringt und sie reflektiert; dass sie ihre Sorgen und Sehnsüchte aufnimmt. Ich wünsche mir für meine Musik, dass sie die Botschaft von Liebe und Schönheit transportiert. Denn mehr denn je müssen wir uns heute als Brüder und Schwestern fühlen, um einander besser zu verstehen.“ Ein hohes Ziel, das sich auch in Songtiteln wie „Faith“, „Love“, „One“ oder „Shadows“ spiegelt. Aber im bestens eingespielten Verbund mit Helge Lien am Piano, Frode Berg am Bass und Per Oddvar Johansen am Schlagzeug, auf einigen Stücken noch durch den norwegischen Saxofonisten Tore Brunborg (bekannt durch seine Zusammenarbeit etwa mit Tord Gustavsen oder Manu Katchè) verstärkt, besitzt Bałdych auch die Mittel, die verschiedenen Aspekte der Brüderlichkeit musikalisch ausdrücken zu können.

Die Bruderschaft der Musiker ist dafür die Voraussetzung: „Nur völliges Vertrauen und Verständnis führt uns zu einer musikalischen Einheit, die einem kompromisslose musikalische Reisen ermöglicht und das Wagnis zulässt, das Unbekannte zu erforschen“, sagt Bałdych. Dass diese Einheit erreicht wurde, demonstrieren alle neun Stücke des Albums - acht davon Eigenkompositionen von Bałdych. Und auch das Album ergibt ein zusammenhängendes Ganzes, es ist gewissermaßen ein Konzeptalbum geworden. Bałdych schlägt dabei einen Bogen von der fragenden, wuchtig-rockigen Hymne („Elegy“) über die vorsichtig Vertrauen fassende, von Moll in Dur wechselnde Ballade („Faith“) und das lyrische Beschwören der Einheit („One“) und der sein Thema aufgewühlt umkreisende Titeltrack („Brothers“) bis zum sich fast aus dem Nichts kommenden und dorthin wieder ausklingenden „Hallelujah“ von Leonard Cohen.

„Unsere Musik ist ,schmutziger‘ und wilder als beim vorigen Album Bridges“, beschreibt es Bałdych selbst, „wir balancieren auf dem Grat zwischen Schrei und Stille – so wie die heutige Welt, in der Freude und Leid Seite an Seite koexistieren.“ Gefühlvoll und klar im Pianissimo, auf der anderen Seite bis zum Bersten kraftvoll und laut, eindringlich ruft der Geiger in seinem Spiel die gesamte Emotionspalette hervor. Und weil sich im Zusammenspielt polnische und skandinavische Sounds, amerikanische und europäische Improvisationstradition, Stile und Genres so brüderlich vereinen und ergänzen, wird auch der mitgerissene Hörer zum Bruder im Geiste.

Adam Bałdych, violin, renaissance violin
Helge Lien, piano
Frode Berg, bass
Per Oddvar Johansen, drums
Tore Brunborg, saxophone

Produced by Siggi Loch with the artist



No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Brothers

Logo SSL Certificate
© 2010-2017 HIGHRESAUDIO