Axioms: Moments of Truth Axiom Quartet

Cover Axioms: Moments of Truth

Album info



Label: Navona

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 15.00
  • Martin Vogt (1781-1854):
  • 1Insight (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)03:42
  • Karl Blench (1981- ):
  • 2Transition I: Hindsight00:56
  • Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643):
  • 3L'incoronazione di Poppea, SV 308: Pur ti miro (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)04:33
  • Karl Blench:
  • 4Transition II: After Monteverdi00:29
  • Christine McVie (1943- ):
  • 5Little Lies (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)03:23
  • Karl Blench:
  • 6Transition III: Don't Lie00:33
  • Billie Holiday (1915-1959):
  • 7Don't Explain (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)05:14
  • Karl Blench:
  • 8Transition IV: Before Ives01:06
  • Charles Ives (1874-1954):
  • 9Piano Sonata No. 2 "Concord, Mass., 1840-60": III. The Alcotts (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)05:47
  • Karl Blench:
  • 10Transition V: After Ives01:36
  • Steven Paul Smith (1969-2003):
  • 11Everything Means Nothing to Me (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)02:58
  • Karl Blench:
  • 12Transition VI: Everything & Nothing00:36
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
  • 13St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244: No. 39, Erbarme dich (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)05:57
  • Karl Blench:
  • 14Transition VII: Off the Wagon00:59
  • Bob Dylan (1941- ):
  • 15Wagon Wheel (Arr. K. Blench for String Quartet)04:00
  • Karl Blench:
  • 16Axiom09:21
  • Total Runtime51:10

Info for Axioms: Moments of Truth

An axiom is a self-evident truth. Everything on this album represents different aspects and shades of truth. On their debut recording, Axiom Quartet probes the soul and delivers a deeply satisfying statement on truth and inner fulfillment. Each track is a whirlwind journey of soul-searching expression. From the bravado of Insight into the confounding swirl of Hindsight, and on to the profoundly elegant Pur Ti Miro, this recording turns tempo and style on a dime leaving the listener exhilarated. While Insight is the exhilarating realization of truth, Little Lies bends truth. Axiom Quartet s arrangement of the Fleetwood Mac classic is a refined, yet provocative update that feels surprisingly at home in a chamber setting. An understated dignity adds depth to country-folk standard Wagon Wheel, with a delicate banjo dancing under the Quartet s strings. In Everything Means Nothing to Me an artist painfully expresses the truth in his heart while Billie Holiday begs a lover to not tell her the truth in Don t Explain. Axiom is a work about seeking truth and reason, only to have had the answers present from the beginning. Karl Blench wrote all of the arrangements and original compositions for this album. There are small moments of music, also original compositions of Karl Blench, between each of the longer sections of this album. They blend and blur the ideas of the music that comes before and after them to portray the grayer tones of truth. Known for creating and performing programs that mix traditional string quartet repertoire and transcriptions of works from a variety of genres, Axiom Quartet introduces audiences to extraordinary music from different genres and creates new fans of the classical repertoire.

Dominika Dancewicz, violin
Ingrid Hunter, violin
Nina Bledsoe, viola
Patrick Moore, cello

The Axiom Quartet
is a dynamic and passionate professional ensemble based in Houston, TX. The group is known for creating and performing programs that mix classical string quartet repertoire, classical transcriptions, new compositions, and popular rock, electronic, indie, jazz and pop genres.

In 2017 Axiom was named Quartet-In-Residence at the University of St. Thomas in Houston, TX.

​ Passionate for expressive music from across the Western tradition, Axiom Quartet concerts bring in a wide range of audiences; they turn classical fans on to extraordinary popular music, while serving as classical music advocates to contemporary music fans.

Most recently, the Axiom Quartet signed with Parma Recordings. The quartet's debut album titled "Axioms: Moments of Truth" will be released in Houston in March of 2018, a worldwide on April 13, 2018. ​

The Axiom Quartet includes violinist Dominika Dancewicz and Ingrid Gerling, violist Nina Bledsoe, and Patrick Moore, cellist.

Booklet for Axioms: Moments of Truth

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO