Fascination Opera: A Virtuoso Firework of Fantasies & Variations Dorothea Seel & Christoph Hammer

Cover Fascination Opera: A Virtuoso Firework of Fantasies & Variations

Album info



Label: haenssler CLASSIC

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Dorothea Seel & Christoph Hammer

Composer: Raffaele Galli, Jules Herman, Giulio Briccialdi, Moritz Fürstenau, Friedrich Kuhlau, Joachim Andersen, Theobald Boehm, Wilhelm Popp

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.90
  • Raffaele Galli (1824 - 1889):
  • 1Variations on "The Barber of Seville", Op. 8308:27
  • Jules Herman (1830 - 1908):
  • 2"Don Juan" de Mozart, Op. 2406:14
  • Giulio Briccialdi (1818 - 1881):
  • 3Fantasia on "La traviata", Op. 7610:43
  • Moritz Fürstenau (1824 - 1889):
  • 4Tannhäuser Fantasia: Lied vom Abendstern04:59
  • Friedrich Kuhlau (1786 + 1832):
  • 56 Variations on "Euryanthe", Op. 6314:13
  • Joachim Andersen (1847 - 1909):
  • 6Opera Transcriptions, Op. 45: No. 2, Norma10:27
  • Theobald Boehm (1797 - 1881):
  • 7Polonaise de Carafa, Op. 8a04:46
  • Wilhelm Popp (1828 - 1903):
  • 8Fantaisie caprice sur "Rinaldo", Op. 20313:43
  • Total Runtime01:13:32

Info for Fascination Opera: A Virtuoso Firework of Fantasies & Variations

Nineteenth-century opera arrangements for flute and piano have been extraordinary popular. Unfortunately the have so far received little attention in the annals of music history. Even in concerts you may hardly find them on the programmes. Therefore the present recording provides exciting music to rediscover with works by Briccialdi, Herman, Popp, Galli, Kuhlau, FUrstenau, Boehm and Andersen. Dorothea Seel used three different flutes to reproduce the flute sound of the time in alI its diversity. This demands specific playing techniques, which can be determined from the historical source texts. Christoph Ham mer played an original pianoforte from the collection of the Tyrolean regional museum in Innsbruck. The woody tone, rich in harmonics, is a perfect foil for the flutes.

Dorothea Seel, flute
Christoph Hammer, pianoforte

Dorothea Seel
As a specialist in 18th and 19th century flutes, Dorothea Seel has played in leading original sound ensembles such as The English Concert, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Musica Antiqua Cologne, Concerto Cologne and Concentus Musicus Wien. She is Artistic Director of Baroque Soloists Munich and has published award-winning CDs (J.S. Bach, A. Vivaldi, J.Zach) with solo concertos for flute, most recently in 2018 "Al Capriccio" with solo concerts also by Johann Zach. (Pasticcio Award, November 2018, Ö1 Radio ORF). The CDs of the Flute Sonatas by C.P.E. Bach (2015), G.F. Handel (2015) and "The Romantic Flute" (2016) were published by Hänssler Classic. Dorothea Seel deals scientifically and practically with instruments and sound aesthetic questions. At the University Mozarteum Salzburg / Innsbruck she teaches performance practice on historical flutes of the 19th century. Dorothea Seel earned her doctorate in 2017 from the artistic-scientific Doctoral School of the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz and has been working at this institution as Senior Scientist since 2018. In 2018 she was awarded the Austrian State Prize "Award of Excellence" by the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research for her dissertation "The Discourse on the Sound of the Flute in the 19th Century" (published 2019, Wißner-Verlag Augsburg).

Booklet for Fascination Opera: A Virtuoso Firework of Fantasies & Variations

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO