Paganini: 24 Caprices, Op. 1 Augustin Hadelich

Cover Paganini: 24 Caprices, Op. 1

Album info



Label: Warner Classics, Warner Classics UK Ltd

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Augustin Hadelich

Composer: Niccolo Paganini (1782-1840)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840): 24 Caprices, Op. 1:
  • 1No. 1 in E Major01:55
  • 2No. 2 in B Minor03:01
  • 3No. 3 in E Minor03:32
  • 4No. 4 in C Minor06:46
  • 5No. 5 in A Minor03:09
  • 6No. 6 in G Minor05:10
  • 7No. 7 in A Minor04:25
  • 8No. 8 in E-Flat Major02:57
  • 9No. 9 in E Major03:01
  • 10No. 10 in G Minor02:25
  • 11No. 11 in C Major04:20
  • 12No. 12 in A-Flat Major02:36
  • 13No. 13 in B-Flat02:46
  • 14No. 14 in E-Flat Major02:17
  • 15No. 15 in E Minor03:01
  • 16No. 16 in G Minor01:35
  • 17No. 17 in E-Flat Major04:04
  • 18No. 18 in C Major02:36
  • 19No. 19 in E-Flat Major03:00
  • 20No. 20 in D Major03:43
  • 21No. 21 in A Major03:18
  • 22No. 22 in F Major02:45
  • 23No. 23 in E-Flat Major03:51
  • 24No. 24 in A Minor04:45
  • Total Runtime01:20:58

Info for Paganini: 24 Caprices, Op. 1

The elegant, but impassioned musicianship of Augustin Hadelich evokes the violinists of the ‘golden age’ of the early and mid-20th century. Winner in 2015 of the inaugural Warner Music Prize, Hadelich now releases his first recording for Warner Classics: Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin. These works of proverbial virtuosity were conceived by the flamboyant Nicolò Paganini to test and showcase every aspect of a violinist’s skills. As Gramophone has written, Hadelich “meets and surmounts all obstacles, yet it's not technical wizardry that most impresses but his musicianship.”

Hadelich’s musical personality has been summarised by the Washington Post as “distinct and nostalgic, never a dizzying exhibition of skill devoid of substance”. Similarly, Gramophone has written that Hadelich “meets and surmounts all obstacles, yet it's not technical wizardry that most impresses but his musicianship. He makes the musical sense of each piece crystal clear, and his playing has an inner life, each phrase, each note, is felt as it's played.” Described as a “brilliant violinist” by The New York Times, in the words of The Strad he is “a masterful musician”.

Augustin Hadelich, Violine

Augustin Hadelich
Continuing to astonish audiences with his phenomenal technique, poetic sensitivity, and gorgeous tone, Augustin Hadelich has established himself as one of the great violinists of his generation. His remarkable consistency throughout the repertoire, from Bach and Beethoven to Ligeti and Adès, is seldom encountered in a single artist.

Highlights of Augustin Hadelich’s 2015/2016 season include debuts with the Chicago Symphony, Pittsburgh Symphony, and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra in Carnegie Hall, as well as return performances with the London Philharmonic, The Philadelphia Orchestra, and the symphonies of Atlanta, Cincinnati, Detroit, Louisville, Milwaukee, New Jersey, Oregon, Seattle, Utah, and Vancouver. Other projects include a return to the Wigmore Hall in London, a recording with the London Philharmonic, a residency with the Bournemouth Symphony, and numerous recital appearances in Germany.

With this season’s addition of the Chicago and Pittsburgh symphonies, Mr. Hadelich will have appeared with every major orchestra and chamber orchestra in the U.S., several on numerous occasions. Upcoming festival appearances include his 2015 debuts at Ravinia and the Grand Teton Music Festival, as well as return engagements at Aspen and Bravo! Vail Valley. He has also performed at Blossom, Britt, Chautauqua (where he made his American debut in 2001), Eastern Music Festival, the Hollywood Bowl, Marlboro, and Tanglewood.

Among Mr. Hadelich’s recent and upcoming worldwide appearances are the Badische Staatskapelle/Karlsruhe, BBC Philharmonic/Manchester, BBC Symphony/London, Danish National Symphony, Dresden Philharmonic, Finnish Radio Philharmonic, Malaysia Philharmonic, Orchestra, Mozarteum Orchestra/Salzburg, Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, NHK Symphony/Tokyo, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, RTE National Symphony Orchestra/Dublin, São Paulo Symphony, Stuttgart Radio Orchestra, and a highly acclaimed tour of China with the San Diego Symphony.

Augustin Hadelich has collaborated with such renowned conductors as Roberto Abbado, Marc Albrecht, Marin Alsop, Herbert Blomstedt, Lionel Bringuier, Justin Brown, James Conlon, Christoph von Dohnányi, the late Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Alan Gilbert, Hans Graf, Giancarlo Guerrero, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Jakub Hrusa, Christoph König, Jahja Ling, Hannu Lintu, Andrew Litton, Cristian Macelaru, Jun Märkl, Sir Neville Marriner, Fabio Mechetti, Juanjo Mena, Ludovic Morlot, Sakari Oramo, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Peter Oundjian, Vasily Petrenko, Yan Pascal Tortelier, Gilbert Varga, Hugh Wolff, Edo de Waart, Kazuki Yamada, and Jaap van Zweden, among others.

Also an enthusiastic recitalist, Mr. Hadelich’s numerous appearances include Carnegie Hall, Concertgebouw/Amsterdam, The Frick Collection/New York, Kennedy Center/Washington, D.C., Kioi Hall/Tokyo, the Louvre, and the chamber music societies of Detroit, La Jolla, Philadelphia, Seattle, and Vancouver. His April 2014 performance/premiere of David Lang’s 35-minute solo violin work, mystery sonatas, at Carnegie’s Zankel Hall was a resounding success. Standing alone in a single spotlight, Mr. Hadelich wove his way through the intricate difficulties of this awe-inspiring work with apparent ease. His chamber music partners have included Inon Barnatan, Jeremy Denk, James Ehnes, Alban Gerhardt, Richard Goode, Gary Hoffman, Kim Kashkashian, Robert Kulek, Cho-Liang Lin, Midori, Charles Owen, Vadim Repin, Mitsuko Uchida, Joyce Yang, and members of the Guarneri and Juilliard quartets.

Augustin Hadelich’s first major orchestral recording, featuring the violin concertos of Jean Sibelius and Thomas Adès (Concentric Paths) with Hannu Lintu conducting the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, was released to great acclaim in March 2014 on the AVIE label. The disc has been nominated for a Gramophone Award, and was listed by NPR on their Top 10 Classical CDs of 2014. He has recorded three previous albums for AVIE: Flying Solo, a CD of masterworks for solo violin; Echoes of Paris, featuring French and Russian repertoire influenced by Parisian culture in the early 20th century; and Histoire du Tango, a program of violin-guitar works in collaboration with Pablo Villegas. A recent recording of the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto and Bartók’s Concerto No. 2 with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra under Miguel Harth-Bedoya was released on AVIE in the spring of 2015. For the Seattle Symphony with Ludovic Morlot, Mr. Hadelich has recorded Dutilleux’s violin concerto “L’Arbre des songes.”

The 2006 Gold Medalist of the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis, Augustin Hadelich is the recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant (2009), a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship in the UK (2011), and Lincoln Center’s Martin E. Segal Award (2012).

The son of German parents, Mr. Hadelich was born and raised in Italy. A resident of New York City since 2004 and now an American citizen, he holds an Artist Diploma from The Juilliard School, where he was a student of Joel Smirnoff. He plays on the 1723 “Ex- Kiesewetter” Stradivari violin, on loan from Clement and Karen Arrison through the Stradivari Society of Chicago.

Booklet for Paganini: 24 Caprices, Op. 1

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO