Bach: The Complete Organ Works, Vol. 9 David Goode

Cover Bach: The Complete Organ Works, Vol. 9

Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: David Goode

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.70
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Prelude & Fugue in C Major, BWV 531: I. Prelude02:31
  • 2Prelude & Fugue in C Major, BWV 531: II. Fugue04:13
  • 3Chorale Preludes: No. 18, Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 73001:44
  • 4Chorale Preludes: No. 7, Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott, BWV 72003:41
  • 5Fantasia in G Major, BWV 57106:52
  • 6Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig, BWV 76820:32
  • 7Fantasia & Fugue in C Minor, BWV 537: I. Fantasia04:30
  • 8Fantasia & Fugue in C Minor, BWV 537: II. Fugue04:08
  • 9Das Jesulein soll doch mein Trost, BWV 70201:42
  • 10Chorale Preludes: No. 55, Wir glauben all an einen Gott, BWV 76504:17
  • Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688 - 1758):
  • 11Trio in C Minor, BWV 585: I. Largo - II. Allegro un poco (Arr. J. S. Bach for Organ)04:57
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767):
  • 12Trio in G Major, BWV 586 (Arr. J. S. Bach)03:54
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 13Prelude & Fugue for Organ in A Minor, BWV 543: I. Prelude03:37
  • 14Prelude & Fugue for Organ in A Minor, BWV 543: II. Fugue06:58
  • Total Runtime01:13:36

Info for Bach: The Complete Organ Works, Vol. 9

David Goode continues his new series of the complete organ works of Johann Sebastian Bach, played on the Metzler Söhne organ of Trinity College Chapel, Cambridge. This ninth volume includes the Fantasia and Fugue, BWV 537 as well as the “Trio after Telemann”, BWV 586. David Goode is Organist at Eton College, combining this post with a flourishing performing career. A music scholar at Eton, and then organ scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, he studied organ with David Sanger and in Amsterdam with Jacques van Oortmerssen. Of his Bach album for Signum released in 2013 The Times said: “One of Britain’s finest organists puts the 1714 organ in Freiburg Cathedral through its paces… An exemplary introduction.” He has also developed a profile as a composer: a set of anthems has been published, together with recordings by the choir of King’s College, Cambridge; and his Blitz Requiem was performed in September 2013 by the Bach Choir at St. Paul’s Cathedral, and broadcast on Classic FM.

David Goode, organ

David Goode
has been Organist and Head of Keyboard at Eton College since 2005. He was a music scholar at Eton, and then organ scholar at King’s College, Cambridge from 1991-4, studying organ with David Sanger and, in Amsterdam, with Jacques van Oortmerssen. From 1996-2001 he was Sub-Organist at Christ Church, Oxford; following prizes at the 1997 St. Alban’s Competition, and the 1998 Calgary Competition, he concentrated on a freelance career between 2001 and 2003. In 2003 he moved for 2 years to Los Angeles as Organist-in-Residence at First Congregational Church, home to the world’s largest church organ. He made his Royal Festival Hall debut in 2002, and played Bach’s Art of Fugue in the QEH in 2009. In 1999 he made the first of numerous appearances at the Proms, inluding a solo recital in 2006; in recent years he has played all over Europe and the US. He has an established duo partnership with the trumpeter Alison Balsom, with recent concerts including the Moscow Arts, Three Choirs, and Passau Festivals. His CD releases since 1994 (from Cambridge, Oxford, Los Angeles, Eton, and most recently Freiberg for Signum Records) have received excellent reviews; he has also forged a strong relationship on Radio 3 with the BBCNOW and the BBC Singers. Volume 1 of his series of the Complete Organ Music of Max Reger was widely praised; he has also played numerous contemporary works, including Francis Pott’s Christus (a performance described by The Times as ‘a stupendous achievement’). He is currently recording the complete organ works of Bach on the organ of Trinity College, Cambridge.

Booklet for Bach: The Complete Organ Works, Vol. 9

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO