Shostakovich String Quartets 3 & 9 Goldmund Quartet

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 15.30
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): String Quartet no. 3:
  • 1String Quartet no. 3: I. Allegretto07:03
  • 2String Quartet no. 3: II. Moderato con Moto05:35
  • 3String Quartet no. 3: III. Allegro non Troppo04:14
  • 4String Quartet no. 3: IV. Adagio05:53
  • 5String Quartet no. 3: V. Moderato09:59
  • String Quartet no. 9:
  • 6String Quartet no. 9: I. Moderato con Moto04:24
  • 7String Quartet no. 9: II. Adagio03:55
  • 8String Quartet no. 9: III. Allegretto04:06
  • 9String Quartet no. 9: IV. Adagio03:21
  • 10String Quartet no. 9: V. Allegro09:40
  • Total Runtime58:10

Info for Shostakovich String Quartets 3 & 9

The Goldmund Quartet from Munich celebrates its debut with Berlin Classics and goes straight to the top: the string quartets no. 3 and 9 by Dmitri Shostakovich. Irony, cynicism, depression, but apparently boundless joy, and intense ecstatic emotion: those are all characteristics of the music of Shostakovich. Absolute high points are confronted with deeply tragic moments.

This provides the young ensemble with a real stimulus: "The greatest challenge is that this music is so extreme. Elation, incredible downs, unbelievable sadness. You need to immerse yourself in these different emotional moods. With Shostakovich you really need to go all out."

Goldmund Quartett

The Goldmund Quartet
formed by violinists Florian Schötz and Pinchas Adt, violist Christoph Vandory and cellist Raphael Paratore, is now counted as one of the most exciting young string quartets in Europe. Since their debut at Munich’s Prinzregententheater, the quartet appeared at international festivals such as the Festival Aix-en-Provence, Festival de Música y Danza Granada and Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele. Recitals have taken them to prestigious chamber music venues and series in Denmark, France, Norway, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Canada, China and the US. The 2017/18 season sees the Goldmund Quartet give its debuts at Washington’s Phillips Collection, Hemsing Festival Norway and at Shanghai Concerto Hall.

Highlights from the past season included their debuts at Vienna’s Musikverein, Konzerthaus Dortmund, Kissinger Sommer and Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. Further concerts will lead the four musicians to International Music Festival Heidelberger Frühling and Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The Goldmund Quartet has been awarded several prizes and scholarships, amongst them the Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now scholarship. In 2015 they received a scholarship from Deutscher Musikwettbewerb, the Bavarian Young Artist Award and recently the Karl-Klinger-Prize during the 2016 ARD International Music Competition Munich.

In 2018 the Quartet won Second Prize along with the Twentieth Century Prize at the distinguished Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition in London.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO