Cover Raftery: Chamber Works

Album info



Label: Metier

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 15.00
  • Kevin Raftery (1951):
  • 1String Quartet No. 115:41
  • First Companion:
  • 2I. To Canterbury & Back05:06
  • 3II. Melodies05:23
  • 4III. Vivace05:31
  • Pleasantries:
  • 5I. A Little Bird Told Me01:27
  • 6II. You Can Say That Again01:19
  • 7III. A Bit Windy01:48
  • 8IV. I Was Gobsmacked01:17
  • 9V. I'm So Sorry02:06
  • 10VI. Go On, Then01:38
  • 11VII. Those Were the Days01:28
  • 12VIII. How Pathetic02:53
  • 13IX. Reading Between the Lines01:50
  • Quintet for Flute, Harp, Violin, Viola & Cello - Friedhof:
  • 14I. Andante non tranquillo05:26
  • 15II. Cantabile06:26
  • 16III. Vivace06:48
  • Total Runtime01:06:07

Info for Raftery: Chamber Works

Kevin Raftery is an American composer who has been working in the UK since 1989, and also plays bassoon and sings contemporary vocal music. His work is thoroughly modern, without classical limitations, but is also in turn lyrical, tuneful, dramatic and serene, giving ppeal to more than just fans of modernist music. In fact this is top-class post-modern work. While the Quartet and Quintet are formal works, the Pleasantries suite is full of wit, based on figure of speech expressions.

The three ensembles here are all celebrated in their own right: The Heath Quartet, quartet in residence at Middlebury College, Vermont, near to Metier HQ, have appeared at the BBC Proms, at Carnegie Hall and the Lincoln Center and have made several acclaimed recordings. The Berkeley Ensemble and Animare Ensemble were both formed to explore modern chamber music as well as more traditional material: both have flexible configurations and employ some of the UKs top soloists and orchestral principals.

Heath Quartet
Berkeley Ensemble & Animare Ensemble

No biography found.

Booklet for Raftery: Chamber Works

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO