I Love A Love Song! Rachael & Vilray

Album info



Label: Nonesuch

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Rachael & Vilray

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Any Little Time03:31
  • 2Even in the Evenin'03:47
  • 3Is a Good Man Real?04:13
  • 4Just Two03:16
  • 5Why Do I?03:04
  • 6I'm Not Ready03:14
  • 7Join Me in a Dream03:33
  • 8Hate is the Basis (of Love)03:33
  • 9A Love Song, Played Slow03:48
  • 10Just Me This Year03:07
  • 11I've Drawn Your Face03:41
  • 12Goodnight My Love03:25
  • 13Let's Make Love on This Plane (Full Band Version) [Bonus Track] ((Full Band Version) [Bonus Track])03:31
  • Total Runtime45:43

Info for I Love A Love Song!

Combining Rachael Price’s singular voice with Vilray’s knack for songwriting, I Love a Love Song! showcases Rachael & Vilray’s evolution, pushing them to a new level as they jump ahead in vision and drive. The duo has keenly absorbed the work from their jazz predecessors, taking the best of the past and creating something new.

Recorded at United Recording in Los Angeles, CA, the twelve-track album was produced, engineered and mixed by Dan Knobler (Judy Collins, Allison Russell) and features arrangements from Jacob Zimmerman. All songs were written by Vilray except for the 1930’s classic “Goodnight My Love,” which was written by Mack Gordon and Harry Revel.

Rachael Price and Vilray began performing together in 2015, although they first met in 2003 as students at the New England Conservatory of Music. Vilray formed a couple of bands with Price’s soon-to-be bandmates in Lake Street Dive—Price recalls he had a nimble mind and quick wit when it came to lyrics. It was more than a decade later that Price and Vilray began to collaborate. She had been on the road much of each year with Lake Street Dive and he had been developing his own solo act, just voice and guitar.

"I Love a Love Song! is a truly lovely album, front to back, from the B3’s inclusion on “Join Me in a Dream” to the vocal interplay of “Hate is the Basis (Of Love)”. More than anything, it’s two accomplished solo performers coming together with a mutual respect and love of musical standards with the goal of responding in kind." (Matt Conner, nodepression.com)

Rachael & Vilray

Rachael Price & Vilray
met at the New England Conservatory of Music in the Fall of 2003 and became fast friends. Their duo grew from a shared reverence for the pop music of the 1930s and 40s and its wide range of emotions. With simple arrangements and only a guitar for accompaniment, they perform original works, and revive forgotten gems of the great jazz big bands and western swing small ensembles. Their sound recalls both the warmth of radio's golden age and the intimacy of parlor concerts in a time before recordings.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO