Brahms: Complete String Quintets Mandelring Quartett & Roland Glassl

Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
03.11.2017

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 18.20
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): String Quintet No. 1 in F Major, Op. 88:
  • 1I. Allegro non troppo ma con Brio10:24
  • 2II. Grave ed appassionato - Allegretto vivace - Tempo I - Presto - Tempo I09:56
  • 3III. Allegro energico - Presto05:36
  • String Quintet in G Major, Op. 111:
  • 4I. Allegro non troppo, ma con Brio12:21
  • 5II. Adagio06:06
  • 6III. Un poco Allegretto05:19
  • 7IV. Vivace, ma non troppo Presto05:07
  • Total Runtime54:49

Info for Brahms: Complete String Quintets



Brahms’s string quintets, masterworks of his late style, demand a precise and sensitive conjunction of contrasts: combining cheerfulness and melancholy, expansive ideas and compressed form, reminiscences of the past (including his own early works) and the desire to express a new and valid musical message – all this needs to be both perfectly balanced and clearly articulated. The Mandelring Quartet with Roland Glassl has pulled off such a “knowing” interpretation, masterfully balancing the works’ inner tensions.

Following on their successful release of Mendelssohn's complete string quartets, the Mandelring Quartet is now turning to Brahms in a recording of all the composer's string quintets and sextets. With its new roster (featuring Andreas Willwohl, viola), the ensemble joins with Roland Glassl, the quartet's long-time violist, in a recording of the two string quintets for audite.

Brahms's string quintets resemble self portraits. In them he presents, in concentrated form, the contrasts that characterize his musical thinking: drawing from musical history and his own creative output, he achieved a vision of something that is both new and eternally valid. He made use of the larger instrumentation to suggest expansiveness, at the same time casting the work in a terse and concise expressive form.

The musicians' rich and varied experience, gained from many concerts and recordings of repertoire ranging up to the present day, greatly enriches this production. Brahms's quintets, masterworks of his late style, demand a precise and sensitive approach to their conjunction of contrasts: combining cheerfulness and melancholy, expansive ideas and compressed form, reminiscences of the past (including his own early works) and the desire to express a new and valid musical message - all this needs to be both perfectly balanced and clearly articulated. The Mandelring Quartet with Roland Glassl has pulled off such a "knowing" interpretation, masterfully balancing the works' inner tensions.

Roland Glassl, violin
Mandelring Quartett



Roland Glassl
Hailed by The Strad magazine as the "new century's new talent, (one of) the stars of the next decade,” German violist Roland Glassl was launched into an international career as prizewinner of many prestigious national and international competitions.

Glassl was the first German to win the first prize at the Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition in England, where he was also awarded the Peter Schidlof Prize for the finalist with the most beautiful tone. Other awards include first prize at the II. Viola Competition of the German Viola Society, top prize at the 1st International Viola Competition Vienna, second prize at the Primrose Viola Competition, and first prize at the Washington International Competition for strings.

Concert tours have take him through Europe, North- and South America, and China. Glassl has appeared at Wigmore Hall in London, at the National Centre for the Performing Arts in Peking, the Berlin Philharmonie, the Ravinia Festival in Chicago/ USA, Chamber Music International (CMI) in Dallas/ USA, the Caramoor Festival in New York, Musica Riva in Riva del Garda/ Italy, and Open Chamber Music in Prussia Cove/England. As a soloist, Glassl has performed with conductors such as Sir Colin Davis, Howard Griffiths, Hans Richter, Markus Poschner, Alfred Eschwé, Julius Karr-Bertoli and orchestras such as the Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, the China National Opera House Symphony Orchestra, the Georgian Chamber Orchestra, the German Philharmonic Orchestra Rhineland-Palatinate, the Pécs Symphony Orchestra, the Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra and the Prague Chamber Orchestra.

As a chamber musician, Glassl has collaborated with leading artists, including Julia Fischer, Michael Sanderling, Lisa Batiashvili, Miriam Fried, Pekka Kuusisto, Sharon Kam, Atar Arad, Leon Fleischer, Michael Tree, and Hariolf Schlichtig.

From 1999 to 2015 Roland Glassl was the violist of the Mandelring Quartet, recognised as one of the foremost quartets in the world with frequent engagements in virtually every major chamber music hall. The quartet’s numerous recordings, which span much of their wide-ranging repertoire, have garnered the German Music Critics’ Prize as well as multiple nominations for the International Classical Music Award. Since 2004, Glassl is professor of viola at the at the Musikhochschule Frankfurt as successor of Tabea Zimmermann.

Roland Glassl was born in Germany, into a luthier's family with a tradition of many generations of violin making. He currently performs on a viola made by his father, who was also his first violin teacher. Later, he continued his studies at the “Musikhochschule München” with Ana Chumachenco. After receiving his artist diploma with distinction, he came to the United States to study violin with Paul Biss and viola with Atar Arad at Indiana University. Fascinated by the deep, warm sound of the viola, he decided to devote himself to the instrument and its music.

Mandelring Quartett
“Brilliance is not a strong enough word – it’s more like an electric shock. The music transfixes the listener from literally the very first note, electrifying heart and brain without any advance warning. Mendelssohn’s music as played by the Mandelring Quartet, under extreme tension, heated and feverish, is dangerously close to catching fire!” So wrote the Neue Zürcher Zeitung in a CD review. In 2014 The Strad, the leading English-language classical music magazine, gave the Mandelring Quartet a title page and a detailed portrait. The music magazine Fono Forum classes the ensemble as one of the best half-dozen string quartets in the world.

The Mandelring Quartet’s success in winning some great competitions – in Munich (ARD), Evian and Reggio Emilia (Premio Paolo Borciani) – was what launched their international career. Today their performing commitments take them to international musical centres such as Vienna, Paris, London, Madrid, New York, Los Angeles and Vancouver. In addition their concert diary includes regular tours to Central and South America, the Near East and Asia. They are also warmly welcomed guests at leading festivals including the Schwarzenberg Schubertiade and those at Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Lockenhaus and Montpellier. Wherever these four musicians appear, they leave behind lasting musical impressions: for example, after the Mandelring Quartet’s performance of their Shostakovich quartet cycle at the Salzburg Festival the Salzburger Nachrichten wrote “A memorable festival experience not likely to be equalled in the near future.”

The HambacherMusikfest, the Mandelring Quartet’s own festival in its home town of Neustadt on the Weinstrasse (Wine Road), has developed into a meeting point for lovers of chamber music from all over the globe. Since 2010 the ensemble has had a concert series of its own in the Berliner Philharmonie, and since 2016 another in the Residenz, Munich.

The Mandelring Quartet celebrated its 30th birthday in 2013 in the Berlin Radialsystem V with a project called “3 from amongst 30”, five concerts at each of which the audience was invited to select a programme of three works from a list of thirty immediately before the start.

Numerous prize-winning CD recordings testify to the quartet’s exceptional quality and wide-ranging repertoire. Their recording of the complete quartets of Shostakovich attracted particular attention and came to be regarded by critics as the benchmark recording of these works. Their recording of all Mendelssohn’s chamber music for strings also received outstanding reviews. Their current project is a complete recording of all the string chamber music of Brahms.

Booklet for Brahms: Complete String Quintets

Logo SSL Certificate
© 2010-2017 HIGHRESAUDIO

Brahms: Complete String Quintets Mandelring Quartett & Roland Glassl

Cover Brahms: Complete String Quintets

Album info

Album-Release:
2017

HRA-Release:
03.11.2017

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 18.20
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): String Quintet No. 1 in F Major, Op. 88:
  • 1I. Allegro non troppo ma con Brio10:24
  • 2II. Grave ed appassionato - Allegretto vivace - Tempo I - Presto - Tempo I09:56
  • 3III. Allegro energico - Presto05:36
  • String Quintet in G Major, Op. 111:
  • 4I. Allegro non troppo, ma con Brio12:21
  • 5II. Adagio06:06
  • 6III. Un poco Allegretto05:19
  • 7IV. Vivace, ma non troppo Presto05:07
  • Total Runtime54:49

Info for Brahms: Complete String Quintets

Brahms’ Streichquintette, Meisterwerke seines Spätstils, verlangen nach einer präzisen und sensiblen Verschränkung von Gegensätzen: Heiterkeit und Melancholie, die Suggestion gedanklicher Weite und komprimierter Form, der Rückblick in die Geschichte und das Verlangen nach neuen musikalischen Aussagen – all dies will genau ausbalanciert und auch deutlich artikuliert sein. Diese „wissende“ Interpretation gelingt dem Mandelring Quartett und Roland Glassl mit souveräner Balance der inneren Spannungen.

Nach der erfolgreichen Veröffentlichung aller Streichquartette von Mendelssohn wendet sich das Mandelring Quartett nun der Einspielung aller Streichquintette und -sextette von Brahms zu. Das Ensemble hat in neuer Besetzung (mit Andreas Willwohl an der Viola) zusammen mit Roland Glassl, dem langjährigen Bratschisten des Quartetts, zunächst die beiden Streichquintette für audite eingespielt.

Brahms' Werke gleichen Selbstporträts. In ihnen konzentrierte er Gegensätze, die sein musikalisches Denken prägten: Aus dem Rückblick auf die Musikgeschichte und auf das eigene Schaffen gewann er die Perspek­tive des Neuen, überzeitlich Gültigen. Die größere Besetzung gegenüber dem Streichquartett nutzte er zur Suggestion von Weite, band sie aber in eine knappe, gedrängte Form der Aussage.

Die reiche, vielseitige Erfahrung, welche die fünf Musiker in Konzerten und Aufnahmen mit einem breiten, bis in die Gegenwartsmusik reichenden Repertoire sammelten, kommt dieser Produktion zugute. Brahms' Quintette, Meisterwerke seines Spätstils, verlangen ein präzises und sensibles Verhältnis zur Verschränkung von Gegensätzen: Heiterkeit und Melancholie, die Suggestion gedanklicher Weite und komprimierter Form, der Rückblick in die Geschichte, auch ins eigene Frühwerk und das Verlangen nach gültigen, neuen musikalischen Aussagen - all dies will genau ausbalanciert, aber auch deutlich artikuliert sein. Diese „wissende" Interpretation gelingt dem Mandelring Quartett und Roland Glassl mit souveräner Balance der inneren Spannungen.

Roland Glassl, Violine
Mandelring Quartett




Roland Glassl
hat sich als Solist und Kammermusiker einen Namen gemacht, der weit über die Landesgrenzen hinausreicht. Sowohl zahlreiche Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben (1. Preis „Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition“ - als erster Deutscher überhaupt -, bei dem ihm zusätzlich auch der „Peter Schidlof Prize“ für den Finalisten mit dem schönsten Ton verliehen wurde, 1. Preis beim „Washington International Competition for Strings“, Gewinner des 1. Internationalen Viola Wettbewerbes in Wien, 1. Preis beim Viola-Wettbewerb der Deutschen Viola-Gesellschaft in Celle), wie auch seine 16 jährige Quartetttätigkeit im Mandelring Quartett haben ihn weltweit auf viele große Bühnen und zu internationalen Festivals gebracht.

Roland Glassl spielte u.a. in der Londoner Wigmore Hall, dem National Centre for the Performing Arts in Peking, der Berliner Philharmonie, beim „Ravinia Festival“ in Chicago, dem „Chamber Music International“ (CMI) in Dallas, dem „Caramoor Festival“ in New York, dem „Musica Riva Festival“ in Riva del Garda und den „Open Chamber Music Festival“ in Prussia Cove.

Als Solist arbeitet er mit Dirigenten wie Sir Colin Davis, Hermann Bäumer, Howard Griffiths, Hans Richter, Markus Poschner, Alfred Eschwé, Theodor Guschlbauer und trat mit zahlreichen Orchestern auf, u.a. dem Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich, dem Philharmonischem Staatsorchester Mainz, dem China National Opera House Symphony Orchestra, dem Georgischem Kammerorchester, der Deutschen Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, den Ungarischen Sinfonikern Pécs, dem Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra und dem Prager Kammerorchester.

Als Kammermusikpartner spielt er mit Künstlern wie Leon Fleischer, Miriam Fried, Pekka Kuusisto, Julia Fischer, Sophia Jaffé, Lisa Batiashvili, Michael Sanderling, Sharon Kam, Michel Lethiec, Atar Arad, Michael Tree, Hariolf Schlichtig, dem Danel und dem Henschel Quartett. Seit 2004 ist Roland Glassl Nachfolger von Tabea Zimmermann als Professor für Viola an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main.

Der in Ingolstadt geborene Musiker stammt aus einer Geigenbauerfamilie und spielt auf einem Instrument seines Vaters, 2002 gebaut. Den ersten Violinunterricht erhielt er ebenso bei seinem Vater, später dann bei Gerhard Seitz in München. Von 1992 an studierte er an der Musikhochschule München bei Prof. Ana Chumachenco, wo er 1996 sein Diplom mit Auszeichnung erhielt. Schon während des Studiums hat ihn die außerordentliche Klangvielfalt der Viola fasziniert und so hat er sich entschieden nach ersten Anregungen durch Thomas Riebl, Roland Metzger und Hariolf Schlichtig, sich ganz der Viola zu widmen. Wesentlich geprägt wurde sein Spiel durch das anschließende Studium bei Atar Arad an der Indiana University in Bloomington/USA, wofür ihm vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) ein Stipendium zugesprochen wurde.

Nach Abschluss des Studiums mit dem „Artist Diploma“, hat sich Roland Glassl entschlossen zurück nach Deutschland zu kommen, um dort sowohl kammermusikalisch, wie auch solistisch aktiv zu sein. Neben der intensiven Quartetttätigkeit im Mandelring Quartett (1999-2015), spielt er auch zahlreiche Konzerte im Trio Charolca, einer klangfarbenreichen Besetzung mit Harfe, Flöte und Bratsche.

Mandelring Quartett
„Fulminant ist gar kein Ausdruck. Wie ein Stromschlag fährt einem die Musik ins Mark, buchstäblich mit dem ersten, Herz und Hirn elektrisierenden Takt, ohne jede Vorwarnung: die Musik von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, die das Mandelring Quartett unter äusserster Hochspannung spielt, hitzig, fiebrig – brandgefährlich!“ schreibt die Neue Zürcher Zeitung in einer CD-Rezension. The Strad, das führende englischsprachige Klassikmagazin, widmete dem Mandelring Quartett 2014 eine Titelseite und ein ausführliches Porträt. Das Musikmagazin Fono Forum zählt das Ensemble zu den sechs besten Streichquartetten der Welt.

Der Gewinn großer Wettbewerbe – München (ARD), Evian und Reggio Emilia (Premio Paolo Borciani) – war der Einstieg in die internationale Karriere des Mandelring Quartetts. Heute führen Konzertreisen das Ensemble in internationale Musikzentren wie Wien, Paris, London, Madrid, New York, Los Angeles und Vancouver. Zudem finden sich im Konzertkalender regelmäßige Tourneen nach Mittel- und Südamerika, in den Nahen Osten und nach Asien. Auch bei großen Festivals – unter anderem Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Schleswig-Holstein, Rheingau, Lockenhaus und Montpellier – zählt das Quartett zu den gern gesehenen Gästen. Wo immer die vier Musiker auftreten, hinterlassen sie bleibende musikalische Spuren: „Ein denkwürdiges, sobald nicht wiederholbares Festspielerlebnis“, schrieben etwa die Salzburger Nachrichten nach dem Schostakowitsch-Zyklus des Mandelring Quartetts bei den Salzburger Festspielen.

Das HambacherMusikfest, das Festival des Mandelring Quartetts in seiner Heimatstadt Neustadt an der Weinstraße, hat sich zu einem Treffpunkt für Kammermusikfreunde aus aller Welt entwickelt. Seit 2010 gestaltet das Ensemble eine eigene Konzertreihe in der Berliner Philharmonie, seit 2016 zusätzlich in der Residenz in München.

Seinen 30. Geburtstag feierte das Mandelring Quartett 2013 im Berliner Radialsystem V mit dem Projekt „3 aus 30“, bei dem das Publikum in fünf Konzerten die gespielten Werke unmittelbar vor Konzertbeginn auswählen konnte.

Zahlreiche preisgekrönte CD-Aufnahmen zeigen die außergewöhnliche Qualität und das breite Repertoire des Ensembles; besondere Aufmerksamkeit erregte international die Einspielung sämtlicher Schostakowitsch-Quartette, die von namhaften Kritikern als Referenzaufnahme angesehen wird. Die Aufnahme der gesamten Kammermusik für Streicher von Mendelssohn wurde ebenfalls hervorragend rezensiert. Aktuelles Projekt ist die Gesamteinspielung der Streicherkammermusik von Brahms.



Booklet for Brahms: Complete String Quintets

Logo SSL Certificate
© 2010-2017 HIGHRESAUDIO