Fantasque - French Violin Sonatas by Fauré, Debussy, Ravel & Poulenc Franziska Pietsch & Josu de Solaun

Cover Fantasque - French Violin Sonatas by Fauré, Debussy, Ravel & Poulenc

Album info



Label: audite Musikproduktion

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Franziska Pietsch & Josu de Solaun

Composer: Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), Claude Debussy (1862-1918), Gabriel Faure (1845-1924)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924): Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major, Op. 13:
  • 1Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major, Op. 13: I. Allegro Molto10:28
  • 2Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major, Op. 13: II. Andante06:43
  • 3Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major, Op. 13: III. Allegro Vivo04:10
  • 4Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Major, Op. 13: IV. Allegro quasi Presto06:31
  • Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918): Violin Sonata in G Minor, L. 140:
  • 5Violin Sonata in G Minor, L. 140: I. Allegro Vivo05:18
  • 6Violin Sonata in G Minor, L. 140: II. Intermède: Fantasque et Léger04:34
  • 7Violin Sonata in G Minor, L. 140: III. Finale: Très Animé04:36
  • Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937): Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major, M. 77:
  • 8Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major, M. 77: I. Allegretto07:59
  • 9Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major, M. 77: II. Blues. Moderato05:21
  • 10Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major, M. 77: III. Perpetuum mobile. Allegro04:02
  • Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963): Violin Sonata No. 4, FP. 119:
  • 11Violin Sonata No. 4, FP. 119: I. Allegro con Fuoco07:02
  • 12Violin Sonata No. 4, FP. 119: II. Intermezzo. Très lent et Calme07:10
  • 13Violin Sonata No. 4, FP. 119: III. Presto tragico - Strictement la double plus Lent06:01
  • Claude Debussy: Beau soir, L. 6 (Arr. for Violin and Piano):
  • 14Beau soir, L. 6 (Arr. for Violin and Piano): Andante, ma non Troppo02:39
  • Total Runtime01:22:34

Info for Fantasque - French Violin Sonatas by Fauré, Debussy, Ravel & Poulenc

The second album by Franziska Pietsch and her Spanish piano partner Josu De Solaun is dedicated to the multifaceted world of French violin sonatas. With their usual aplomb and artistic intensity, the duo explore emotional landscapes complementing those of their previous album. Moving on from the exuberant revelry, serious tragedy and brutal reality of the sonatas by Strauss and Shostakovich, the musicians are now roving between the poles of dream and reality.Real experiences and emotions are reflected in a visionary dream world, external reality is mirrored internally. Inner emotions and images become reality via the music, triggering new emotions: dream and reality mirror each other. Fauré, Debussy, Ravel and Poulenc create this mirror world in diverse ways. The common theme is the fantastical, the magic of imagination, the poetic distance to reality and the intensive engagement with inner emotions. Thus the dream world becomes a retreat for listeners and artists alike.

“...A magic floats above everything [encompassing the whole work]...” (Journal de Musique (Paris, 1877)

Franziska Pietsch, violin
Josu de Solaun, piano

Franziska Pietsch
was raised in the atmosphere of a musicians’ household in East-Berlin. As an eleven-year old girl, she had her debut at the Komische Oper in Berlin and performed as a soloist with renowned orchestras of the former DDR. She began her studies as a junior student at the University for Music Hanns Eisler in East-Berlin with Prof. W. Scholz. In Eastern Germany, she was seen as an extraordinary talent and enjoyed special support from the state up until her Father’s escape to West Germany in 1984. Two difficult years with reprisals by the regime followed. She was able to emigrate to West Germany with her mother and younger sister in 1986 when she was 16.

Her studies continued with Prof. Ulf Hoelscher, Prof. Jens Ellermann and Dorothy Delay at the Julliard School New York. She got important and fruitful impulses from master classes with well-known personalities such as W. Wilkomirska, R. Ricci, H. Krebbers, and Z. Bron.

Franziska Pietsch is a first prize winner of the Bach-Competition for children and adolescents in Leipzig (1982) and the Concours Maria Canals in Barcelona (1989). She received awards like the Parke-Davis scholarship (1987) as well as the award of the Brahms Gesellschaft Baden-Baden (1989). She was a scholarship holder of the German Music Council in 1990.

Her internationally successful concert activities lead her to different countries in Europe, to America and Asia. She performed with conductors like Antoni Wit, Arpad Joo, Moshe Atzmon, Julia Jones, Toshiyuki Kamioka, and George Hanson. As a concert master, she was invited to perform at numerous music festivals.She was the first concert master of the symphonic orchestra of Wuppertal in the years 1998 to 2002, and Deuxième concert master at the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg. Regular invitations as concert master lead her to Düsseldorf Opera, Frankfurt Opera, WDR Köln and Solistes Europèens Luxembourg.

However, she is particularly interested in chamber music. She is a welcome guest at chamber music festivals (Schleswig Holstein Festival, Aspen music Festival). Her chamber music partners are, amongst others, Maki Hayashida, Detlev Eisinger, Thomas Duis, Andra Darzins, Hariolf Schlichtig, and Martin Spangenberg. She founded Trio Testore in 2000 together with the pianist Hyun Jung Kim-Schweiker and the cellist Hans-Christian Schweiker. She was a part of the Trio until 2015. Besides vigorous concert activity, the Trio created the chamber music festival “Mai-Klassik” to commemorate the Trio’s ten-year anniversary.

The complete recording of all Brahms trios (2013) and another recording with works by Rachmaninov and Tschaikowsky (2014) were released on the label Audite. The latter was nominated for the International Classic Music Award 2015. Together with the violist Sophia Reuter and the cellist Johannes Krebs, the Trio Lirico was founded in 2014. Their intense collaboration with the label Audite led to further successful CD productions. Together with the pianist Detlev Eisinger, all sonatas by E. Grieg were released in 2015, while the sonatas and Five Melodies by S. Prokofiev were released in 2016.

Booklet for Fantasque - French Violin Sonatas by Fauré, Debussy, Ravel & Poulenc

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO