Schubert Ran Jia

Album info



Label: RCA Red Seal

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828): Piano Sonata No. 19 in C Minor, D. 958:
  • 1I. Allegro10:44
  • 2II. Adagio07:11
  • 3III. Menuetto. Allegro03:11
  • 4IV. Allegro09:12
  • Piano Sonata No. 16 in A Minor, D. 845:
  • 5I. Moderato11:25
  • 6II. Andante poco mosso12:01
  • 7III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace - Trio. Un poco più lento07:02
  • 8IV. Rondo. Allegro vivace04:53
  • Jia Daqun (1955): Three Preludes for Solo Piano:
  • 9I. Intertwined01:19
  • 10II. Melodies from Sichuan Opera03:15
  • 11III. Homage to Schubert04:11
  • Total Runtime01:14:24

Info for Schubert

Die beiden gewichtigen Schubert-Sonaten D 958 und D 845 werden von der jungen chinesischen Pianistin Ran Jia gespielt, die mit der Musik Schuberts bei mehreren Konzerten schon für Aufsehen sorgte.

Auf dem Album verbindet sie die Musik Schuberts mit einer Komposition ihres Vaters, dem chinesischen Komponisten Jia Daqun. Sein Werk „Three Preludes for Piano Solo“ verbindet dabei Elemente traditioneller chinesischer Musik mit einer Hommage an Schubert.

Ran Jia, Klavier

Ran Jia
is regarded as a striking musician with unusual natural abilities. Tan Dun hailed her a “piano poet with dramatic skill in music making.” William Grant Nabore, the director of international Piano Academy Lake Como appraised her "Ran Jia is one of the finest pianists of her generation. She has qualities that are as rare as precious on the music scene today: poetry and and artistry. She is a phenomenal pianist! Just listen to her!“

Born in China, Ms. Jia began studying piano at the age of three and made her solo debut in 1995. In May 2004, Ms. Jia played a recital at the Heluting Concert Hall at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. Her recital was received with great enthusiasm by the audience and the media. Oriental TV broadcasted two documentaries featuring Ms. Jia’s life as a young artist including her live performance at the Conservatory. In November 2005, Ms. Jia made her debut at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall with her teacher, Gary Graffman, and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s performing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467 under Maestro Li Jian.

In 2006, Ms. Jia played a return, sold-out concert at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music, and a performance of two Mozart concerti with the Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra at the Shanghai Concert Hall. She has been featured in a live concert on Chicago’s classical music station WFMT as well as a worldwide broadcast on WQXR in New York of a concert in honor of Thelonius Monk’s 90th birthday for which she was the only classical pianist invited to performan. Ms.Jia made an acclaimed European recital debut at the Klavierfestival Ruhr in the summer of 2008 playing two Schubert sonatas. The press commented “She refines each moment, each development, each transition of a melody to the next...With marvelous impressive elegance in touch she feels her way into Schubert’s language – sometimes with dolorous sweetness, sometimes with thunderous rage, then again with a sparkling style, to then go back to a Beethovian energy. There are no fractures, no stutters, no technical hurdles – with this pianist the structures and sounds flow naturally on its own...Tremendous.”

In 2009 Ms. Jia made her Vancouver Symphony Orchestra subscription debut under Maestro BramwellTovey. In the summer of 2010, Ms. Jia toured the southern cities of China, performing Saint Saens Concerto No. 2 with Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra under Guoyong Zhang. She made her debut at the Miami International Piano Festival in May 2010, a recital which was recorded and recently released on VAI International as a DVD. Other engagements include performances at Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Dresdner Musikfestspiele, Gilmore International Keyboard Festival, debuts in DusseldorfTonhalle, MunichHerkulesssaal, and Ludwigshafen, Germany, and with the Hong Kong Philharmonic.

Her recent performances include concerts at the Shanghai International Piano Festival, ‘MISA’ Summer festival Shanghai, a sold out recital at Shanghai concert hall, At the Kumho Art Hall in Seoul, Korea, Franz Liszt Festival at Grottammare Italy, Albert Konzerte series in Freiburg, Germany, Festival de la Haute Claree in Nevache, France; She made her debut with Shanghai Oper House, Jenaer Symphoniker, Würzburg Symphonische Orchester in Germany, Bruckner Orchestra in Linz, Austria, English Chamber Orchestra, and State Youth Orchestra of Armenia. She also made a recording of two Schubert sonatas under French Label Artalinna and will be released world-widely in 2015.

In season 2015-16, she will make her debut with China Phiharmonic Orchestra, Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Hangzhou Phiharmonic Orchesra and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra unter Maestro Claus Peter flor, Marcus Bosch and Chung Myung-whun. She will also make her first appearance in Abu Dhabi.

Ran Jia studied with Gary Graffman at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia and the Mater and Konzertexam degree with Prof. Nina Tichman at the Hochschule für Musik, Köln and she is enrolled by the International Piano Academy Lake Como in Italy, studying under Maestro William Grant Nabore.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2018 HIGHRESAUDIO